Beautiful Books: In Which You Get to Hear About My NaNo Novel

Today I’m linking up with Notebook Sisters and Further Up and Further In with the NaNoWriMo edition of Beautiful People, Beautiful Books.

  1. What came first: characters or plot idea? Are you a plotter or a pantser? My main character came first, but the plot quickly followed. The first thing that I always do with a story is come up with a character in a unique and interesting situation. Then, I look for ways to introduce conflict into the story. Although the pantser side of me always goes off on rabbit trails and deviates from the outline, the plotter side of my absolutely needs an outline and character sheets to keep on moving forward. Thus, I guess you could say that I’m an odd mixture of both.
  2. Do you have a title and/or a “back-cover-blurb”? Yep. The title of my novel is UNTIL YOU LOSE IT. I don’t really have a back-cover-blurb yet, but here’s my logline:  An adopted teen who has trouble coping with her new family must work with them to find her missing sister before all hope is lost.
  3. What wordcount are you aiming for when your novel is finished? I’d like for my novel to be at least 50k, but it come out to be more or less depending on the story. Ultimately, I’d like to focus less on my word count and more on the story, so I’ll go with any wordcount that can do my story justice.
  4. Sum up your novel in 3 sentences. A teenage girl whose world has been torn apart. A little sister that brings joy and light into the most unlikely places. Loss upon loss upon loss.
  5. Sum up your characters in one word each. Hope Harper: determined, Summer Harper: cheerful, the two twins, Preston and Avery Jones: mischievous. Dawn Harper (Hope’s new mom): compassionate, Thompson Harper (Hope’s new dad): humorous.
  6. Which character are you most excited to write? Tell us about them! On one hand I’m most excited to write my MC, Hope, because, well…she’s my MC and she’s trustworthy, determined, resilient and thoughtful. She may be broken, but she still is likeable. On the other hand I;m most excited to write about Hope’s sister, Summer, because Summer is the person that helps Hope cope with all of the loss that she is experiencing. Summer is always cheerful and her joy is infectious.
  7. What about your villain? Who is she, what is her goal? My villains are actually Hope’s new parents. They have good intentions because their goal is to accept and love Hope with open arms, but they are still considered villains because that’s not what Hope wants. She doesn’t want to get attached to anyone else for fear of another loss.
  8. What is your protagonist’s goal? And what stands in the way? My protagonist’s inner goal is just to be a little happier and to get over the grief caused by her being orphaned. This is difficult because there is so much grief and at the same time she has to deal with letting new people into her life. Her external goal is to find Summer when she goes missing. Many things such as lack of time, the weather, and lack of clues stand in the way of reaching this goal.
  9. What inciting incident begins your protagonist’s journey? When Hope is orphaned, her whole world changes as she knows it.
  10. Where is your novel set? The first part of my novel is set in New York City where the main character, Hope, lives. Then, when she moves, the setting switches to a rural part of the Midwest. I haven’t figured out what state yet…maybe Iowa or Kansas?
  11. What are three big scenes in your novel that change the game completely? The first scene that completely changes the game is when Hope becomes an orphan. It is especially hard for her to cope and just with her new life because she is already a teen and can not imagine a different lie.The next scene that completely changes the game is when Hope meets her new little sister, Summer. They immediately bond, which creates internal conflict in Hope because she didn’t plan on trying to bond with anyone in her new family. It just sort of happens against her will. Summer is just so charismatic and her cheerfulness is infectious. The final scene that changes the game completely is when Summer goes missing. Hope has suffered so many losses already and knows that she can’t suffer another loss in Summer. She is devastated and resolves to find Summer.
  12. What is the most dynamic relationship your character has? Who else do they come in contact with or become close to during the story? The most dynamic relationship Hope has is with Summer, her sister, who can always make her feel better. She also comes in close contact with her parents, obviously, as well as two twins living next door, Preston and Avery Jones.
  13. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel? By the end of my novel, Hope has accepted her new family and comes to love all of them. She learns that she has found a permanent home, something that she thought she could never find again.
  14. Do you have an ending in mind, or do you plan to see what happens? Yes, I have an ending in mind, but I’m not going to tell you what it is. All I can tell you is that I’ll try to write a bittersweet kind of ending.
  15. What are your hopes and dreams for your book? What impressions are you hoping this novel will leave on your readers and yourself? I hope that the first draft of this book will be a little more organized and will be written faster than my last book. Maybe it will even get published. And as I hope for all of my books, I hope that this book gives readers an impression that will resonate with them forever.
6 thoughts on “Beautiful Books: In Which You Get to Hear About My NaNo Novel

  1. YAY! THIS IS FABULOUS! How are you going with NaNo now? Deep into it?!! 🙂 I’m really excited about participating since this is totally my first time and ahhh! There’s so much camaraderie between everyone since we’re all kind of writing together. I love it! *nods*
    Your book sounds fantastic. Beautiful Books #2 is coming soon so I hope we get to hear more.. 😉

    Like

    1. I’m doing pretty well in NaNo. My goal is 25,000 words, but I’m doing really well, so I just might take the plunge and go for 50,000. I’m just not sure if I’ll have as much time later on in the month as I have now. I love the camaraderie, too! Everyone is writing blog posts about NaNo and encouraging each other, and it’s just great.

      Thanks! I can’t wait to write my Beautiful Books #2 post!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

