The Candy Book Tag

candytag

Well, seeing that today marks only one week after Halloween, this post comes right in time. Hopefully, if you went trick or treating, you still have a sizable stash of candy. If all of you’re candy is already gone, I’m a little bit worried for you.

The Candy Book Tag is a new book blog tag started by Samantha @ Bookish Serendipity. These questions look like they are going to be so much fun to answer.

But First the Rules

  1. If you want to participate, write your post, using the seven candies listed above. You can use the badge I made, or create your own.
  2. Tag approx. 5 other bloggers.
  3. Let them know, and ask if they want to participate?

And Now for the Questions

Which Books Remind You Of…

Apples: Ah. Healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

A Wrinkle Time  by Madeleine L’Engle: I know that this book is loved by many people and that it’s won quite a few awards, but it just wasn’t for me.

Milk Chocolate: This is the book that you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: I can’t believe I have to answer this question. I’ve read so many good books that I can’t possibly do them all justice, so I’ll have to answer with this classic. This book is timeless and the themes are expressed in a riveting story that will keep readers thinking about it long after they close the pages.

Black Jellybeans: WHY DO THESE EXIST?

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer: Don’t get me wrong. I absolutely LOVE this series. It’s just that it causes me so much pain that I don’t have Fairest and Winter yet. Why do they exist now? Why can’t the whole series just come into existence all at once so I don’t have to endure the wait?

Chocolate Kisses: Aww…this novel had the best romance.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen: Ugh. I really don’t like reading romances, but if it’s a classic, I can stand it. The romance in this book was very complicated, which made the whole situation very amusing in a dry, classical kind of way.

Gummy Spiders: Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

Unwind by Neal Shusterman: I did not want to read this book because the blurb alone sounded scary, but I kind of had to listen to it in reading class two years ago. It was horrible. It’s about harvesting kids’ body parts, you guys! On the plus side, every Friday when my teacher would read to us from this book we got to have free time.

Jumbo Lollipop: This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens: I first read this classic in fourth grade and it took me a whole month to slog through it. I remember liking the complexity of the book, but I could only understand it as I read by constantly rereading passages.

Cotton Candy: Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think: children’s or MG fiction.

The Little House on the Prairie Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder: (As well as every other historical fiction pioneer book that I could get my hands on.) My childhood revolved around this series. Not only did I reread the books over and over again, but I also played pioneers with my friends at recess.

 

 

 

I Tag…

Obviously, if I tagged you you don’t have to do the tag. It’s just something that you might want to consider.

Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer

Cait @ Notebook Sisters

Topaz, Kim or Timon @ Ya Asylum

Katie @ A Writer’s Faith 

Alyssa @ Ramblings of a Literature Nerd

Now I want to hear what book is milk chocolate for you!

signature

16 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag

  1. Thank you so much for tagging me! 🙂 This tag looks particularity awesome, actually. Haha, I saw the Cinder one, and though, “What? Who doesn’t like that book??” but then actually read on. 😉 That does remind me though, I really need to read Scarlet and Cress soon!

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! It really is an awesome tag. You haven’t read Scarlet and Cress, yet? I would take your time reading them, because if you read them now, it will be way too painful to wait for Fairest and Winter. They’re both really good, but I thought Scarlet was even better than Cress.

      Like

  2. Eep! Thanks so much for participating, Ana! I completely agree: I need Winter and Fairest in my life. I personally wasn’t a fan of The Little House on The Prairie, but I know that so many people loved it. I really need to read To Kill A Mockingbird now, don’t I?

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! Thank you for tagging me! I had so much fun coming up with my answers. I need those two books two. Too bad you didn’t like The Little House on the Prairie, but that’s kind of like me and A Wrinkle in Time. It’s a popular kids’ book, but I just didn’t like it. Yes, you need to read TKAM ASAP.

      Like

  3. I haven’t read any of the books you listed, except for the Little House series (which I LOVED in the fourth grade and still adore!), and Pride & Prejudice (the best romance, in my opinion!). To Kill a Mockingbird and A Tale of Two Cities have been on my TBR for quite a while now, so I’ll have to check them out! =)

    Like

    1. Yes, the Little House series WAS MY LIFE in fourth grade, too. Honestly, I need to reread the series, because I haven’t read those books in a long time. P & P is definitely the best romance. In fact it’s one of the only romances that I can deal with. Both TKAM and A Tale of Two Cities are really good, but TKAM is the best in my opinion. It’s my favorite book 🙂

      Like

  4. eeeep! You’re header! IT’S GORGEOUS. I love what you’ve done to the blog. :)) And squee, thanks for the tag!:)

    Although…I totally freaked out for a second and thought you didn’t like Cinder. I NEARLY CRIED. But that’s okay. I’m with you. Why don’t Fairest and Winter exist yet? Whyyyy do they torture us so? Unwind has totally scarred me. I’m too traumatised for the rest of the series.

    Like

    1. Thank you, and you’re welcome.

      I know. It’s too long of a time to wait. It’s excruciatingly torturous. Unwind was very traumatizing. The worst part was that our teacher also started reading the rest of the series to us, so I couldn’t avoid it. If I’m going to be objective here, I think that the writing was really good, but the story just horrified me.

      Like

  5. I’m hopefully going to find some time for A Tale of Two Cities soon! It’s one of a few that I’ve yet to start and honestly, the only Dickens’ that intrigues me. AND YES, EVERYONE SHOULD READ MOCKINGBIRD. That book leads with best moral lessons!

    Like

    1. You should definitely read A Tale of Two Cities. I really have to read it again because when I read it I was in fourth grade and I’m pretty sure that at that age a lot of it went over my head. I do remember that it was very intriguing, though. It was very creepy, in a kind of subtle way-especially the part where the lady knit the names of dead people into her knitting. *shivers* YES, TKAM IS MY FAVORITE BOOK and it has timeless moral lessons.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

