Top Ten Best Books/Series of All Time

This post was originally published on my old blog on 4/18/14.

As an avid reader and an indecisive decision maker, it has been so hard for me to compile this list.  Therefore, I do not think that I should be tortured with the impossible task of ordering this list according to the quality of the books.  Instead, I present to you a list of the top ten best books/series of all time in alphabetical order (omitting the words “a” and “the”). On a side note, there is a distinctive pattern in this list of books; I have reread or plan to reread every single book on this list.

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Animal Farm

One would think that a book addressing an issue with a communist form of government would be dry and boring.  However, in this book, George Orwell expresses his views toward the subject with a deeply touching story about animals on a farm.  It was anything but boring and even though I haven’t reread it yet, I really want to read it again soon.

The Chronicles of Narnia Series by C. S. Lewis

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

C. S. Lewis’s world building skills are amazing.  In his series entitled The Chronicles of Narnia, he creates so many multidimensional and imaginative characters and worlds to tell an epic adventure story.  Furthermore, as the reader progresses through the seven books, the reader learns so many valuable lessons. I grew up immersing myself in the world of Narnia by reading the whole series twice and I think it’s about time for a third run. By the way, I share the love for Narnia with Adonia over at The Stone Table.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit

Just like C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien is an extremely skilled world builder and he really knows how to raise the tension.  However, what really helps the reader connect to the story is that Bilbo is such a lovable character and his journey in finding his courage sends an empowering message of self discovery. By the way, the first time I read this book, my dad read it to my brother and I.  It was one of those large books with pretty illustrations.

Indian Captive by Lois Lenski

Indian Captive

Crease lines crowd the spine of my copy of  Indian Captive, and some places on the cover are worn off and folded. My copy isn’t battered because I didn’t take good care of it.  Instead it’s because I have read the book so many times; it must be close to ten rereads. Literally.  This is a classic story of a Native American captive who learns to accept and even appreciate her Native American family. Do you see that silver medal on the cover?  That’s the Newbery Honor, but in my opinion, I think the book should have won the Newbery Medal.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird

This book was so beautiful.  It explores the idea of racism, but through the eyes of a child named Scout Finch.  Scout Finch’s personality is so realistic and her account of the story of her father’s fight to battle racism is priceless.

The Little House Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Little House on the Prairie

Again, I’m pretty sure I’ve reread this book close to ten times and I’ve read all of the other books in the series at least twice.  When I was little, I was absolutely obsessed with The Little House Series. It gave me a breathtaking view of life as a pioneer, the type of person that I so desperately wished to be.  This series made me so obsessed with pioneers that in elementary school I wore bonnets to recess, played pioneers with my friends everyday and centered all of my school projects around pioneers when I had the choice.  It was hardcore elementary school fangirling.

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Fellowship of the Ring

This series is as much of a masterpiece as The Hobbit.  Indeed, it is a continuation of The Hobbit and I found it interesting to compare Bilbo’s journey and Bilbo’s nephew, Frodo’s journey.

The Nancy Drew Mystery Series by Carolyn Keene

The Secret of the Old Clock

The Nancy Drew Mystery Series was another one of my childhood obsessions.  I loved the heart-racing suspense and cliff-hangers that ended every chapter.  I also loved trying to solve the mystery along with Nancy and I admired Nancy’s ingenuity.  I even went so far as to try to dig my own tunnel with my friend in elementary school to see if we could find mysterious people underground.  Just in case you were wondering, we never did; the “tunnel” turned into a rabbit nest.

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

Peter Pan

Yes, oh yes.  Peter Pan is “one of the most magical stories ever written.” I loved reading about Neverland and I often wished that I could experience its magic for myself. I think my love of this book was also fostered by the Disney movie. In my mind, the book and the movie merged to create a fantastic and ever-lasting story.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

A Tale of Two Cities

Like so many other books by Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities was beautiful and haunting at the same time. The way that the story unraveled in the end just blew my mind and was deeply touching.  Granted, the story could get slow at times, but never boring.  I first read this story in fourth grade, but I think if I reread it now, I’ll be able to appreciate its beauty even more.

What are your opinions on the books above?  Is there a book on your list of best books of all time that I didn’t put on my list?
Comments
Iris 4/18/14 9:58pm

ANIMAL FARM! I want to read that book. I watched the kinda-sorta animated version of that in 3rd grade, but I didnt understand it at all. I just thought it was reaally depressing. I think i’ll be able to understand the book better now, though…
I feel like I should read LOTR and The Hobbit. They seem cool, and maybe they will fill the great gap of fantasy in my chest left by Harry Potter.. (not that anything could ever replace Harry Potter. By the way, YOU SHOULD READ HARRY POTTER.)
I have never actually read Peter Pan before… I should do that. The other day I just read Alice in Wonderland for the first time. I need to read Through the Looking Glass now…
I believe to Kill a Mockingbird is a high school level book. My bro read it last year. So… Good for you!
And all of those other books look interesting too. :3 Yes.
-Ana Ideline 4/19/14 2:32pm
You didn’t read LOTR or The Hobbit yet? *jaw drops* You have to! Even though both are really good, I love The Hobbit even more than LOTR.
–Iris 4/20/14 5:10pm
You didn’t read Harry Potter yet? *jaw drops* You have to! Even though the entire series is really good, I love all the series even more than all the series because all the series is good like that.
–Ana Ideline 4/21/14 6:16am
Somehow I just knew you were going to say something along those lines.
–Iris 4/21/14 7:33pm
Nyahahahahaha~~
You have to admit, what I said was cleeever though. right? right?
Oh, and I reserved the Hobbit in the library (along with TFIOS and Scarlet)
so now, you should read harry potter.
:3
APersonWhoShallNotBeNamed 4/19/14 8:45pm
THE HOBBIT!!! WHOOO! XD
I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

