Announcing an Awesome Announcement

This post was originally published on my old blog on 5/20/14.

Today, I am extremely excited to announce a new feature on this blog! Actually I am REALLY EXCITED to announce this feature! GIF ALERT! GIF ALERT!

Happy Animated GIF on Giphy

Excited Animated GIF on Giphy

Reaction Animated GIF on Giphy

A Blog Book Club Called Off Our Shelves

Some of my friends and I recently decided that we would start a book club among our blogs. The book club is to be called Off Our Shelves (as in “off our rockers”). All of us have blogs that are still in their infancy as most of us have just started blogging (or haven’t started yet). Here are the participants:
Iris from Purple Lambs Will Fly
Adele from Howling Evanescence
Dreamer from The Thoughts of a Dreamer
Adonia from The Stone Table
Cat in the Hat from Cat the Ailurophile
Wren from  I’d Ship That
…and of course, moi.

The First Book That We Will be Reading: Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

I am very excited to read this book because I’ve heard good things about it, the cover art is amazing, and it’s a Red Riding Hood retelling. As hostess, I decided that for the first session, I wanted to read a fairytale retelling. So, I made a list of possible books and based on what books were already read and voting, we decided on this book.

Picture

Blurb: Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris–the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She’s determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls’ bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett’s only friend–but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they’ve worked for?


The Nitty Gritty Details

  • Each of us will take turns hosting the book club.
  • We will read the book that we all agree on in sections and after each section, the hostess will publish a post about her thoughts on that section of the book, and everyone can discuss it in the post comments.
  • The people that are not hosting the book club during the session may also write their own posts about the section.
  • After each section, or maybe after all of us have finished reading the book, the hostess will assign two or three activities related to the book. Everyone can choose one activity (or more if you want to) and post their results on their blog.
  • Then, we can all post our own review on the book. And please, not a dry book review, but one filled with personality and awesome gifs!

I’m not sure when the club will officially start because we all have to get the book first, but it will start soon!

Have you ever hosted or participated in a blog book club or just a regular book club? What was it like? Any tips for this book club?

Picture
Comments
Ooh, this sounds like fun! I can’t wait to see how this turns out! I wish that I could say that I’ve participated in a book club; alas, I have not. Maybe I will someday. Oh well. I love your blog!! Your bucket list is really cool, too. 😉 I can’t wait to see more posts, I just followed you on Bloglovin!
Emily

-Ana 5/20/14 8:39pm
Thanks for the encouragement. I’ve never participated in a book club either, but I’m excited to host my first one.

Iris 5/20/14 5:16pm
Aaaahh so excited for this! Now I have to find somewhere to get a book… Will you be announcing the start date with a blog post or do we start now?
-Ana 5/20/2014 8:38pm
We will probably start once everyone actually gets the book, but you can start looking for it now, if you would like.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Announcing an Awesome Announcement

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

