‘Bout This Blogger

Cait @ Paper Fury recently switched from the name Notebook Sisters to Paper Fury. I’m celebrating with this tag.

‘BOUT THIS BLOGGER

1. Why did you start blogging? I started blogging because I thought it would be so cool to be able to share my writing with people all over the world on my own web site. It just seemed like a really enjoyable hobby, and it has turned out to be so much fun.
2. What’s the story behind your blog’s name? It’s a metaphor. Haha, see what I did there? And I haven’t even read TFiOS…Anyways, the metaphor is that my imagination is wild and free, just like butterflies.
3. How many designs have you been through since you started blogging? (Pictures! We demand pictures!) Well, before I changed to my current design, my blog header looked like this:

cropped-cropped-blog-header2.png

Now, it looks like this:

blogheadersoftenedtagline

And I’m sure that it will go through many more designs to come.
4. Have you ever switched blog platforms? What made you move? If you haven’t ever changed…why? I started out blogging on Weebly, but I soon moved to WordPress. I think Weebly is wonderful for making just general websites, but WordPress offers so much more specifically for bloggers. I love my notification dashboard, the ability to schedule posts, and the way that WordPress introduces new blogs to me in my dashboard. That also means that it is so much easier for people to discovery my blog. I do kind of miss the freedom with design that I had with Weebly, though. WordPress is a little bit more restrictive in that are if you’re not self-hosted.
5. How long does it take you to write a post? What’s your postly process like? It really depends on what kind of post it is. Book reviews take about 15 minutes to write whereas more lengthy, in-depth discussion posts can take 3o minutes to one hour to write. My postly process is pretty simple. I get an idea and store it away on my long list of blog post ideas. Then, I’ll choose one of the ideas from the list to write about, go crazy writing a post, and then edit it. I might publish the post right away or write several posts at one time and schedule them to go up gradually.
6. Have you ever been super nervous about a post? Why?! What was it? I don’t think I’ve ever been super nervous about a post because I tend to stay away from controversial posts. I might be a teensy bit nervous about an upcoming post, that I don’t even know if I’ll post yet. It’s nothing controversial, though. It’s just stuff that involves platform and stuff. Just stuff. I know, I know. Very specific.
7. Do you have a blogging schedule? Um, when high school and cross country started, my schedule exploded and became a mess. Now since I have a lot more free time, I plan to be a little bit more organized with my blogging schedule.
8. Do you tell people In-Real-Life about your blog? Their reactions? Yep. I have some IRL blogger buddies and we all think blogging is cool, so their reactions are positive. I’ve also told my parents about my blog just so I could get permission, and they were fine with it, especially since I had made websites before. Not blogs, though.
9. Top ten blogs you read/comment on the most! Go! Go! Oh…this is hard. In no particular order, here hey are.

Cait @ Paper Fury

Katie @ A Writer’s Faith

Samantha @ Bookish Serendipity

Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer

Athelas @ Red Lettering

Stephanie, Shannon and Jill @ Go Teen Writers

Emily @ For the Bookish

Emily @ The Loony Teen Writer

Alex and Brett @ The Rebelution

and… all my IRL friends, who don’t post as much as the aforementioned blogs, but I love their blogs anyway. Therefore, I’m going to squish them all into one line: Iris @ Purple Lambs Will Fly, Adele @ Howling Evanescence, and Adonia @ The Stone Table.

10. If you could change/improve things about your blog, what would they be? I really want to get better at photography. Right now, I’m not working off of a fancy camera because I just have an iPad, but I still think that there is a lot of room for improvement. I would also like to be more consistent with my schedule. And it might be nice to get more involved with ARCs and critique groups and Etsy shops and blog design AND JUST EVERYTHING, OKAY. Ahem.

Why did you start blogging?

signature

17 thoughts on “‘Bout This Blogger

    1. I’m so glad you like the new header. Yea, it is pretty cool that I have three IRL blogger friends. I started blogging and then we all decided to be blogging buddies. It’s pretty fun, and it makes it so that it’s not awkward for me to talk about my blog and be met with blank stares. Reader friends are good, too, though.

