Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars

About the Book

Title: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Source: Library

Publication Date: May 13, 2014 by Delacorte Press

Pages: 225

Blurb: A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

My Review

I could not put We Were Liars down after I started to read it. For the majority of this book, there wasn’t much action. However, that did not decrease the suspense at all. Instead, tension drove the plot of this book. Everything about this book is mysterious. I could tell that everyone in the story was hiding secrets, but there was no way of knowing those secrets without reading to the end of the book.

disney animated GIF

Another thing that I loved about this book is the unique and beautiful writing style. There were some passages in the book that were written in poetry form, which gave the book a change of pace, and thus, made for a more interesting read. The writing was lyrical and it smoothly carried me through the story. I also liked the use of repetition in the book, which helped to better characterize the narrator, Cadence.

The ending of this book was completely unpredictable, and I never saw it or a hint of it coming. I love books that shock me and blow me away with unpredictable endings! At the same time, it was slightly confusing. I can’t say much without giving away the ending, but I’ll just say that it was extremely hard to tell what was real. This is one of those books that I will have to reread in order to truly make sense of the ending.

movie animated GIF

Overall, this is a suspenseful, unique and unpredictable book that I would recommend to any teen reader that is sick of predictable endings.
 
Five out of five butterflies.
butterfly rating
Have you read this book? How did you like the ending?

Picture

6 thoughts on “Book Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. I certainly agree about everything you said on an OBJECTIVE level. The writing was lyrical as you say, and the twist at the end was completely unpredictable. Despite that, though, I wasn’t emotionally connected to the book so it didn’t blow me away like everyone else 😦 I’m glad you liked it, though!!

    Like

  2. I’m glad you liked this one! It seems to be like an intense love OR hate book. x) Not much middle ground, right?!! Hehe. I had a great time reading it, but I absolutely couldn’t put it down. I knew the reveal would be WOAH and I was right, but definitely didn’t see it coming. I’m so so so impressed with the writing, though. I love that style. *hugs book* It’s one of my favourites of this year for sure. XD

    Like

    1. Yep, I don’t think there’s much middle ground with this book, but I think the majority of the book bloggers love this book. I couldn’t put it down either. At first I was disappointed because when the first plot twist came, I thought “Well, that isn’t that impressive…” Then, I kept reading and there was that second plot twist that completely blew me away. Just like you, this is one of my favorite books of the year.

      Like

  3. Great review. I’m really looking forward to reading this novel–I keep seeing exceptional reviews of it! I have to admit that I am slightly worried that the hype will get to me and it’ll end up being a bit of a disappointment, but this looks like the sort of book I’d enjoy. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

