Liebster Award

This post was originally published on my old blog on 6/19/14.

Picture

A huge shout out to Adele @ Howling Evanescence. Thanks for nominating me for the Liebster Award, Adele. Adele has a fabulous blog that she updates almost everyday (I love the superhuman bloggers that can do that!) and I highly encourage you to check it out. And now, I will follow the rules above to guide me through this post.

11 Facts About Myself

  1. I love long distance running, which I discovered in 5th grade after reluctantly joining the Girls on the Run club at my school.
  2. One day, I would like to become a published author as my part time job and an engineer as my full time job.
  3. I am currently writing a science fiction novel set in outer space that combines elements of adventure and mystery.
  4. I am really, really, really short for my age. People often assume that I am in fourth grade or fifth grade when I am really in eighth grade.
  5. I am thinking of moving my blog from Weebly to WordPress. More on that in a future blog post.
  6. I used to speed skate on ice and compete in local competitions, but now I focus more on running.
  7. I like to sew and knit clothes. So far I’ve sewn two vests, a hat, two pairs of pants, a bolero jacket, a kimono dress jacket and a coat and I am currently working on a lemon print dress. I’ve knit mittens, numerous hats and a cardigan.
  8. When I was little, I was obsessed with all books about pioneers. I also lived and dreamed for the Little House on the Prairie Series, the Nancy Drew mystery series and the American Girl Series.
  9. When I’m an adult I want to drink hot chocolate every morning instead of coffee.
  10. I have a second degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do.
  11. I play the piano and violin and I am a part of an advanced youth standard orchestra. A standard orchestra is basically an orchestra that combines string instruments as well as woodwind/brass/percussion instruments. We had a concert in a really nice auditorium with great acoustics and it was a fabulous experience.

My Answers to 11 Questions from Adele

  1. What are your goals for the future? Rate them from most to least important. 1) Raising a healthy, Christian family. 2) Becoming an engineer with a  part time job as an author. 3) Graduating from an Ivy League College. 4) Running a marathon. 5) Making it to the Nike Cross Country Nationals. 6) Opening a shop on Etsy. Those are just a few of my goals.
  2. Do you think you will blogging 20 years from now? I think that everyone will be blogging 20 years from now. However, regardless of whether my prediction holds true or not, I hope to continue blogging until well after 20 years from now.
  3. If you could have any superpower, what would it be? Why?  Flying. It would be a great experience and I wouldn’t be tempted to use my superpower for evil, because really, how evil can flying be?
  4. Would you rather be poor but happy, or be rich but sad? Poor but happy. What’s the point of being rich if your wealth won’t make you happy?
  5. What is your favorite book in the whole world at this moment? To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. This is such a deeply moving story and I desperately need to reread it.
  6. THINK FAST! THERE’S A PURPLE PEGASUS FLYING TOWARDS YOU. WHAT DO YOU DO? I would hop on it and go for  a ride. Then, I would whip out my handy dandy magic wand and turn it into a pink Pegasus because pink is better than purple.
  7. What is the dumbest injury you have ever received? When I was three I ran into the kitchen counter and ripped a hole in my chin. My parents say that they could see my teeth through the hole.
  8. Have you ever watched Frozen? If you have, what is your favorite song from that movie? I’ve never watched Frozen. Please don’t throw rotten tomatoes at me.
  9. Cats or dogs? Cats. They are such calm, quiet animals and they don’t require as much attention and work as dogs do.
  10. Favorite sport? Cross. Country. Is. Awesome. ‘Nuff said.
  11. Why did you start blogging? I started blogging to practice my writing regularly, share my writing with a larger audience and to have fun.

9 Bloggers I Nominate

11 Questions for the Nominees

  1. Would you rather live without the ability to read or without the ability to write?
  2. What is your favorite song, and if you’re Christian, what is your favorite Christian contemporary song?
  3. What was your greatest accomplishment this year?
  4. What advice do you have for newbie bloggers?
  5. What is the word count of the longest piece you’ve written?
  6. What is your favorite thing about your personality?
  7. What do you like more: sad books or funny books?
  8. Do you speak more than one language? If so, what languages do you speak?
  9. Can you share a picture of your handwriting, please?
  10. Who is your favorite author?
  11. Do you frequently read e-books or do you read more physical books?
Congratulations to all the nominees, and thanks again, Adele! Now, please excuse me while I go notify the nominees of their award!
Picture
Comments
Adele Kong 6/19/14 4:34pm
1. LOVE YOUR 11 FACTS ABOUT YOURSELF! XD
2. I’m trying to find /To Kill a Mockingbird/. I have never read it, sadly.
3. THANK YOU FOR RESPONDING!
-Ana 6/20/14 5:50pm
1. Thanks! My favorite fact is definitely number 9. Hot chocolate is way too amazing! And in the summer I could have iced hot chocolate!
2. Stop everything you are doing right now. Go to the library. Get To Kill a Mockingbird, and read it. You will not regret it.
3. Thank YOU for nominating me!
Elisabeth Sullivan 6/19/14 6:07pm
Lol, from the 11 facts you listed about yourself, you sound like a mix of my two sisters and I. 🙂
Definitely going to try to do that sometime. I was nominated for another award to and I forgot about it, so it might take awhile. 😛
-Ana 6/20/14 4:39pm
Haha, that’s funny. And, take your time with the post. I’m a very patient person…maybe.
Rcubed 6/19/14 7:29pm
Thanks so much!

