NaNoPrepMo: Creating MultiDimensional Characters

)Yes, I understand this is a late post, but it could be helpful as a reference if you are not doing NaNoWriMo or you are planning for a novel that you want to write a little bit later in the year.)

Characters are the driving forces of stories, so by taking the time to make your characters multidimensional, you can ensure that your story is a success. Readers love reading about characters with which they can connect. Likeable and realistic characters allow readers to better be immersed into the story, which ultimately makes for a much more enjoyable reading experience.

Creating characters can be overwhelming because it can be difficult to know where to start to create the specifics of your character. I suggest that you start with three basic components:

  • The lie that your character believes
  • Your character’s greatest need
  • Your character’s greatest fear

If you take the time to figure out these important aspects of your characters, it will help you to drive the story forward. By figuring out the lie that your character believes, you can create a solid character arc so that by the end of the story your character learns the core truth of the story and thus, changes. Knowing your character’s greatest need or desire will help you to give the character a goal and allow the reader to root for your character as he/she moves toward his/her goal. Finally, your character’s greatest fear will allow you to create conflict and tension in your story, as long as you make that greatest fear come true.

Once you have the most important aspects figured out, you can fill out a character sheet with the nitty gritty details of your character that will make him/her realistic. Here’s one that I love! http://www.jillwilliamson.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/Character-Worksheet.pdf Some other ways to develop your character are to find pictures of him/her or to write character journals from his/her point of view.

Now you have the basic outline of your character and you are ready to begin writing the story from their lense and further immerse your reader into your story. Happy planning!

signature

6 thoughts on “NaNoPrepMo: Creating MultiDimensional Characters

  1. Ooh, thank you so much for this. I think, maybe, characters are probably a bit of a weak spot with me — and as I’m writing a contemporary this year, this post is really quite helpful. I’ll definitely be referring back to this when I edit it. I don’t usually use character sheets, but in this case they might help me to flesh out my characters more. 😀

    Like

    1. You’re welcome. I agree that characters are so important for a contemporary because contemporaries tend to be more character driven instead of more plot driven. My use of character sheets is limited because so many character sheets are tiny details that bring my character to life but may not be useful in driving my story (favorite color, favorite food, etc.). However, I really like this one because it has some really important elements that will actually help to drive the story. I would say good luck with NaNo, but because you have super powers, you already finished. Instead, I’ll say great job with finishing NaNo!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

