Top Ten Books That Will Be In My Beach Bag This Summer

This post was originally published on my old blog on 6/3/14.

Picture

Today, I am participating in Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s prompt is Top Ten Books That Will Be in My Beach Bag This Summer.  I don’t actually really read books at the beach because the whole reason I go there is to have fun in the water and sand, so this will be more like a summer TBR list. I’ll just play along with the whole beach bag theme.
Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

    • Bird by Crystal Chan: I have heard so many great things about this book. I have heard that it’s diverse and is written in a beautiful writing style. Naturally, I now want to read it.
    • Popular by Maya Van Wagenen: Maya did a unique social experiment to see if she could become popular, and then wrote a memoir about it. How awesome is that?
    • Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand: This book is about a long distance runner, so I obviously have to read it. Also, my dad said that it was a really good book.
    • This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl: I’ve heard that while this book is sad, it also has some hopeful themes. I’d love to read Esther’s diary and experience it for myself.
Picture

Picture

Picture

Picture

  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: I’ve read reviews saying that this is a humorous classic. I haven’t read many humorous classics, with the exception of The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens  (that book was seriously funny! Joe is such an awesome character!), so I’m interested to see how it’s written.
  • Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein: I love reading books set during the time of WWII. Also, the cover is amazing, so how can I not read it?
  • Cress by Marissa Meyer: I read both Cinder and Scarlet and I loved them! I am hooked, and now I must find out what will happen next in the series!
  • Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce: Most of you already know this by now, but I will be reading this book for the Off Our Shelves Book Club.
Picture

Picture

  • The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton: My friend is totally obsessed with this book. I’m not sure if I should say her name here, but a shout out to you. You know who you are. Actually, I don’t even know if she’s reading this. Oh well. I just figured I’d better read it for myself to find out just how good it is.
  • The Fairest by Melanie Dickerson: I mean, it’s a fairy tale retelling, people. It’s got to be good.

Link me up to your Top Ten Tuesday posts in the comments below! By the way, do you like my new blog design and new blog button? I am ridiculously proud of the design and I would love to hear your thoughts on it!

Picture
Comments
Jillian 6/4/14 3:39pm
Hi Ana! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. Yours is gorgeous – I love the design :)Great list! I started reading Code Name Verity because I looove WWII books but unfortunately I never got a chance to finish it. I need to get that from the library again! I’m also dying to read This Star Won’t Go Out, The Outsiders, and all of the Lunar Chronicles. Pride and Prejudice is a wonderful classic that I’m sure you’ll love 🙂

-Ana 6/9/14 12:04pm
Thanks! Oh, you must read The Lunar Chronicles. Cinder is really good, but Scarlet is even more amazing, and I haven’t read Cress yet, so I don’t know about that. In all of the books, though, the tension just keeps on escalating and escalating.I’m glad to hear that you like Pride and Prejudice. I can’t wait to read it!
Reply

Adele Kong 6/11/14 6:19pm
I’m thinking of reading the Lunar Chronicles. I’ll probably read it during the summer or something.
-Ana 6/17/14 3:01pm
You must read The Lunar Chronicles. It is one of the best non-classical series that I have ever read.

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

