Bookish Things That I Don’t Understand

Bookish

READING IN THE BATH TUB. How is it possible to read in the bath tub without getting your book wet? Does anybody actually do this?

BOOKMARKS. It’s not that I don’t understand the use of bookmarks, but I personally can’t use bookmarks. Why? I always end up losing them or not using them at all. Also, I hate to see them all worn out and wrinkled from use.

READING IN BED. It’s so difficult to comfortably hold up a book when you’re trying to lay down and rest. And then most of the time I end up falling asleep anyway.

READING GOSSIP MAGAZINES. I mean those weird magazines that you see while waiting in line at the grocery store. I don’t even like looking at the immodest headlines and pictures, and I really don’t understand how someone could read that.

READING AT THE BEACH. I know that a lot of people think reading at the beach is relaxing, and it probably is. However, when I’m at the beach, I want to look for sand dollars, ride the waves and build sandcastles-not read; while I can read anytime I want, I can’t go to the beach whenever I want.

READING COMIC BOOKS. Now don’t get me wrong. Some comic books make for really interesting reads, such as the Tintin and Asterix books. However, it definitely doesn’t count as true reading if all you read is comic books.

THE POPULAR AVERSION TO CLASSICS. Classics can be dense and slow at times, but if people would have the patience and open-mindedness to try them, they would find that there is a lot of quality literature behind the enormous word count.

What bookish things do you not understand? Has anybody actually tried reading in the bath tub before? What are your favorite comics? Classics?

signature

8 thoughts on “Bookish Things That I Don’t Understand

  1. I always read in the bath!! I have my towel with me so I can dry my hands. It’s the best thing ever 🙂 I also love bookmarks. I never used to use them, but now I swear my memory has got worse and I’d never remember the page I was up to. I also need to read more classics…

    Like

    1. Do you really read in the bath? I don’t think I could trust myself to try that. I’d get the book so wet, even with a towel! I really want to love bookmarks, but I always lose them or forget to use them. Reading classics can be fun as long as you take them one at a time and don’t put any pressure on yourself (like what school does).

      Like

  2. I always loose my bookmarks. I have tons of them, because they’re fun to make with pretty floral papers and stuff… but they always get lost.

    I agree. Classics are hard to read. I have started and stopped many a classic. Believe me. I should probably read more though.

    However, I LOVE to listen to classics as audiobooks. Like on long trips or in bed while they play on the CD player. They have tons at the library, and they are SO much easier to follow along with if someone is reading them to you.

    My dad wanted me to read this classic which was SOOO boring, but we listened to it in the car, and turned out to be really interesting 🙂

    Like

    1. I lose my bookmarks too! I always feel bad when I lose one because most of them are pretty or have some really awesome graphics from a book or movie.

      I don’t really listen to audio books that much, but I think that’s a great idea. I can’t read in the car because I get car sick, but I can definitely listen to an audio book. I wonder why it’s easier to comprehend if you’re listening to a book rather than reading it…I’ll have to try it and see for myself.

      Like

  3. I’m not the only one who gets extremely concerned when people talk about reading in the bath or shower! It makes me panic just thinking of it. I use bookmarks all the time, but I’ve damaged so many. I’m just really bad at book care though. One of my books has a shoe mark in it because I dropped it in the car as I was moving to the back and accidentally stepped on it and it had been raining. I’m ashamed. I read in my bed all the time! I’ve been doing it ever since I was little because I have a hard time sleeping so I read. I’m ashamed that I haven’t read many classics. I plan on changing that.

    Like

    1. It makes me panic too! I could never read in the bath or shower without completely ruining my book. A shoe mark? Oh, poor book. *cringes* Once I dropped a book when the ground was really wet from the rain. It was a music theory workbook that I was done with, though, so it was kind of okay. I like to read in my bed when I’m tired, but after a while it kind of hurts my arms and I have to shift over to my side, which isn’t comfortable either.

      Like

  4. Yep, I pretty much agree with everything you said here. I like comics quite a lot (though not really american ones, though there are several american comics I really like- I mostly read manga.), buuuut I don’t really count that as reading. Oh yeah, and Maus by Art Spiegelman is a really good graphic novel- it’s about the Holocaust, but what is really cool is how the book draws each race as a different type of animal. It sounds weird, but it’s a really good book, and pretty famous too. Apparently it’s even used in some schools, too.
    I never really use bookmarks… I have this book stand that keeps the book open and at an easy to read angle, so I just leave books in there. It’s good for reading while eating, too! 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

