Beautiful Books Linkup #3: Editing

Today I’m linking up with Cait @ Paper Fury and Sky @ Further Up and Further In to talk about editing my first novel ever, Illusions.

1. On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best) how well do you think this book turned out? Umm…hehe. Well, this was my first novel ever, and I started it two years ago, so I can already see that the second half is way better than the first half. I’d say that overall it turned out be a 4. That’s what editing’s for, though, right?
2. Have you ever rewritten or editing one of your books before? If so, what do you do to prepare yourself? If not, what’s your plan? Nope, I’ve never edited or rewritten any of my books, and I’ve only written one and a half books so far. It’s been so overwhelming just thinking about editing my first book. However, with the help of a few of my writerly friends, I hope to finish the second draft of my book this January. My plan is to do a read through just to get an overall sense of my story, and then solidify the outline. Then, I want to do an intensive first draft where I restructure all of the scenes. Finally, I’ll do a third draft of line editing and tweaking.
3. What’s your final wordcount? Do you plan to lengthen or trim your book? My final wordcount is about 51k. I’m actually not sure whether I want to lengthen or my trim my book, so I guess it all depends on what’s needed when I read it over.
4. What are you most proud of? Plot, characters, or pacing? I think I’m most proud of the plot. I like the way it twists and turns, and it’s one of the most complex plots I’ve created because it was the first one I used that could sustain the length of a book.
5. What’s your favourite bit of prose or line from this novel? I really don’t have a favorite bit of prose or line right now because I haven’t looked at this draft in a while. I might share some snippets with you during the editing process when I can refine my lines a little bit.
6. What aspect of your book needs the most work? The characters. I think over the course of the year that I was writing my book the characters changed a lot and they need to have more solid personalities, as well as fresher dialogue.
7. What aspect of your book is your favourite? Didn’t I answer this already? 🙂 The structure of my plot.
8. How are your characters? Well-rounded, or do they still need to be fleshed-out? I think a lot of my characters needed to be fleshed out much more. My main character is pretty fleshed out already, but like I said before, through writing the story, her personality has changed a lot, so I have to fix those inconsistencies. In writing this book, I tried to fit way too many personality traits in my characters when I should have picked wisely and focused on just a few traits. I also need a lot of work with fleshing out my minor characters.

AND I REALLY NEED TO CHANGE SOME OF THEIR NAMES. Seriously, my main character’s name is Twig! That might have been a cute, nice name a few years ago, but now I can see that there is no real reason behind the weird name. Also, I really can’t have my Loki warriors be Loki warriors anymore. At the time that I came up with the name, I didn’t know who the Marvel Loki was. I had just looked up names that meant evil.
9. If you had to do it over again, what would you change about the whole process? I would focus a lot more on my characters. The characters are the most important part of a story because their actions are what drive the plot. If in writing my future novels I focus more on completely developing my characters before writing, I know figuring out the plot and the drafting process itself will be much easier.
10. Did anything happen in your book that completely surprised you? Have any scenes or characters turned out differently to what you planned? Good or bad? Oh, there were so many twists in the plot that completely surprised me. As I was writing, I barely stuck to my outline and I chased all the rabbit trails. That’s a good thing because I hope the twists will also be surprising for the reader.
11. What was the theme and message? Do you think it came across? If not, is there anything you could do to bring it out more? Theme…message…Ehehehe…I’m not exactly sure yet, and I don’t think it completely came across in my first draft. It’s probably something around the lines of my how important loyalty and persistence are.
12. Do you like writing with a deadline (like NaNoWriMo) or do you prefer to write-as-it-comes? I love writing with deadlines like NaNoWriMo and mini deadlines like word wars because they are so motivating and help me to actually get some writing done instead of just reading or thinking about writing.
13. Comparative title time! What published books, movies, or TV shows are like your book? (Ex: Inkheart meets X-Men, etc.) Let’s see. How about Star Wars meets Nancy Drew-ish. I haven’t really thought much about this yet because I know how much my story will change during editing.
14. How do you celebrate a finished novel?! I celebrate by writing “The End” in huge, bold letters, just being proud of myself, and eating chocolate. I’ll be honest about the last one in that I eat a ton of chocolate even when I haven’t just finished a novel. After all that celebrating is done, I get cracking on my next book or short story or poem or article.
15. When people are done reading your book, what feeling do you want them to come away with? I want the ending to resonate with my readers. I also would like them to reread the book over and over again because when I was little I just reread my favorite books over and over, and this book is aimed towards kids.

6 thoughts on “Beautiful Books Linkup #3: Editing

  1. This sounds like you know what you’re doing, at least. 🙂 Good luck editing! First novels are really hard to get through (not sure if I ever want to read mine again…) so I’m impressed you’re entering the fray. 🙂 It’ll be awesome when it turns out better, I’m sure.

    Like

    1. Hehe…I wouldn’t say that I really know what I’m doing since this is my first time, but I have a plan. We’ll see how it goes…

      Thanks!

      First novels are very hard to get through, and it’s taken me a long time to muster up the courage to enter the fray of editing. I kind of don’t want to read it because I know it’s going to be a mess, but I hope that it’s better than I thought because that happens to me a lot with my writing.

      Like

  2. Oh, yes. After completing a novel, celebratory chocolate is mandatory. Absolutely mandatory. Awesome post! I completely forgot about this linkup, but I’m definitely going to be joining in as soon as I possibly can, as it might help me to flesh out some thing in my novel, you know? Editing is hard, but it’s completely worth it! Good luck. 🙂

    Also? I kinda think the name Twig is adorable.

    Like

    1. You know what? Celebratory chocolate is mandatory everyday. Who cares about waiting to finish a novel? When you finish a novel, you just have more celebratory chocolate. 🙂

      Thank you! And yes, these beautiful books and beautiful people linkups always help me to flesh out my novel a little bit more. Ugh. Editing does seem hard, but I agree that it will be worth it once my manuscript starts seeming like an actual, cohesive book.

      Aw, thanks.

      Like

  3. Dude, first novels are HARD. I love the Star Wars/Nancy Drew description though, hehe 😉 Space-themed detective story? Um, yes please!

    Also, I wouldn’t be too worried about your characters. During the second draft of Frozen Hearts, I turned what had been the main antagonist into a weird protagonist/antagonist mix thing (yeah, I don’t even know what that is, but hey, labels are boring!) and wrote in three new antagonists. So… you’re not alone in needed to restructure yours! 😉

    Side note: if you do decide to post snippets, I can’t WAIT to read them.

    Like

    1. Yes, first novels are really difficult, and-at least in my case-take a long time. Ooh, I’m glad you like my comparative title mish-mash.

      You don’t know how encouraging it is to hear that another writer has problems with restructuring characters as well. I’ve actually been reading a ton of posts about editing and realized that the full extent of the wreck of my story is normal. I knew that my story would need revising, but I never expected that it would need this much revising.

      Yay! I might post snippets once my prose is more refined.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

