Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books About Friendship

This post was originally published on my old blog on 5/20/14.

Picture

Today I am linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their meme entitled Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s prompt was Top Ten Books About Friendship. As always, the books on my list are in no particular order, because you already know how tough it is for me to make decisions.
Picture

Picture

Chasing Jupiter

Despite the “weirdness” of Scarlett and her autistic brother, Cliff, Frank still manages to see them for who they really are, and isn’t afraid to hang out with them. Furthermore, when tragedy strikes, Frank is there for both of them.

Because of Winn-Dixie

The bond between Opal and her dog, Winn-Dixie is so sweet and they help each other get through tough times.
Picture

Picture

The Chronicles of Narnia

A huge theme in this book revolves around the strength of friendship, betrayal, a sense of loyalty to friends, and knowing who is really a friend and who is not.

The Mysterious Benedict Society Series

Although each of the four children have highly contrasting and traits and often experience personality clashes, they are all united in their intelligence and make a great team.
Picture

Picture

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

As much as I strongly disliked the way this book was written, I loved the plot, including the friendship between Bruno and Schmuel. I love how Bruno and Schmuel eventually ashamed the adults by showing that regardless of differences in religion, two little boys can still have a strong friendship.

Navigating Early

I loved how Jack befriended Early despite his quirky characteristics and encouraged Early to reach his goals.
Picture

Picture

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

The friendship between Frodo and Sam is unbelievable.  Sam was always looking out for Frodo and consequently, he helped to save Frodo many times.

The School Story

I loved how Zoe was always so supportive of Natalie. Although there were times when Natalie wanted to give up on her book, Zoe always encouraged her and wouldn’t let her quit.
Picture

Picture

Things Not Seen

This was the absolute perfect friendship. Since Alicia’s blind, it doesn’t matter to her that Bobby is invisible, and so they bond instantly.

The Book Thief

The friendships that Liesel forms in this book are so strong. The friendship that she forms with Max is amazing because both of them lost their biological family and are able to comfort her. The friendship that she forms with Rudy is also perfect. The fact that Liesel and Rudy are always pushing each other around, and yet still supporting each other, makes for such a realistic friendship.
Did you do a Top Ten Tuesday Post this week? If so, please link up in the comments below. If not, what are some of your favorite books about friendship?
Comments
OH. I love The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (although, the name…gah, it takes me 2 billion years to type out each time)…it totally stole my affections. And disturbed me forever. I nearly put it on my list too, buuuut I ran out of room! YES to Opal and Winn-Dixie. I loved that book. And Tumnus and Lucy was an epic friendship too. x)

Ana 5/22/14 11:24am
I have a review coming up for The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. It’s just one of those love/hate books for me. And, oh, Tumnus and Lucy are perfect. Their friendship is so sweet.
I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

