The Different Types of Blog Commenters

blog commenters

I’ve been blogging long enough to know about the different types of blog commenters (I’m not sure if that’s a word, but I’m going to use it anyway) floating through the blogosphere.  There are so many out there that I probably missed a few in this post, but these are the major types of commenters that immediately come to mind.

The IRL Friend

This type of commenter is an in-real-life friend of the blogger. His/her comments are usually really long and filled with inside jokes that the rest of the commenters don’t understand. Often a long back and forth conversation ensues between the blogger and the IRL friend.

The BBB (Best Blogging Buddy)

The BBB is usually a long time commenter on said blog. He/she and the blogger have most likely corresponded outside of their blogs-perhaps through email or social media. The two BBBs usually comment on every one of each others’ posts and their comments tend to be on the longer side.

The Outright Spammer

This type of commenter is really annoying. He/she’ll/it’ll post something like this:

Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. Seo Plugin

Ummmm…Oh, thanks for criticizing my blog.

And his/her/it’s email will often look like this: fkdjal;sfwio@kgalsdj.com

The Generic One Liners
These commenters are always writing generic one line comments that really have no meaning. They might write “Great post!” or “Great review!” or Great discussion!”. These comments are okay once in a while, but they are generally not appreciated. Usually these commenters are just commenting for exposure for their own blog.
The Eager Newbies
These commenters are newbie bloggers that may have a few questions for more experienced bloggers. Most bloggers are really nice and approachable, so newbies shouldn’t be afraid to ask questions.
The Friendly Stalker
This commenter is usually fairly new to the blog on which he/she is commenting-or at least new enough to not actually be a BBB yet. He/she comments on every single post, or almost every single post of the blog, usually because he/she really admires the blogger and enjoys reading the blog.
The Ignorant Ones
these commeters lik to not psend tim on there comets but the stil wat u 2 plz chx out theyre blog cuz its bttr then urs an its gr8 an the shood get a million f0llwers immeditly
The Everywhere Commenters
These blog commenters usually have their own blogs. They reply to every comment on their blog and even comment on the blogs of people that comment on their blogs. Basically, they seem to be commenting on every single blog in their niche. Ahem…Cait…It’s a good thing, though.

I hope you got a kick out of this post. Which of the above types of bloggers have commented on your blog? Did I miss any types?

signature

27 thoughts on “The Different Types of Blog Commenters

  1. I’m the first and last one. 🙂

    You forgot the commenters (I don’t think it’s a real word, and if it isn’t, BAM. New word that should be in the English dictionary. Okay, maybe not in a dictionary, but it should be known…) who write one line with something along the lines of “ur stoopid” or “ur blog is sooo boring. just shut up and giv up already!”

    Like

    1. Ahh.. trolls… those sad, pitiful, denizens who dwell in the deepest voids of the internet and have no other purpose than the sole motive of putting other people down.

      Like

      1. Trolls are annoying. I think the best thing to do is just delete their comment and go right on with blogging. Focus on the positive comments instead of the negative comments because those people obviously have nothing to do with their life. Trolls could kind of fit into The Ignorant Ones category, but yes, they should get a category of their own.

        Like

  2. One of my first comments ( perhaps my very first comment ) was some guy who called me on a misspelled word! The lol part was that his syntax was screwed up. None the less, I was just SO EXCITED that anyone had taken the time to read then actually write something. Yes, I’m new to Blogging! Liked this piece.

    Like

  3. Haha! I completely agree with this Ana! 😉 I think my commenting style depends on how well I know the blogger and what I’m commenting on. (It’s easier to comment on a review of a book I’ve already read vs. commenting on a review of a book I’ve never heard of). I’ve definitely seen traces of these commenting styles not only in myself but in fellow bloggers too. Thanks for sharing, and BRILLIANT post! ❤

    Like

    1. My commenting style changes depending on the blog as well. If I frequently read the blog, I might know more about the blogger and his/her interests so I can naturally reference those in my comments. I have a hard time commenting on reviews of books I haven’t read too! They all start sounding the same because they basically go like this “I would/would not read this book because I like/dislike (insert bookish likes/dislikes)”. I feel like I say the same thing every time! Thanks!

      Like

  4. Omigosh.
    “The Ignorant Ones”
    Ana.
    Your description for that one was perfect.
    I cracked up out loud, and for reals, not just sarcastic “LOL.”

    Like

    1. I know. I know. I’m good at descriptions, aren’t I? im bttr it themthan u an thasssss y i am bttr th u 4 ever u no gud. Haha. I’m glad I made you laugh out loud. That was my favorite category to write because ignorant commenters that won’t take the time to punctuate or spell correctly really annoy me. I don’t mind if there’s one or two typos, but if the whole comment is riddled with mistakes, I get really annoyed.

      Like

  5. I have had every one of these kind of commenters on my blog (been blogging 2 years) and let me just say, that the spam are beyond annoying I get about three a week……
    I suppose that I have been an IRL Friend, a BBB, I was an Eager Newbie when I first started, I’ve been then Friendly Stalker and now, well….You could say I am an Everywhere Commenter! Great post, I’ve never thought about narrowing these down.