      Like

  1. I love hearing blogging stories like this; I really enjoyed reading yours. And I was pleasantly surprised to see how many of the blogs I recognized, so that was cool. 🙂

    Like

  2. Your new header is AMAZING. I love it. x) And I adore hearing the behind-the-scenes about your blog too. Ahh, schedules. pfft. They’re hard. xD And that’s awesome that your IRL friends know and like your blog! YAY. I think I’ve only had one IRL friend who ever even looked at it but I think she didn’t like it because she never really brought it up again. lol XD My bad!
    Thanks for joining in, Ana!! YOU ARE FABULOUS AND DESERVE CAKE BUT I KINDA OF ATE IT ALL. *showers you with crumbs*

    Like

    1. Thank you! Schedules are hard. You have to constantly be maintaining the schedule or else everything just crumbles. It’s a lot like NaNoWriMo in that sense. Aw, man. Too bad your friend never mentioned it again. My friends and I actually talk about our blogs pretty frequently, which is cool.

      Yay! Thanks for hosting the linkup! *cries that all the cake is gone while simultaneously devouring the crumbs*

      Like

  3. love your new header!!! you are so talented =D YES TO METAPHORS.

    you know, i really admire people who can blog and write reviews in the matter of minutes. i take a long time to collect myself and put my thoughts into a coherent string of words. especially for a book i ADORED, no matter what i say, my review just doesn’t do the book justice! i’d love to improve on photography too because pretty photos are pretty hehe =) all the best to you!!!

    alicia @ noverly things

    Like

    1. Thank you!

      I usually collect myself while I’m reading so that when it comes time to write a review, I can just write it all down really quickly. That only works when I’m completely focused while writing the review. If I’m getting distracted by reading other blogs, then it takes a much longer time. I feel that way, too. It’s like I can never truly express how much I love my favorite books. Photos are pretty. I devour them. Thanks! The best to you too!

      Like

  4. I think I’ve said this before, but I love love love love love love love the new header. ❤ It's really wonderful. If you don't mind me asking — how did you make it?? I'm pretty awful at design-y sort of things, hehe, though I would love to improve. Next year I actually plan to shake my blog up a little. 🙂 I agree that WordPress is quite restrictive, and I ideally I would love to be self-hosted… but that sounds complicated aha. xD Great post. 😀

    Like

  5. Thank you! I can’t wait to see how you shake your blog up. I would love to be self-hosted as well, because there are more design options and being self-hosted is just…well, cool. Then again, it does sound complicated, and it costs money, and I’m not really sure that I want to spend money on blogging just yet.

    Making the header was actually pretty simple. First, I downloaded the second to last watercolor brush stroke from this (http://www.astridmueller.com/blog/en/free-downloadable-watercolor-brush-strokes) page. Then, I resized it and played around with the contrast, exposure, brightness, etc. settings in PicMonkey to make the colors a little bit more vivid so that my white blog title would show up. Then, I added some white text over the image for my blog title. I also picked a minimalist theme, Sketch, that allowed me to customize the header. Then, I just uploaded the image to my header. I hope that helped!

    Like

  6. I’ve only ever been on your blog for so long to have only seen your current look and I do love it! Your blog name is pretty smart and cute too, Ana 😀 Wow you’re a really fast reviewer! I take FOREVER to write up a review–not sure if it’s because I’m incredible slow and a fail at touch typing or if I just procrastinate too much ehehe.

    Like

  7. I love the why did you start question. I wish I could afford to be self hosted. Wow, I wish I could write a post so quickly. It takes me 10-15 minutes just to edit a post. Good luck improving your photography. My advice, just take photos of things to practice. 🙂

    Like

  8. I too need to get more consistent with my posts. I’ve been looking at some other blogs in Cait’s awesome link-up and I see other people struggle with this too. XD I’ve found scheduling helps … but you have to actually write the post to schedule. XD Good luck with you blog! 🙂

    Stori Tori’s Blog

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

