Reading Through the Classics

clock

I enjoy reading classics, and I think reading classics is essential for every writer. While the pace of such books can often be slow, they are still very well written, and there is so much to be learned from these books. That’s why I am challenging myself to read these classics. I’ve read some of these books before, but I’ve also included a lot of books that I have not read before. I also want to post a review for each of these classics.  Now I present to you my list of classics. This will also be posted on a separate page that I’ll update as I read each book.

Written by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women

Written by Jane Austen

Emma

Pride and Prejudice

Persuasion

Sense and Sensibility

Northanger Abbey

Mansfield Park

Written by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre

Written by Emily Bronte

Wuthering Heights

Written by Charles Dickens

A Christmas Carol

A Tale of Two Cities

Barnaby Rudge

Bleak House

David Copperfield

Dombey and Son

Great Expectations

Hard Times

Martin Chuzzlewit

Nicholas Nickleby

The Old Curiostiy Shop

Oliver Twist

The Pickwick Papers

Written by Alexander Dumas

The Count of Monte Cristo

The Three Musketeers

Written by William Golding

Lord of the Flies

Written by Ernest Hemingway

The Old Man and the Sea

The Sun Also Rises

For Whom the Bell Tolls

A Farewell to Arms

Written by Victor Hugo

Les Miserables

The Hunchback of Notre Dame

Written by Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird

Written by C. S. Lewis

Screwtape Letters

The Chronicles of Narnia Series

Written by Margaret Mitchell

Gone With the Wind

Written  by Erica Maria Remarque

All Quiet on the Western Front

Written by William Shakespeare

Hamlet

Romeo and Juliet

Henry V

Midsummer Night’s Dream

Macbeth

Written by John Steinbeck

Of Mice and Men

The Grapes of Wrath

Written by Robert Louis Stevenson

Kidnapped

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Treasure Island

Written by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Hobbit

The Fellowship of the Ring

The Lord of the Rings

The Simarillion

The Two Towers

So I might have gone a little bit crazy with the list, but I tried to be selective with authors who have written many books. Let’s face it, though: I wasn’t going to narrow down Charles Dickens’ and Jane Austen’s books because I love their books way too much. All I know is that this is going to take me a long time, but it will be worth it.

Are there any books on here that you want to read or that you’ve already read? Tell me about them in the comments below!

signature

10 thoughts on “Reading Through the Classics

  1. I’ve read all the books by female authors on your list, and about half of the others.

    While Victor Hugo’s plots are outstanding, I find his writing style hard to swallow – still struggling with those.

    I saw the movie of Lord of the Flies when I was young which put me off wanting to read the book (not a genre I like to read).

    Other than that the only authors I haven’t read enough of are Dickens and Hemingway… I should probably remedy that next year!

    Like

    1. Wow. It’s amazing that you’ve read so many of the books from this list. Good for you!

      Yep, as it often is with classics, the plots are amazing and so satisfyingly complex, but the writing style can be very dense and slow.

      I don’t know much about Lord of the Flies, but I know it’s about survival, so I could see how a movie could put you off. I really enjoy classic books about survival though.

      I’ve read so much of Dickens, but not of Hemingway. An author who critiqued my work told me that I would like Hemingway’s books, and so far, I have liked the one that I have read, The Old Man and the Sea.

      Like

  2. I feel too lazy to do anything anymore. My blog has officially (or unofficially) died, along with any other social networking thing I had. I’m just commenting because you sent me a link to your blog, and the snow (the parts that you can see) is awesome. Oh and because I wanted to comment on some of the books you wrote about.

    Anyway, onto the books. As the Aspiring Scribbler mentioned, the movie Lord of the Flies isn’t good. I disliked the book too actually, but maybe that’s because my class spent over a month discussing it over and over. Ugh. Yes. Well, actually, I think it was okay, albeit a bit sad and violent. There’s no cursing though. The slow descent into savagery is fairly intriguing.

    I have about the same to say about Of Mice and Men as I said about the above. It’s violent too, but there’s a lot more curse words. The characters in the book use the n-word and derogatory female names frequently. Also, the ending is rather sad and there’s a lot of death in it. The plot is rather slow, however, it is a rather short book, so it would be a quick and easy read, and the descriptions of the settings are superb.