-Ana 6/20/14 4:32pm
You’re very welcome!
Ciera Horton 6/19/14 7:36pm
This is so cute! What a great idea. Thanks for the nomination!
-Ana 6/20/14 4:33pm
You’re welcome!
Cait @ Notebook Sisters 6/19/14 10:33pm
Oh gosh, you are intensely cool. ORCHESTRA?!! Eeeh! I play cello and I’ve played in a few youth orchestras, buuuut…then I got too old. (Though coincidentally, I’m very short, too, and people always think I’m still in school when I’ve been finished for like 4 years. Awkward…) I used to be utterly obsessed with pioneers too, which is weird, now that I think back. I’m Australian yet EVERYTHING was about American Girl books and Little House and…anything where I could make covered wagons out of paddlepop sticks. lol I was a weird weird little kid.
-Ana 6/20/14 5:29pm
Cait from the Notebook Sisters thinks I’m intensely cool? I’m honored. I love the way the cello sounds, and I’m kind of jealous of cello players because it’s a little easier to do vibrato on cellos than on violins. However, cello players do have to lug around heavy instruments, so I guess the pros and cons balance out. I’ll probably just be like that when I graduate highschool-people will probably still think I’m like a freshman or something. Oh, the irony of being Australian and yet being obsessed with AMERICAN Girl and Little House books. Haha. I totally understand, though. Those two series are too amazing to not be appreciated by people from many different countries other than America.
Sunny Smith 6/19/14 10:42pm
Wow, you sound super ambitious! I’m impressed:)Nancy Drew and Little House on the Prairie books were my childhood! I used to dress up as a pioneer and beg my mom to buy me a bonnet, then I would turn the couch into a covered wagon. There was something so heartwarming about the Little House books. I’m always happy to see other people who like them:)Interesting post!


-Ana 6/20/14 5:47pm
Hi, Sunny! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I just checked out your blog and I love your content, so I followed you on Bloglovin’! I actually have a bonnet! My friend and I used to wear our bonnets at recess all the time while we played pioneers. Also, I agree that the Little House books are very heartwarming. It makes each of them very special and a childhood classic.

The Magic Violinist 6/22/2014 7:26pm
Hi, Ana! 🙂 Thank you so much for nominating me! However, I’ve already done a few Liebster Award posts, and I don’t want to burn out my readers, so I’ll just answer the questions in the comments.Would you rather live without the ability to read or without the ability to write?Ugh, evil question! 😛 But if I <i>really</i> had to choose, I’d say reading.

What is your favorite song, and if you’re Christian, what is your favorite Christian contemporary song?

I’m not a Christian, but my favorite song is “Safe and Sound” by Taylor Swift. 🙂 Hauntingly beautiful song.

What was your greatest accomplishment this year?

Getting signed copies of the <i>Fauxpocalypse</i> anthology–which I am a proud contributor of–in my local bookstore! 🙂

What advice do you have for newbie bloggers?

Write what you love and the rest will follow! 🙂 But commenting on other people’s blogs is always the best way to connect and obtain new followers.

What is the word count of the longest piece you’ve written?

At the moment? My 2013 NaNoWriMo dystopian novel, which, unedited, is currently at 126,110 words. It’s a beast, I know. 😛

What is your favorite thing about your personality?

I’m loyal. 🙂 Once a friend, always a friend.

What do you like more: sad books or funny books?

It depends on my mood, but I <i>LOVE</i> books that can make me sob (*cough* <i>The Fault In Our Stars</i> *cough*). <i>Allegiant</i> was a doozy, too. 😛

Do you speak more than one language? If so, what languages do you speak?

I speak a <i>tiny</i> bit of Portuguese. But I can just mostly pick out a few words among the conversations my mom and dad have. 😛 There’s no way I can string an entire (coherent) sentence together without making a complete fool of myself.

Who is your favorite author?

J.K. Rowling, without a doubt. 🙂 She’s a genius and a <i>brilliant</i> author.

Do you frequently read e-books or do you read more physical books?

Physical books, by far. 😛

PS: I envy your long distance running skills! I’m a good sprinter, but if I go for more than a minute or two? 😛 Nope, not happening.

He he, I used to be the shortie among my friends, but I am happy to say I am now average height. 😉 It takes a while, though!

Wow, second degree? Impressive! 🙂 I’m a first degree, but I started to get too overworked with activities like that, among my violin lessons and other writing responsibilities.

Thanks again for nominating me! 🙂

Reply

-Ana 6/24/2014 8:01am

I totally understand that you didn’t want to do another post. I’m not surprised that you received so many nominations-you’re blog is great! Also, sorry that all the HTML didn’t quite work. Something about the Weebly comments system isn’t compatible with that.

Seeing Fauxpocalypse copies that you signed in a bookstore must be awesome.

How is your dystopian novel 126, 110 words? That is a lot. I can’t even imagine writing that much!

I hope to be at an average height, but then again, my dad pointed out that distance runners are usually small, so I don’t know.

I might have to stop at second degree because I, too, am getting overworked with other activities.

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

