Announcing NaNoPrepMo !

Well, hello everyone! I finally got caught up on replying to all of the comments that I have left unanswered on my blog, so here is a new post!

On the poll I posted a while back, the top topic choice was writing, followed by crafts. Therefore, I am dedicating this month on the blog NaNoPrepMo. That means that throughout the month, I’ll be writing posts to help you get ready for NaNoWriMo.

So What Is NaNoWriMo?

NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, is a writing challenge that takes place during the month of November. The challenge is to write 50,000 words on the first draft of a novel during November. 50,000 words may seem like a lot to you, and it is. That’s why there are various options for NaNoWriMo participants. If you are 17 or under, you can participate in the Young Writers Program, which allows you to set your own word count goal. And if you don’t want to participate in November, you can participate in Camp NaNoWriMo in April and July. Just like YWP, you can set your own word count goal for Camp.

Be a NaNo Rebel

But what if you don’t want to write a novel? Well, that’s where the NaNo rebels come in. NaNoWriMo really isn’t a strict program, so if you don’t want to write a novel, you can be a NaNo rebel and write whatever you want during November. You can write a screenplay, edit an existing novel, plot a new novel, write a collection of short stories, write a collection of poems, etc.

Since November is a super busy month for me with school, orchestra and championship season for cross country, I’ll be participating in the YWP version. I’m not sure what my word count goal will be yet, and I’m also not sure whether I will write a new novel or edit my first one. That’s okay, though, because that’s what NaNoPrepMo is for.

Regardless of which NaNo option you choose, NaNo is sure to motivate you to write and enable to make leaps and bounds on your WIP. I hope by now I’ve convinced you to participate in NaNo, because trust me: you won’t regret it.

In order for you to be successful in NaNoWriMo, I suggest that you spend October planning your novel, and that’s where this series comes in. Throughout the month, I’ll publish various posts on finding an idea, developing your idea, the different elements of a novel (characters, worldbuilding, plot structure), outlining methods and NaNoWriMo survival!

So, who’s doing NaNo this year? 

NaNoWriMo – http://nanowrimo.org/

YWP NaNoWriMo – http://ywp.nanowrimo.org/

signature

17 thoughts on “Announcing NaNoPrepMo !

  1. I participated in the youth version last year too, since I had a lot of schoolwork. My goal was 10 000 words, which I definitely surpassed. I will probably do it again this year, but who knows?

    Like

  2. I always back out at the last minute because I don’t know how all the buddies and charts work. And it scares me. >_< BUT! Not this year! I'm doing it! I have two prospective WiPs to pick between and I'm going to plot them out ASAP. It's quite exciting, actually, knowing you're writing a book at the same time hundreds of other people are. 😄

    Like

  3. I think I’m going to be a NaNo Rebel and just make it my goal to finish Nightlark during NaNoWriMo. I mean, I’ve been working on the book since seventh grade. It has to end at some point. Good luck on your story!

    Like

  4. Never finished a novel–despite all the ideas my hamster is constantly churning out–tho I’ve always wanted to. However, I am a fairly serious fanfiction writer and proud owner of one published short nonfiction for kids on Mt. St. Helens{in my ‘real’ life}. Think I’m actually going to give it a go this year which will be my first–attempt that is as I just, surprisingly, only found out about NaNoWriMo last year…after Nov :3. Anyway gl and thanks for the ideas…go 12th hamster go!

    Like

    1. Just keep on writing and you’ll finish a novel someday. I had a difficult time finishing novels when I first started, too, but I stuck with it and eventually finished my first novel. Fanfiction and nonfiction works too, though. Any type of writing is great for developing your skills. Good luck with NaNo this year.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

