Stacking the Shelves #1

This post was originally published on my old blog on 4/2/14.

Stacking the Shelves

Hi, everyone!  I decided that for my first “real” post I would participate in a meme involving books.  This meme, called Stacking the Shelves, is hosted by Team Tynga’s Reviews. Bloggers have to discuss the books that have they have bought, borrowed, received as a gift or won.   I don’t buy books often, but I do visit the library and borrow books at least every week.  In the past week, I have borrowed six books from both the town library and the school library.  Here they are, with a picture of the cover.  Speaking of covers, book covers are the only non-original/public domain pictures that I will use on this blog because posting book covers is actually publicity for the author, and authors like publicity.

Miss Spitfire By Sarah Miller

 I actually finished this book already and it was absolutely amazing.  It tells Helen Keller’s story from the point of view of Anne Sullivan, her teacher.  I love how effectively Sarah Miller evokes Anne’s personality; her determination and strong spirit really shine through.

Blink By Malcolm Gladwell

I read Outliers, another book by Malcolm Gladwell and I loved it because it made me look at success in a completely different way.  I decided to give Blink a shot, and so far, it is proving to be as interesting as Outliers. This time, however, it is making me see decisions in a whole new way.

Cinder By Marissa Meyer

I am so excited to read this book!  For those of you who might not know (who doesn’t?), it’s a sci-fi retelling of Cinderella and it takes place in China.  I just love reading fractured fairy tales.

The Book Thief  By Markus Zusak

Where do I begin?  I have heard amazing things about this book and have read many rave reviews.  Also, a movie was made from the book, which must mean something.  The cover is awesome too and that’s a mark in my book.  Even though some people say that “you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover”, a cover can make or break a book.

Chasing Jupiter By Rachel Coker

You don’t know how feverishly I have been looking for this book!  Rachel Coker is only 18 and yet, she has already written and published two books.  I was so surprised when I found out that Chasing Jupiter was actually at the school library. Now I have to convince the librarian to get her first book, Interrupted.

The Prophet of Yonwood By Jeanne DuPrau

I read the first and second books in the series, The City of Ember  and The People of Sparks and liked them. So, I decided to finish the series.  I still have to read The Prophet of Yonwood and The Diamond of Darkhold.
What books have you recently bought, checked out from the library, received as a gift or won?  What are your opinions on the books above?
Comments
Iris 4/2/14 8:12 pm
I wanna read the prophet of Yonwood! XD and just about every other book on there… I have to get the second book of Cinder, too. -_-
Cat 4/2/14 9:11 pm
I love The Book Thief… it made me cry… hehe…And you should read The Little Android on Wattpad by Marissa Meyer. It’s really short but sad and sweet.
APersonWhoShallNotBeNamed 4/3/14 6:03 pm
Yes, Cinder is an amazing book. I haven’t read any of the others though
Ana Ideline 4/11/14 4:25 pm
Ooh! I saw your rating on Goodreads. I’ll make sure to add that to my to-read list.
I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

