Stacking the Shelves #6

stacking the shelves

20140803-191141-69101699.jpg

Stacking the Shelves is a meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. Basically, you explain your book haul for the week.

  1. The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell: I read Blink and Outliers, two books that are also by Malcolm Gladwell, and they were really interesting. Thus, I decided to try this book out.
  2. Interrupted by Rachel Coker: I read Rachel Coker’s second book, Chasing Jupiter, and it made me laugh out loud. I hope that this book will make me do the same.
  3. Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll: I read Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, but I’ve never read the sequel. I think I need to correct that. Also, this book is the one with the Jabberwocky poem. If you look at my bucket list, you’ll see that one of the items is to memorize and recite a poem. Jabberwocky recitation here I come!

This Week on the Blog

This Week On Other Blogs

This Week in My Life

I went to see the movie Dawn of the Planet of the Apes with some of my friends, and it was so good! The suspense literally made me bite my nails, sit on the edge of my seat, and furiously shove popcorn and Junior Mints into my mouth. You know you’re a writer when all you can think about when watching that movie is the masterful storytelling shown in the perfect conflicting character goals, the point of no return and the lie that the characters believe.

Also, a weird random story. You know how there is an extra scene at the end of the credits for some movies? Well my friends and I decided to stay for that, but then everybody started leaving and the theater got darker. We decided that we would just wait alone in the theater, but time passed and the credits just kept going. Then we kind of got creeped out because we were alone in a huge theater and my friend told us that she saw something in the corner (it turned out to be a box). So, we fearfully inched out. Teenage drama. *sighs*

How was your week? Also, feel free to linkup to those STS/weekly recap posts of yours.

signature

13 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #6

  1. I’ve heard that Rachel Coker’s stories are very funny, so I’ll definitely put her on my TBR. Through the Looking Glass is excellent (both of them are pretty much my favourite children’s stories of all time…barring Harry Potter, of course). Thanks for mentioning me ❤ And I'm glad you liked Dawn of the Planet of the Apes! Honestly I think I'd be too scared to watch it (I'm SUCH a wuss with movies).

    Like

    1. Her stories are very light and humorous, which is why I would jump at the chance to read another book by her. Sadly, she has only two books out right now. I’m glad that you like Through the Looking Glass. I can’t wait to read it. You’re welcome! Dawn of the Planet of the Apes isn’t actually that scary. It’s violent, but it isn’t that gory. I’m usually really scared of violent movies because I can’t stand blood and gore, but this one wasn’t too bad.

      Like

  2. Oooh, I’ve been meaning to read Through The Looking Glass for a while now, too! The Jabberwocky poem is pretty cool, I think, but I’ve never read the entirety of it. Memorizing a poem sounds like a great challenge. I’ve never really memorized a real poem before, except for the Mulan epic I did for Chinese school… That thing was pretty long, though!

    Man, I should do a Monthly recap on my blog. You know what? I’m gonna go write that post right now. Yes.

    Like

      1. Hehe, the Mulan thingy was easier than it seemed, actually. I memorized a stanza everyday, and the rhyming helped too (although it was admittedly a bit more complicated than the Disney movie ;D). And Adele did it, too! It was a challenge in class for extra credit, so… yes! Challenges! Challenges are good!

        Like

          1. AAAHHH SOCIAL STUDIES THAT WAS ABSOLUTELY TERRIFYING. I tell you, it was our teacher that made me like this. We would get told, “Oh, it’s just a really general quiz, nothing to worry about!” and then there would be this random, really specific question on it… So I ended up just basically memorizing our textbook by paraphrasing.
            To tell the truth, though, I was and still am very, very proud of that open notes mongol quiz which I never took notes on… IgotallofthequestionsrighteventhereallyspecificoneslikethedatesohyeahIrisisjustthatawesomeyeeesssssssssssssssssss

            Like

  3. I’m really interested to see what you think of Interrupted. I LOVED Chasing Jupiter, it was just amazing and really hit the feels, but Interrupted? Eh, meh, not so much. I was very frustrated with the characters. SO YES. Can’t wait to see what you think of that one!
    Ha…teenage drama in the cinemas. 😉 But hey, I get nervous staying alone while the end credits roll. Does no one realise there are often thingies at the end?!! Is it only the real nerds who want to see?! XD

    Like

    1. Yes! Chasing Jupiter definitely hit the feels hard. I’ll see how I like Interrupted. Even if I don’t like it, it’ll be neat to see how much Rachel Coker’s writing improved between both of her books.

      Either no one wants to wait or they don’t know that there are extra scenes after the end. We thought that other people were going to wait too, but they all left and the theater just got darker. It also didn’t help that another one of my friends was trying too scare us even more. So, yea. It was really creepy, but kind of fun too.

      Like

      1. I’m sorry, but I have to butt in on this conversation. WHO WAS THE FRIEND TRYING TO SCARE YOU? (I wasn’t there, soo… um.. yeah…. was watching anime… at home…hehe…)

        Oh yeah, and no need to give names, obviously. Clue me!

        Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

