2014 Book Blog Reflections Link-Up

refle

Today I’m linking to the 2014 Book Blog Reflections Link-Up, which is hosted by one of my favorite bloggers, Samantha @ Bookish Serendipity. I give you permission to go check her blog out. I’ll wait.

  1. How do you think your blog has developed over the year? (content, views, opinions, etc) I’m pretty happy with how my blog has progressed and developed since I first started blogging in April. I have now have over 100 followers, have had some great discussions in the comments section of my blog, have met so many writers and bloggers like me, have learned so much, and have generally just had a lot of fun.
  2. In your opinion, what is the best part of blogging? I love seeing comments because it just confirms to me that people actually read my posts, and I love that I’m able to publish pieces that people can instantly read.
  3. How did you start blogging? Before I even knew what blogs were, I stumbled upon the Go Teen Writers blog. I absolutely loved the blog and from there I was able to discover so many other blogs. One blog led to the next and I soon realized that could start a blog. I thought it would be a lot of fun, so after much inner debate, I took the plunge and started my own blog.
  4. Do you have any role models? Favorite blogs? Three of my blogging role models are Stephanie Morrill, Jill Williamson, and Shannon Dittemore @ Go Teen Writers. They are three Christian authors that have amazing advice for teen writers and are sweet enough to spend time encouraging teens that visit their site and answering their questions.
  5. Name a few of your favorite 2014 releases? I have not read many 2014 releases this year, but my favorites out of the ones that I read were Cress by Marissa Meyer, Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen, Bird by Crystal Chan, Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman, We Were Liars by E. Lockhart, Ada’s Algorithm by James Essinger, and The Time of the Fireflies by Kimberley Griffiths Little. I think I just named all of the 2014 releases I read. Oops 🙂
  6. What’s your advice to new bloggers? Just do it. If you are thinking about starting a blog, just plunge right in. Don’t spend so much time planning your blog or you’ll never get started. Also, if you want to grow an audience you must get out there and regularly comment on other blogs. Other bloggers will not magically find you, so you really have to start commenting on their blogs first. Trust me. You’ll have tons of fun because most bloggers are really nice.
  7. Name a few of your all-time favorite reads? Oh, this is a cruel question. I could probably get really out of control with this question, so I’ll limit myself to four books series. The Little House on the Prairie Series by Laura Ingalls Wilder, The Hobbit/LOTR by J.R.R. Tolkien, The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.
  8. Do you have any New Year’s resolutions? What are some of your goals for the upcoming year? I do have quite a few New Year’s resolutions, but I’ll just talk about my blogging “resolutions”, or more like what you can expect in the coming year for my blog.

~Blog on a more consistent schedule and schedule posts ahead of time more often.

~Start a new feature. (I’m really excited for this feature, and I hope you’ll like it. You’ll hear more about it later, but for now, it shall be secret.)

~Open some sort of design business or Etsy shop.

~Celebrate my second blogoversary.

~Start reviewing ARCs. (I’m not quite sure about this one yet.)

And probably some other goals that will pop up throughout the year…

Now I want to know what your favorite 2014 releases were and what your blogging goals are for this year.

signature

13 thoughts on “2014 Book Blog Reflections Link-Up

  1. Wow, it’s wonderful to hear that you’ve enjoyed so many books this year! You were actually one of the first blogs I ever read! 🙂
    Blogging goals? Umm… Do something cool? Comment more? Spend less time reading other peoples posts and more time writing my own? I don’t know. We shall cross that hurdle when we come to it!
    I liked Ghosts of Heaven and Knightly and Son. I don’t really remember any others.
    I’m sure that whatever the new feature is, it’ll be awesome. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yea, I’ve read and reread a bunch of amazing books this year. Aw, I’m honored that I was one of the first blogs that you ever read.

      I need to comment more and spend time writing my own posts, too. Except that the first part of that sentence totally contradicts the latter because to comment more you also have to read more posts. Ah, the paradoxes of blogging.

      Hmm…I’ll have to look up those books on Goodreads.

      I really hope you like it as much as I do. I’m kind of nervous about it…And it’ll take a lot of work and planning.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. *throws cake* It’s a PAARTTT-AAYY! Whoa, thanks for participating! I love all your responses, and I definitely admire the GTW blog as well. I’ve been meaning to read Bird by Crystal Chan for ages, so I should definitely get around to that. Lovely post!

    Like

    1. *catches cake and eats it* YAY! I like parties. Nice parties, like blog parties. I’m not a “highschool” partyer, haha.

      GTW is amazing. I don’t just admire it-it’s also really helpful.

      You must read Bird. It is an amazing MG book and it focuses a lot on family, which I don’t see that often in books.

      Like

    1. I would love to see your responses if you did the linkup. I hope you guys like the new feature. I’m kind of nervous because it’s going to be a lot of work and while it’s kind of bookish, it also combines another thing…I won’t say too much because I want it to be a surprise, but yea…GTW is an amazing blog! I would not be the writer I am today if it was not for that blog, and I definitely would never have finished writing a book.

      Like

  3. OOH A NEW FEATURE!
    *rubs hands together*
    I’m exciteddd. 😀

    Let’s see… my blogging goals for next year? Hm, obviously publishing Frozen Hearts and publicising it on the blog is a big one. I’d love to start posting more about music, since I’ve been slightly neglecting that (but I think that one will be easy, actually!). And of course, just get used to the new feel + design of the blog and use the new categories that I’ve created!

    Like

    1. I hope you like the new feature! It will probably be a while until it releases, but I’m excited for it!

      Oh, yea. Publishing and marketing a book is definitely a huge goal and lots of work, so good luck with that. Hmmm…music…interesting. And yay, I’m so excited to read all of the posts that you write for the new categories on your blog.

      Like

  4. Oooh! Cress made it onto here! YAY ^^ Chronicles of Narnia will always hold a special place in my heart too!

    I’ll have to get to To Kill a Mockingbird very soon. Everyone loves it, and it has positive reviews everywhere. Besides, it takes the cake for intriguing title. Hmm, my blogging goals? Try to schedule posts properly, instead of just randomly posting, lol.

    Like

    1. I feel like I put the same books on every book list that I write on this blog. My favorites like The Lunar Chronicles and The Chronicles of Narnia just keep on popping up again and again.

      YES, you have to read TKAM. It’s my favorite book, and one that I could reread over and over again. I’ve read it two times and I think I’ll soon give it another reread. I have to schedule more posts, too. It’s too stressful and chaotic trying to post randomly.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