    Like

    1. I’m sure you do get a lot of different commenters if you’ve been blogging for that long. Spam is so annoying! Luckily, I don’t get as many as three a week. I only get those comments once in a while. But STILL! I’m all of the commenters that you are too. I’m not that much of an Eager Newbie, but I kind of am a little bit when I request posts from other bloggers about things like ARCs and other bloggy type questions. Thanks!

      Like

  6. HAHA SO TRUE ABOUT CAIT SHE IS EVERYWHERE. Love this post – I get all these kinds of comments from time to time (although I don’t get IRL comments very often…mostly just my sister sometimes). My spam blocky thing is pretty good so I don’t get the spam comments either. Oh, and the generic one liners do kind of annoy me sometimes…

    Like

    1. ISN’T SHE? It seems like Cait’s comments are on every single blog that I visit! I get IRL comments very often, which I love. Askimet works well for me too, so the spam comments don’t get through, but I love reading through the spam comments in the queue and laughing at the ridiculousness of them. Generic one liners are really annoying, but luckily I can’t remember a time when I got one. I’ve only seen them on other blogs.

      Like

  7. Haha, this post is awesome! I sometimes get spammy sort of comments, but luckily this has only happened once to me. I just rolled my eyes and deleted it. I think that I’m probably The Friendly Stalker, and I say this with pride! 😉 I mean, I’m not new to blogging exactly — not sure what classifies as “new” — though I do like to get around the blogosphere and check out people’s blogs. I seriously love it. There are just so many opinions and thoughts out there and it’s so much fun to read through. Most of the time I’ll leave a comment, though there are some instances where (I admit) I can be a bit of a silent reader. Sometimes I do tack on a “great review/discussion” at the beginning or end of the post (because I honestly do mean it), but I NEVER just type that; I always comment on some aspect of the post somehow. I’ve never actually gotten a one-liner before, I don’t think. Maybe for a Top Ten Tuesday or something, though that’s more understandable, because often people comment on multiple posts, and that can take up quite a bit of time. 🙂 But anyway, I loved reading this post! (As you can probably tell by my massive comment. :P)

    Like

    1. Thanks! I’ve never actually gotten a spammy comment, but I have seen a lot of them in Askimet. I love reading blogs too! It’s so much fun-especially when I get to read blogs written by people living in other countries (like Australia!). Oh yea, I type “great post” or something along those lines on a lot of my comments, but like you I never say that alone.

      Like

  8. BAH! HA HA HAAAA. Yes. There is me. *waves* But I obviously have noooo social life outside of blogging, can type quite fast, and have too much to say. Someone shut me up. Seriously. I talk to much. But I was GOING to say, “Ohhh, I’m obviously the Friendly Stalker category!” I give lots of flailing/hyperventilating comments and probably sound like an over-eager puppy wanting to be friends but coming off SO AWKWARD. AWK. My speciality. 😉 The spam ones are just urghhhh. I once had a spam one start with, “Hey Julia…blah blah blah”. Please. You didn’t even get my name right. I was mortally offended. I particularly love the spammers who like to tell you that your blog design sucks. Thanks. Thanks a lot. 😄

    I totally loved this post. But seriously, I had to resist leaving a comment that just said “great post”. See?! I HAD TOO MUCH TO SAY.

    Like

    1. Obviously you can type quite fast! I thought I could type fast but I can never churn out as many comments as you do everyday. I mean, it took me a week to reply to your comment, which I am very sorry about. Of course you’re a friendly stalker! Really, though, you can never make a quality blog comment too long. Long is good because it’s like a huge compliment. JULIA?!? Seriously?!? Hehe.

      Thanks! And haha.

      Like

    1. I agree! I’m the IRL Friend one but I think there should be a category for people who just comment om other people’s blogs whenever they feel like it/ remember to check/ out of the blue. (Because I’m like that too.)

      Like

  9. Some of the outright spammers can be pretty funny, though. I got one recently that I couldn’t resist blogging about because the irony was just so delicious: Saturday Spam

    I’ve been known to be a Friendly Stalker. What can I say? When I find a new blog that I like, I get excited… and commenty. (Is that word?)

    Like

    1. They can be really funny! Sometimes I even enjoy reading spam because it always gives me a good laugh. Haha, that comment in your post is great! I’m kind of a friendly stalker too, especially on blogs that I really really like. Ha! If commenter counts as a word, then commenty counts as well.

      Like

  10. Haha, loved this post! I don’t have many IRL commenters, apart from my sister, who sometimes comments 😀
    And urgh yes, the generic one liners are annoying! Expecially if they write something like ‘Do stop by at my blog again, and thanks for the like/comment. Hope to see you more xx’ in their comment!
    All in all, I think I would calssify as the Friendly Stalker, lol 😀

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

