Two Blog Awards: The Sunshine Award and The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Recently, I was nominated for two blog awards, The Sunshine Award and The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. I’ll follow the rules for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award first and then I’ll follow the rules for The Sunshine Award.

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

Thanks to Tara @ Tara Therese for nominating me for this award! Tara runs a wonderful blog that is updated quite frequently. She talks about her life, her faith, writing and books.

image

The Rules

List the rules and display the award.

Share 7 facts about yourself.

Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know you have nominated them.

Proudly display the badge.

7 Facts About Myself

  1. I recently finished sewing a lemon print dress for myself, and I hope to get a post up with some pictures of the dress.
  2. After a long run with my cross country team, we all jumped into a stream fed by a waterfall to soak our legs in the ice cold water.
  3. I once got lost on a cross country course when I was in first place. It was not pretty.
  4. I prefer to write in short, separated sprints. I’ll write furiously for five-thirty minutes and then take a short break. Then, I’ll do another sprint. I don’t really like just writing for a long period of time.
  5. My favorite song is Hold Me by Jamie Grace. Just in case you were wondering, this song is not about Jamie’s boyfriend. Instead, it is about God.
  6. Even though I am a teenage girl, I hate shopping.
  7. For most people, calories are the enemy. However, for me as a runner, calories are my friends.

The Nominees

15 other blogs? Gosh, that’s a lot. I’m going to do something different here. I’ll nominate fifteen blogs and if the bloggers that I want to nominate want to do the tag, then they can choose which award they want to do.

Rayleigh @ Accelerate the Jesus Movement

Sunny @ A Splash of Ink

Audrey @ The Measure of a Book

Isa @ A Doodler’s Freedom or Books and Stuff

Katie and Anna @ Cousins in Christ

Aidyl @ Noveltea

Emily @ The Loony Teen Writer

Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer

Cait and Mime @ Notebook Sisters

Emma @ Peppermint and Prose

Sofia @ teensliveforJesus

Katie @ Whisperings of the Pen

Topaz @ Topaz Winters

TW @ Indonesia Around Me

Samantha @ Bookish Serendipity

The Sunshine Award

A big thank you to Sarah @ Inklined for nominating me. Sarah runs a great blog packed with writing advice. As an added bonus, her writing advice often especially pertains to Christian writers.

 

The “GUIDELINES”

– Thank the person who nominated you.
– Answer the questions from the person who nominated you.
– Nominate a few other bloggers.
– Write the same amount of questions for the bloggers you nominated.
– Notify the bloggers on their blog.
– Put the award button on your blog.
Sarah’s Questions
1) What is your dream job and why? My dream job is to be a biomedical or computer science engineer full time. I would also like to be a published author for my part time job.
2) What is a hobby you have that most people don’t know about? Hmmm…Most people know about my writing, reading, running, sewing and knitting. However, one of my more obscure hobbies is computer programming. I want to be an engineer when I grow up, so why I not start now, right?
3) If given the choice, what dessert would you eat on your birthday? Mint chocolate chip ice cream all the way.
4) What fiction book has most impacted your life? The Little House on the Prairie Series. I read this series over and over again when I was younger, and it formed the basis for most of my reading and writing.
5) Who are 5 of your favorite bloggers or blogs? Go Teen Writers, Notebook Sisters, The Loony Teen Writer, Writer Unboxed and The Hungry Runner Girl.
6) What is your current favorite song? Hold Me by Jamie Grace.
7) Do you have a favorite quote? If so, what?

Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. But the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.

I can relate to this quote on so many levels. Even though it was created as a marketing tool, it still rings true.
8) If you could have the power of Invisibility, Flight, or Telekinesis, which would you pick? Flight. Flying would be such a fun experience and compared to the other super powers, I wouldn’t be tempted to use my super power for selfish or bad things.
9) If you could only have one social media site, what would you pick and why? Goodreads. It’s the only social media sight that I have and it’s really useful for keeping track of the books I’ve read, my reviews and what I want to read next.
10) If you had to live somewhere outside your home state for 6 months, where would you chose to live? I’m going to break this up into three two month sections. For the first two months, I would go to Florida. There I would visit Disney World and spend time soaking up the sun and spending time in the water at Clearwater Beach. The next two months, I would go to Germany, and the final two months I would visit Vietnam because some of my relatives are from those countries.

Questions for the Nominees

As I said before, the nominees above can choose to do either The Very Inspiring Blogger Award or The Sunshine Award. For those bloggers that are choosing to do The Sunshine Award or both awards, here are ten questions for you to answer.

  1. What is your dream job, and why?
  2. Name five of your favorite blogs.
  3. Why did you start blogging?
  4. What is the word count of the longest piece you’ve ever written?
  5. What is your favorite genre to read?
  6. If you are going to college, what’s your dream college? If you’re already in college or have already graduated, what college do you go to?
  7. What is your favorite Disney animated movie? Please don’t tell me you’ve never watched a Disney movie.
  8. What is your favorite classic book?
  9. What was your favorite book as a child?
  10. What are your other hobbies besides reading, writing and blogging?

