Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

This post was originally published on my old blog on 6/15/14.

Sorry for the long absence on this blog. I haven’t had much free time because school is almost over and so of course my teachers had to squeeze in a bunch of tests, homework and projects. Fortunately, I am now done with all of those assignments and was able to whip up this review. Here you go!

About the Book

Picture

Title: Cinder
Author: Marissa Meyer
Source: Library
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2012 by Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 387
Blurb: Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. 
Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

My Review

I am really loving fairy tale retellings right now, so when I found out that Cinder is a sci-fi fairy tale retelling, I jumped to read it and I loved almost every aspect of this book.First off, the characters were amazing- all of them. I love how Cinder  is such a strong heroine. She is both intelligent, adventurous and snarky at the same time. I also like that even though Cinder is in love with Kai, she doesn’t act stupid and break her character when she’s around him. I hate when that happens in books.  Sometimes the book can get a little tense and dark. Fortunately, Iko is always there to provide comic relief. I loved Kai too. Even though he’s really new  to the whole governing a kingdom thing, and he makes a lot of mistakes, he still shows wisdom. Even though he doesn’t know what it is, he sees something special in Cinder and tries to defend her.Of course I can’t forget the villains in this story.  Queen Levana is amazingly hateable (if that’s a word).  As Lunars, she and her thaumaturges have so much power. They can easily control people by glamouring them. They have the ability to make people turn against their friends. They have the ability to make people who normally hate them, love them. They basically can manipulate people in any way they want. They know that they have this power, and yet they act as if they have done nothing wrong. Ugh. It’s just sickening, which is what makes Cinder such an effective story.

The tension in this story was constantly escalated, especially near the end, which is how it should be. I couldn’t stop flipping the pages because everything single thing that could go wrong did go wrong. While people keep on dying from the plague and the frantic search for the antidote continued, the government and Cinder are also looking for Princess Selene and trying to keep Queen Levana and the other Lunars under her power from attacking Earth. Everything is hanging in a delicate balance and I found myself NEEDING to find out what would happen next.

I would rate this five butterflies, except for one glaring annoyance in the book. Cinder was such a predictable book. I’ll warn you that there is a huge plot twist at the end of the book. Unfortunately, I could see it coming before I was even close to being halfway done with the book. It completely ruined what I’m sure was supposed to be a surprise at the end. I’m pretty sure I would have been this shocked if I didn’t see the plot twist coming:

George Animated GIF on Giphy

It would have been astounding and I probably would have been thinking about it for the next few days. Alas, it was not surprising. Bummer. However, the rest of the book was good, so that’s okay.

My Rating

4 out of 5 butterflies.
Picture

Did you read Cinder? What did you think of it? Did you predict the ending way before you finished the book like I did?
Picture
Comments
Dreamer 6/16/14 4:49pm

Yup, I read Cinder. It was good, albeit pretty predictable.

-Iris 6/17/14 9:29pm
Cinder was totally predictable. -_-
‘Twas still good, though!

–Ana 6/19/14 9:04am
Exactly why I gave Cinder four stars. It was predictable, but that didn’t detract too much from its enjoy-ability.
Adele Kong 6/16/14 6:18pm
I nominated you for the Liebster award!http://howlingevanescence.weebly.com/home/liebster-award
-Ana 6/19/14 9:01am
Thank you so much, Adele. Unfortunately, I finished my Liebster Award post and then accidentally deleted the whole thing. So, I am rewriting it, but it should be up soon!

 

 

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

