Beautiful Books: In Which You Get to Hear How NaNo Is Treating Me

As you can see, I redesigned my blog, and I’m still in the process of adding new elements and tweaking everything. Stay tuned for more updates to the design.

Today I am linking up with Cait @ Notebook Sisters and Sky @ Further Up and Further In.

  1. Be honest: how is your writing going? It’s going pretty well. Since I’m so preoccupied with school, cross country, orchestra and a bunch of other things(November is a really busy month for me), I’m just going for a 25k word count goal. I recently had a few days off from school so I got ahead of my word count goal. Unfortunately, school has once again caught up with me, so I’ve been making slow progress.
  2. What’s your first sentence/paragraph? This is literally the first sentence I wrote, so it is obviously not perfect and is very unedited. I know, I know. But here it is:
    Sometimes I get that feeling that I never want a hug to end.
  3. Do you have a book cover, and/or pictures that reflect your book? I don’t have a book cover yet, but I do have an idea of what I’d like my cover to look like. Since the title is “Until You Lose It” a cool cover might have a picture of someone cupping their hands and holding water. My book also has a lot to do with sunlight and summer, so it might be cool to have a silhouette against the sun.
  4. Do you have pictures of each of your characters? If not, describe them for us! (Be as descriptive as you can.) I do have pictures of my characters, but I don’t want to post them here because of copyright issues. However, I will tell you that my main character looks a lot like Cozi Zuehlsdorff.
  5. What scene are you most excited to write? Definitely the ending.  Writing endings are always the best because you’re so close to your novel and it’s a priceless feeling when you finally finish writing the last scene in the book.
  6. Share a snippet or a scene that you really enjoyed writing. Seeing all of the shops around me makes me hungry again, so I seek out my favorite bakery, Leisurely Reads, and step inside its familiar walls. As soon as I step inside, the owner, Mandy, who I’m delighted to see is working tonight, nods and smiles at me.“Back here again, Hope?” she says, her cheeks puffing up in a huge smile.“Yes, ma’am,” I say, saluting just like I did when I was little. Mandy smiles even more.

    “What can I get for you today, Hope? Let me guess…an order of Copperfield Cinnamon Buns and some Pippi Longstocking Peppermint Hot Chocolate?” My mouth waters at the thought of my usual order.

    “Erm…,” I say wistfully. “Actually, I think I might try something new today.” I scan the menu eagerly. “How about Pride and Prejudice Pineapple Upside Down Cake and the Christmas Carolmel Hot Chocolate?”

    “All right. An order of P&P’s Pineapple Upside Down Cake and a cup ‘o Christmas Carolmel Hot Chocolate coming right up,” Mandy says cheerfully.

    I scan the bakery and go up to my usual seat. The seats are wooden with a plush cushioning that makes it so comfortable to sit in them. There’s also a bookshelf on the side of the chair, and I turn around to see what books are there. I get down on my knees and peer at all of the books. Oliver Twist, Black Beauty, Jane Eyre…my eye catches on that one. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve heard that it’s good. I take the worn book from off the shelf and flip its musty pages open. Inside, Mandy pasted a paper that shows what different goods correspond with the book. Jane Eyre’s Jelly Doughnuts and Jane Eyre’s Java Coffee. Huh. Well I don’t really like jelly doughnuts or coffee, but maybe I’ll like the book. I flip it open and begin reading.

