Off Our Shelves: Sisters Red #1

This post was originally published on my old blog on 6/26/14.

Picture

Finally! The first post in our first Off Our Shelves blog book club session! Spoiler Alert! Spoiler Alert! Any of the Off Our Shelves posts or comments may contain spoilers for the featured book, so read at your own risk.We’re reading Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce!
Blurb:
Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris–the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She’s determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls’ bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett’s only friend–but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they’ve worked for?

The Discussion Question

So far, the club has read Chapters 1-5 in Sisters Red. Personally, I feel that so far, the story has been successful in pulling me in and making me want to read more.  The action-hunting the Fenris- started immediately and I already know what Scarlett, Rosie’s and Silas’s main goal is-to stop the rise of the Fenris. As I was reading, I came up with a discussion question for the club: Who do you like better so far? Scarlett or Rosie? I’ll answer the question below and I encourage all the club members to either publish their own post answering the question or discuss the question in the comments.I think I like Scarlett more than Rosie. At first, I liked Rosie better. I mean, Scarlett is way too over-protective of Rosie and she doesn’t have a life. All she thinks about and does is hunt. Then, as I read on, I realized how broken she is and how tough the situation she is in is. She had such a traumatizing experience when she was younger because she was left alone to kill a Fenris that gave her scars, took her eye, and killed her Grandma. I realized that she doesn’t really have a choice for another type of life, one that is not constantly filled with hunting. Now that she knows that the Fenris exists, she is doing a noble thing by not ignoring, but instead, fighting them. In doing so, she is saving the world.Also, when the Fenris attacked her family, Rosie could have died if it were not for Scarlett. Each of them came so close to death (and Oma March actually died) that Scarlett can’t bear even letting Rosie have a brush with death like that again. This is why she is so protective of Rosie and won’t let her hunt solo. Scarlett really cares about making the world a better place, but it’s hard to do so. The difficulty of hunting to save the world beats her up and makes her a broken and weary person. She’s just overwhelmed, and I think as readers we need to put her situation into perspective. We need to realize how brave she Is being, and admire and appreciate her for that.

So, club members. Let’s hear it in the comments. Also, if you’re not in the club, but you read Sisters Red, I’d love to hear who you liked better.  Here are the links to all of the club members. Not all of us are going to participate this time around, but I believe that Iris, Dreamer and Cat in the Hat are.

Iris from Purple Lambs Will Fly
Adele from Howling Evanescence
Dreamer from The Thoughts of a Dreamer
Adonia from The Stone Table
Cat in the Hat from Cat the Ailurophile
Wren from  I’d Ship That
…and of course, moi.

Comments
Iris 6/26/14 10:04pm

Yes, I think that I like Scarlett more, too. My main reason for this is probably because she is so brave and tough and stuff, even after all that she’s been through. Even after her grandma was killed by the Fenris, and even after she herself was almost killed, she was still able to have the strength to fight against the wolves. Also, I think it’s great that sometimes she still shows little moments of…. human-ness (for lack of a better word), so she doesn’t just seem like a perfect hero person. For example, I loved that one scene where Scarlett tried to apologize to her sister by jumping onto her bed and allowing her to pick whatever horrible romance movie Rosie wanted. That part really emphasized that Scarlett cared about Rosie a lot, not just in the I-have-to-protect-you-and-be-super-scary-and-fierce way, but also in the caring, cuddly, sister way.
And also, Scarlett is really hardcore. I mean, she has a HATCHET. And she uses it to KILL THINGS.
-Ana 6/28/14 5:31pm
Oh yeah. Scarlett is extremely hardcore. After all the terror that she went through when she was young, she is still brave enough to not ignore the fact that the Fenris are dangerous and that it is her responsibility to save the world by hunting them. Rosie isn’t as hardcore. I mean, she uses knives, not a hatchet. Also, she’s always too busy swooning over Silas to hunt much. I agree that Scarlett can show a side beyond hunting too. She truly cares about Rosie, which shows that Scarlett isn’t all about hunting.
–Dreamer 6/29/14 1:11pm
Nope, I completely disagree with you Ana. Knives are so much better than a hatchet. While yes, a hatchet would probably cause a lot more damage, it is heavier thus harder to use and less accurate than a knife. Knives are much lighter in comparison. They’d be much easier to throw and also more accurate, even if they would cause less damage. Plus, if you stumble, rebounding from missing with a knife would be much easier than rebounding from missing your target with the hatchet. The knives are also more practical. Because really, if you’re ambushed and caught without your usual weapon/ your weapon was confiscated, what’s the chances that there’d be a spare hatchet lying around? At least, if you know how to handle knives, you may be able to find like a kitchen or something. And knives are so much easier to conceal too… I should have wrote this in my post…
–Iris 6/30/14 4:51pm
First off, Dreamer, I love how you focus on the sharp pointy things of the whole thing. 😉
Knives are slightly cooler, I think. A hatchet seems somehow….cruder?
I wouldn’t mind a pair of knives meself…
–Ana 7/4/14 9:14am
Dreamer, knives may be more sophisticated and practical, but a hatchet just seems more hardcore.
2 thoughts on “Off Our Shelves: Sisters Red #1

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