    Moving on the J.R.R Tolkien’s novels. I’m currently reading the Lord of the Rings trilogy. At times, it is a little slow, but otherwise it is a very entertaining read. And the Hobbit is absolutely amazing. If you didn’t know already, the third Hobbit movie is coming out December 17th and I am positively excited about it! The first two movies were outstanding, but back to the books: The Hobbit, I find, is a magnificent read. I would recommend reading that before you read the Lord of the Rings, otherwise there will be some stuff you will have difficultly understanding in the Lord of the Rings. All in all, J.R.R Tolkien is bloody brilliant.

    There’s quite a bit more I’d like to comment on (like coughTreasureIslandcough) but I feel like this comment is already far too long so I will not. I apologize for this significantly long comment.

    But more importantly sorry for never checking your (and everyone else’s) blog(s) and for never updating mine.

    Good luck with your reading!

    ~Dreamer
    (I always liked that weird curl squiggle in front of my pen name. Makes me look professional, don’t you think?)

    Like

    1. You’re back! Don’t worry about not blogging or checking our blogs. I know how rough getting adjusted to high school has been for me and I’m sure it’s been busy for you, too.

      I hope The Lord of the Flies is better than it sounds like the movie was. Talking about the same book for one month sounds horrible. What class was it? Was it at the school that you go to now or was it before last year?

      Well I didn’t know Of Mice and Men was like that…I guess I should expect it, though, because it’s one of the more modern classics. I might possibly skimp on that one.

      I love J.R.R. Tolkien. I actually have read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings before, so they’re on my list for a reread. All of those books were amazing, but I really liked The Hobbit more than LOTR. I agree that LOTR can be slow at times, but other than that, is an awesome book. And yes, I did read The Hobbit before I read LOTR because The Hobbit takes place a while before LOTR. That’s why it doesn’t make sense that they made the LOTR movies before The Hobbit movies. Speaking of the movies, I AM SO EXCITED THAT THE BATTLE OF THE FIVE ARMIES IS COMING OUT IN ONE WEEK!!! But at the same time, I’m sad that it’s coming to an end. *cries* J. R. R. Tolkien is bloody brilliant.

      It’s okay, I like long comments. And I like to reply to them with more long comments, even though I feel like I’m writing an essay.

      No worries!

      Thanks!

      I do that too, but only with emails. It does kind of make you look professional.

      Like

  3. Dude that’s a lot of awesome titles! My mum has been complaining that I do not read enough classic novels and too many YA books so I am going to start chowing down on some over the summer holidays this xmas, and this is like the perfect list to refer back too! P&P is sooooo good, and the movie adaptation with Keira Knightly is just O.M.G YAAAAS.

    Thanks for sharing! <33

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yes, my parents do that sometimes, too. I think it’s important to read classics, but it’s also important to have a nice balance between classics and modern books. SUMMER holidays this Christmas?!? That’s strange for me to hear as an American, but it sounds cool. P&P will be a reread for me, and I agree that it was such a great book. I’ve never seen the movie though. *makes a mental note to get the movie*

      Any time!

      Like

  4. I’m echoing Mel’s comment – my mom as well complains that I don’t read enough classics, so this is definitely a fabulous place to start. Thank you for putting this together and sharing it with us! 😀

    Like

  5. I’m glad I’ve read quite a few of these. Although there are still many I hope to read, like Pride And Prejudice (I’ve seen the TV version but not read it yet), all of Tolkien, Lord Of The Flies and that enormous Les Mis book. Now for the ones I’ve read…

    I didn’t like Wuthering Heights one bit. When I got to the end I was fuming. Henry V, I found really boring – but I adored Richard II. Midsummer’s Night Dream is another one I’d happily never read again. To Kill A Mockingbird was a great book, but too sad for me to read again. The Chronicles Of Narnia!! I still have my copies. I loved those when I was a kid. Jekyll and Hyde was a great read. I really enjoyed that one.

    This was a great post! I actually came over to say I nominated you for the Sisterhood Of The World blogger award – for obvious reasons, your blog is great – but ended up getting sidetracked. Again…

    Like

    1. You should definitely read Pride and Prejudice, The Hobbit and LOTR. They are all amazing books, and they all make it to my favorite books list.

      Hmmm….I guess I’ll have to read Wuthering Heights to see whether I’ll be fuming over it as well. I watched the movie for Henry V before, and it was good, but I haven’t read the book yet. I’m glad to see that you liked Richard II and Midsummer Night’s Dream. TKAM is my favorite book! I could reread it over and over again forever. I could read The Chronicles of Narnia over and over again, too. Yep, I’ve heard good things about Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

      Thanks for nominating me and for commenting!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