  7. Now that you’re writing, have any of the plot details, or the process itself, turned out different from what you planned or imagined? The process that I’m taking right now is very different from the writing process that I used for my first book. I plotted out my first book in pretty great detail, but I’m giving myself  a lot more freedom with this second book and I’m focusing more on developing the characters. I didn’t think I would take this route, but I have.
  8. Is there a character or aspect of your plot that’s difficult to write? Hope is definitely a very difficult character to write because she can be really sad at times, which is understandable since she was recently orphaned and has to adjust to a new life. At the same time, though, I don’t want her to become the stereotypical mopey orphan girl, so I have to find a balance between contentment and sorrow.
  9. What’s your favorite aspect of this novel so far? Favorite character? My favorite aspect of this novel so far are all of the characters. Right now my favorite character is Hope because she has a really strong spirit, but I suspect that Summer will soon steal my heart with her infectious cheerfulness. I just haven’t been able to introduce Summer yet.
  10. Have you drawn off of any life experiences or people you know to create your novel and your characters? I think all of my writing pieces use aspects of my life experience and people that I know. There are a lot of real-life inspirational aspects that have made their way into my story, so I’ll just explain one: I can see parts of me in my main character because she is very thoughtful.
  11. Do you have a playlist or certain song for your novel and/or characters? As I write, I’ve been listening to Christmas music. Except it doesn’t have anything to do with my novel. DON’T JUDGE. I like Christmas, okay? Maybe I’ll write a Christmas book one day.
  12. Let’s have some fun for a moment: imagine you are somehow transported into your book’s world. Which character are you most likely to be found hanging out with? I would definitely be hanging out with Hope in the Leisurely Reads bakery.
  13. How do you keep yourself motivated to finish your daily wordcount? (Pinterest? Internet breaks? Chocolate?) As I said, I don’t really have a daily wordcount, but when I am writing I motivate myself by taking food breaks (anything works: hot chocolate, cookies, candy, CHOCOLATE), Internet breaks, running breaks and reading breaks. Basically any type of break will work for me.
  14. What your favourite writing quote or piece of writing advice? This is from Nike: Just do it. It’s not actually geared towards writers specifically, but it can be applicable in every area of life. Sitting and pondering over whether you should write something and how you should go about doing it is not going to be helpful. You just have to do it. Get the words down. Just do it.
  15. How does this book make you feel so far? Are you laughing? Crying? Frustrated? I’m kind of crying on the inside because my character is in a really sad situation, but at the same time, she’s a happier character right now than I intended for her to be. She’ll get sadder later on, though. However, even though her mood will be sadder, later in the book there are going to be lots of laughable moments when Summer is introduced. I can’t wait to laugh at my own writing!

How is your writing going? What’s your favorite quote or piece of writing advice? What does your writing process look like?

signature

10 thoughts on “Beautiful Books: In Which You Get to Hear How NaNo Is Treating Me

    1. Thank you!

      NaNoWriMo was going pretty well. Now, though, school is making it very hard to find time to write because my classes are pretty difficult. However, I’m looking forward to a weekend of writing. Thanks for the good luck wishes. Yea, the excerpt made me hungry, too. I’m not sure that it will stay in the final version of the book because it doesn’t do much to advance the plot, but it was just a fun “candy bar” scene for me to write.

      Like

  1. Okay…your book sounds frabjous. I can’t wait to read more snippets (if they’re coming). Your first line is great, Ana, and the whole concept of your novel sounds good. Love the Nike advice, too!

    Like

  2. This sounds like such a cool story! The idea of the booky bakery sounds epic, and I would probably get really fat going there. Nonetheless, I really appreciated the cleverness that went into that scene you shared. Keep writing!

    Like

  3. “How about Pride and Prejudice Pineapple Upside Down Cake and the Christmas Carolmel Hot Chocolate?”

    OH. MY. FUDGE. Is this a book about food?! Because I LOVE FOOD O_O Haha, i really enjoyed reading this post! Sorry school is kicking your butt. Work is kicking mine. e_e All we can do is keep going! Even writing a little each day is better than nothing…
    Good luck with your book! I may see you again at BB#3. (I found this post from the link up.)

    Like

    1. Haha, some of it is about food! 🙂 Because I LOVE FOOD, TOO. Oh, man. Work seems…scary. And yes, a little writing each day is much better than me just saying “Oh, I’m so busy. I can only get in a few words, so I might as well not write at all.”
      Thank you! Good luck with your writing as well. And yes, you shall see me at BB#3.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

