Recipe: Peppermint Hot Chocolate Oatmeal

Life has been pretty interesting recently. For one thing, I just went to my cross country banquet and I was awarded Rookie of the Year. Yay! I also got this spam message:

“I have received a cybermonday coupon to send you. I provide a mother in law 50% discount. If you preserve her foreverandever, I’ll offer her to you free of charge”

Okayyy, then…Yea, I don’t think I want your mother in law. But that’s besides the point. Today, I have for you something new on the blog, a recipe.

hotcocoaoatmealrecipe

Three of my favorite flavors are oatmeal, hot chocolate and peppermint. I don’t think I could live without them. And since it is now both cold and their is Christmas in the air, I have been consuming copious amounts of these foods. All, too soon, I began to think, and I thought, “What if I mixed my love for these three flavors?” Thus, Peppermint Hot Chocolate Oatmeal was born. It was inevitable, guys.

I experimented a little bit, learned how to use a stove (seriously, I’ve never actually made something on the stove at home by myself, so it’s about time) and came up with a delicious recipe that I know I will be making over and over again from now on. This is the perfect combination of creamy, chocolatey, oatmealy goodness with a dash of peppermint mixed in.

The Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 packet of hot chocolate mix
  • chocolate syrup
  • white chocolate chips
  • peppermint sprinkles
  • a dash of salt

ingredients

The Steps

  1. Pour 1 cup of milk and a dash of salt into a small saucepan and bring it to a boil.
  2. Once the milk is boiling and starts to look foamy, add in 1/2 cup old fashioned oats.
  3. Cook over medium heat for five minutes or until the mixture reaches the desired consistency. Stir occasionally to keep the milk from burning.
  4. One minute before the oatmeal is done cooking, gradually pour in a packet of hot chocolate mix and stir thoroughly.
  5. When the oatmeal is done cooking, remove it from the stove and taste it, adding chocolate syrup for more flavor as desired.
  6. When the flavor is as desired, drizzle the oatmeal with chocolate syrup and sprinkle white chocolate chips and peppermint sprinkles on top.
  7. Serve right away, and enjoy!

hotcocoaoatmealclose

What’s your favorite flavor of oatmeal, or what are your favorite oatmeal toppings? Have you ever used a stove by yourself before? What did you cook? Oh, and I hope you guys try this recipe. If so, please tell me how it goes.

And I’m not really much of a vegetarian or vegan, but hey, this recipe is still meatless, so I’m linking up with Meatless Monday, hosted by Tina Muir and Confessions of a Mother Runner.

Meatless Monday

signature

23 thoughts on “Recipe: Peppermint Hot Chocolate Oatmeal

  1. ANNNNAAAA YOOOUUU’RREEEE MAAAAKKINNG MEEE HUNGRRYYY. *ahem* Seriously though, this looks delicious. Peppermint is awesome and while oatmeal isn’t my thing, I do want to try this now!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

