Monday’s Minute Challenge

Today I am participating in Monday’s Minute Challenge, hosted by Tessa Emily Hall @ Christ is Write. I think the deadline is tomorrow, but it might have been last Thursday. I’m not sure, but I’m going to post this anyway, If I missed the deadline, oh well. At least it was a good writing exercise.

I used the object prompt and my piece is 295 words

Sophie stared up at the ceiling, wishing that she were home for Christmas. It was quiet in the building and all that could be heard was the slow breathing coming from the other women and girls around her. She got up, unable to sleep, and jumped down from her cot like a cat, silent and agile. She scurried over to the front of the building near the door where she usually went when she couldn’t sleep at night.

Sophie peered into the night, and saw a figure silhouetted against the backdrop of stars and snowflakes. She gasped, and, holding her breath, tip-toed to the figure. The figure turned around and stared at her. Sophie jumped, letting out a squeak. It was the new woman that had been thrown into the concentration camp today, another member of the resistance named Alice. Relieved, Sophie sat down by Alice. Together they gazed at the snowflakes falling through the air.Β It looked as if the snowflakes were about to drop right into the capture of the barbed wire in the distance, but instead, they floated free, unlike Sophie and the other women in the camp. Sophie marveled at these snowflakes and grinned. If they could escape the thorny fingers of the barbed wire, then so could the women. It was a gift on this Christmas away from home.

After a long period of silence, Alice spoke. “You housed the Goldstines, didn’t you?” she whispered. Sophie turned toward Alice with wide eyes, remembering the little Goldstine toddlers and their ever cheery smiles.

“Yes. Did something…happen to them?”

“No. They’re safe. Forever.” said the woman. Sophie breathed a sigh of relief. Another gift on this Christmas away from home. She smiled, and nodding, went back to bed and slept peacefully.

signature

22 thoughts on “Monday’s Minute Challenge

  1. Oh, I LOVE this! I really need to check out the Monday Minute challenge. I’ve heard great things about the author’s book, Purple Moon. Your piece is lovely. My favorite line is the one about the snowflakes: “If they could escape the thorny fingers of the barbed wire, then so could the women.” It’s really descriptive and awesome.

    Like

  2. Wow, I love this excerpt. I haven’t heard of Monday’s Minute Challenge but I’ll definitely look it up. You wrote beautifully πŸ™‚ The concentration camps hint that it’s from Hitler’s times? Hehe.

    Like

  3. This is really quite incredible! I’ve never heard of this challenge before, but I really like it. Flash fiction is always quite interesting, and rather challenging at times. You managed to tell a small part of a much larger story in just under 300 words.

    A great post!

    Like

  4. AHH ANA I LOVE IT. Even if it was really short πŸ˜› I love reading other’s people’s works. Can you continue the story? haha. ❀ But realy, great job! I had no idea you write. I love writing as well, but I always get writer's block, which makes me leave my stories unfinished for months now. (*cough* years actually.)

    Like

    1. Thanks! Usually, I like to write longer works like short stories and novels, but there was a word limit, so I had to make it short. I might actually continue it because I have a historical fiction mystery novel idea that kind of ties into this story. I have so many unfinished stories. You don’t even know. It took me like two years of writing different versions of the same story before I finally finished my first novel. Just keep going, and eventually you’ll find that it’s easier for you to finish stories. You can do it! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Wow, you have great descriptors! I could practically see through Sophie’s eyes, so was this something you made up on the spot or is this based off of something?

    Like

    1. Thanks! I made the story up on the spot, but there was a prompt (which incidentally, I created and my prompt was chosen for this contest) that required you include these three objects in the story: star, snowflake, barbed wire. I guess I also learned how to describe some of the historical things just by what I absorb when I read because I love reading historical fiction.

      Like

      1. You’re welcome! πŸ™‚ Hahaha, I guess you were prepared then πŸ˜› I’s natural to absorb things when reading but I’m not a big fan of history, or at least in a classroom, I can read historical fiction but you’re more absorbed in the story than the politics and mannerisms of the culture of the time. I guess you don’t really need to know all that but it’s strange because we’re not from that time period, I guess.

        Like

        1. I’m not a fan of the class history either. I think history class would be so much better if I could just learn about history by reading historical fiction about that time. It is a little bit strange reading historical fiction because it’s from different time, but that also makes it so much more interesting.

          Like

          1. In all honesty I learn more from reading a well researched book than I do in history class. It’s just not interesting enough to keep my attention so I’m just mentally re-reading a book again. It is interesting because everything was so much different back then. It would be eye-opening to go back and live in different time periods.

            Like

  6. Lovely post, Ana. I absolutely love the line “the thorny fingers of the barbed wire” – such a great image!

    If I may offer some slight feedback, though – I found Sophie’s actions to be slightly over-exaggerated (i.e. “jumped down like a cat”, “scurried over to the front door”, “letting out a squeak”). It would be interesting to see if you could tone it down just the slightest bit and focus more on the characters’ emotions + motives + reasons for doing the actions. That might let the reader forge a stronger connection with the story. πŸ™‚

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