Congratulations to all of the nominees. Now I’m off to notify them. But to all of my readers, regardless of whether you were nominated or not, I want to know what other hobbies you have besides reading, writing and blogging.

signature

24 thoughts on “Two Blog Awards: The Sunshine Award and The Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. OH GOSH. *runs around crazily and throws chocolate at you* THANK YOU for the nomination but also thaaaanks for listing us with your favourite blogs because ERMAGERD MY DAY HAS BEEN MADE.

    You and me both for Goodreads. That is the most ingenious site the internet has bestowed upon us. It definitely beats facebook…not sure about pinterest. Pinterest is awesome but still GOODREADS. Mime also got lost on cross-country once. I laughed. Computer programming?? That sounds insanely difficult. Ah, the genius people I get to talk to. xD

    Like

    1. Yay! Chocolate! *runs around crazily and scoops up all of the chocolate*. YOU’RE WELCOME for the nomination. How could I not list Notebook Sisters as one of my top five favorite blogs? You and Mime are so hilarious! I don’t know if you practice being funny or if it’s just natural or if it runs in the family or if you and Mime are just connected by a sisterly thread of hilariousness.

      Goodreads is the only social media that I have, but it is definitely one of the most ingenious sites that the Internet has bestowed upon us. I don’t know how I kept track of my reading before I discovered Goodreads. Actually, the only reason I got it was because it was required for reading class, but we never really used it in class. I still really like it.

      Poor Mime. I know how painful it is to get lost on a cross country course.

      Computer programming is kind of difficult, but if you take it slowly, it isn’t too bad. Debugging is very, very, very bad and frustrating, though. I once spent hours looking at a bunch of lines of code and fixing all of this stuff to try to make a program work, only to find that all I had to do was delete one little indentation. ARGH!

      Like

  2. Thank you for nominating me! I feel so honored!
    Since I haven’t been following you for long, I learned so much. I like to write in sprints as well, I just can’t sit in one place for too long. Hold Me is one of my favorite songs too!
    COMPUTER PROGRAMMING!!!!! I strive to be computer science engineer as well! (or a robotics engineer). It’s really fun, and there is so much you can do with code. What do you use?
    That quote by Apple Inc. is truly the one of the most inspiring things, even if it was in their ad. It’s really true, because Steve Jobs himself was a troublemaker in school, and growing up, but we all know what he has done! Apple, a giant technology company!
    It’s really nice to think that even the imaginative crazy-seeming people could become amazing people.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! You want to be a computer science/robotics engineer too? That is so awesome! I agree that there is a lot that you can do with code. Usually, I use Python, but I’ve also been learning Racket and Processing. I’ve also sewn an Aniomagic e-textile project and I’m trying to program it, but I’m still stuck. And yes, the quote is very inspiring.

      Like

  3. Thank you some much for nominating me!!! These are two awards that I have not been nominated for so this should be fun!!!!!
    Hold Me is one of my favorite songs too! It’s one of those that will get stuck in your head for hours!

    Like

  4. Thanks for the shout out and for answering my questions! Mint chocolate chip ice cream, though? I’ll be honest, I don’t see the attraction to mint. It always reminds me of toothpaste. And my newest favorite song is also by Jamie Grace. It’s Beautiful Day. Have you heard it? I find it fantastic!
    Thanks for commenting on Inklined,
    Sarah Faulkner

    Like

    1. You don’t like mint? Really? I’ve always thought that it tasted much better than toothpaste. Oh, well. I guess we all have our own tastes. Yes! I have heard Beautiful Day, and I love it! When I was writing this post, I was debating which song to put down out of Hold Me, Beautiful Day and Gold. Those are my three favorite songs, but eventually I chose Hold Me as my most favorite. Now another song, All I’ve Ever Needed by AJ Michalka is also starting to creep into my most favorite songs.

      Like

  5. Thank you so very much, Ana, for awarding me. So sweet of you! That makes me really happy. I’ve been out of state, so sorry for the late reply. And, as I’ve said before (I think…) I love the name of your blog!

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! That’s fine. I don’t think your reply was late at all, and I’m so glad that you like the name of my blog. It’s kind of a metaphor for my imagination. It’s meant to symbolize how my imagination flutters around, wild and free. Or something like that…I think if I go too far with it, I’ll start to sound cheesy, but that’s the gist of it.

      Like

  6. Thanks for the shoutout! I love that quote. In fact, I read it recently, but I’ve absolutely forgotten what it was from. Cross country … I’ve only done it once but I was the last in the whole school along with two other students. But I *was* trying to keep my shoes from getting muddy.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! You did cross country? That automatically makes you awesome! Cross country is a great sport for people like me who aren’t usually athletic in sports that involve balls, but have good endurance. It’s okay that you were last. At least you tried. Hehe. In cross country, no matter how hard you try to keep your shoes from getting muddy, they’ll still get muddy. I got new shoes at the start of the cross country season about a month ago, and within the first day of running, they were already dirty. *sighs and shakes head*

      Like

  7. Thank you so much for the nomination! I’m always so thrilled when I get awards like these:)

    Also, I love that Little House on the Prairie meant so much to you, because it was very important to my childhood as well!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

