Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Novels For 2015

1f54f-toptentuesday

 

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their Top Ten Tuesday meme. I’m changing the prompt a little, though, because I don’t think I know of enough debut novels for 2015. Instead, I’ll just be focusing on 2015 releases.

          

1) Black Dove White Raven by Elizabeth Wein: I’ve read Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire, both by Elizabeth Wein, and they were fantastic historical fiction novels. The stories and the characters became so real in my mind, and I’m sure it will be the same with with Black Dove White Raven. Besides, who can resist that title?

2) Frozen Hearts by Topaz Winters: This self-published book will be released soon. While many people can be dubious of the quality of a self-published book, I know that this book will be good because the writing that Topaz Winters posts on her blog is so lyrical and skillful. If you need convincing, just read her latest poem.

3) Fairest by Marissa Meyer: This book tells the back story of Levana, the nefarious villain in The Lunar Chronicles. While I’m sad that it pushed back the release date of Winter, I’m still really excited for it.

          

4) Winter by Marissa Meyer: This is the finale of The Lunar Chronicles. I’m so excited! I can’t wait to be immersed in Marissa Meyer’s intriguing sci-fi world once more. Too bad I have to wait until November.

5) Draven’s Light by Anne Elisabeth Stengl: Recently, I read Heartless, and I can say that it is one of the best books I’ve read. With its multi-dimensional characters, twisting plot, and inherent themes, it’s convinced me that some modern fantasy books are worth reading. This novella continues the Tales of Goldstone Wood. There isn’t a cover yet, but I’m actually participating in the cover reveal this January. Exciting!

6) Poison Crown by Anne Elisabeth Stengl: Once again, this book continues the Tales of Goldstone Wood series. It will also be the last book in the series for a while, as Anne Elisabeth Stengl is taking on a new series this year. Another thing that I love about her books is that she uses the omniscient narrative so skillfully, and I’m sure that Poison Crown will not disappoint.

          

7) Listen, Slowly by Thanha Lai: I loved reading Inside Out and Back Again, also by Thanha Lai. It was a beautiful historical fiction story told in verse. Listen, Slowly also has elements of history in it as well.

8) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: A Court of Thorns and Roses is a fairytale retelling! Need I say more? I think not. It’s also written by Sarah J. Mass, an author of which I’ve heard great things.

9) Five Enchanted Roses by (Authors Unknown As of Now): Five Enchanted Roses will be a collection of five different fairytale retellings of the Beauty and the Beast, all by different authors, and, judging by the last collection from Rooglewood Press, all different genres. The authors are not known yet because it’s actually a contest and the judging is going on right now. I wasn’t able to enter the contest, but I’m excited to see who wins.

10) And now, I’ll leave the tenth book to you. What book (or books, because we’re all indecisive here) are you most anticipating in 2015?

signature

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Novels For 2015

  1. Oh my gosh I cannot wait for Fairest either! MY BODY IS READY. If I had to choose one more book to add, it would have to be the first book of the Magnus Chase series by Rick Riordan. I am in love with the Percy Jackson series and I have high hopes for his upcoming one!

    Lovely list there, Ana <33

    Like

  2. Yes and Yes to the Marissa Meyer books—I’m so curious to see how the story ends! :O But I love that that is coming, and I eagerly await a new Leigh Bardugo book coming. You’ve also intrigued me with Topaz Winters’ blog: I’ll have to check it out!

    Like

    1. The Marissa Meyer books are definitely at the top of my list, and I can’t wait to see how the series ends, either. I might have to reread the books again, though, because I forgot a lot. I’ve never read a Leigh Bardugo book, but I’ve heard a lot of wonderful things about her writing. You really should check out Topaz’s blog. It’s pretty awesome.

      Like

  3. FAIREST AND WINTER. Oh goodness. I’m so hyper about that. I’ve been anticipating Golden Son by Pierce Brown (which I have beside me as I speak, actually, SQUEE!) and Firefight by Brandon Sanderson.

    Like

    1. I’m so hyper about Fairest and Winter, too! I really want to read Red Rising, and if I like that I’ll probably read Golden Son too. I’ve never heard of Firefight, but I really want to read some of Brandon Sanderson’s books this year. Even though a ton of them are really really long.

      Like

  4. I hadn’t heard of Frozen Hearts before, I’m not much of a lyrical person though. Yes to Fairest and Winter! I need them now! I think A Court of Thorns and Roses is going to be great too. I mean beast as a fairy, that just sounds so cool!

    I think the book I’m most looking forward to is Winter, but I’m pretty excited for the new Magnus Chase series by Rick Riordan too and Lady Midnight by Clare and the new Generation V novel. Okay I can’t just pick one.

    Like

    1. I love lyrical writing, but each to his own I suppose. I needed Fairest and Winter a long time ago! Yep, ACOTAR seems like it will be pretty awesome, especially because it’s a) a fairytale retelling, and b) written by Sarah J. Maas.

      Hmmm…I’ve never read any of Rick Riordan’s books, and I’ve never heard of the other books you mentioned, but I can totally relate to not being able to pick just one book for any question.

      Like

  5. Number one on my list is Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke. I’m aching for that book. After reading Throne of Glass recently, I’m really excited for A Court of Thorns and Roses too. It’s going to be an incredibly year in YA if the early titles being released are any indication.

    Thanks for sharing Ana ❤

    Like

    1. *facepalm**facepalm again**facepalm a million times over* HOW DID I FORGET CONSPIRACY OF BLOOD AND SMOKE?!? I’m so excited for that as well. I read Prisoner of Night and Fog and it was a really good book. If I’m being honest here, I love just about any historical fiction book, but still. It is going to be an incredible year for YA!

      Like

  6. Yes to the Goldstone Wood books and the Fairy Tale Retellings! (I shall have to enter one of the contests one of these years).

    A book I’m highly looking foreward to is KING’S SCROLLS by Jaye L. Knight, the second book of her Ilyon Chronicles. It’s a series I highly recommend. Christian fantasy with a slight air of historical. No magic, if that’s something that bothers you, but amazing world building.

    Like

    1. I really want to enter the Fairy Tale Retelling contest next year. Ooh, I’ve heard of the Ilyon Chronicles and I really want to read them. I’m looking for some Christian fantasy books to read this year since I want to read more fantasy, and the Ilyon Chronicles seems perfect.

      Like

      1. I also highly recommended the Makilien trilogy she wrote under her other pen name: Molly Evangeline.

        I actually meant to enter both last year and this year. However, my Cinderella wasn’t done in time, and I was uninspired by B&B. It’s a lovely tale, but I just couldn’t find a unique way to twist it that I was actually inspired to write. But whatever they come up with this year, I shall find a way, a distinctly Kendra way of retelling it.

        Like

  7. I too am very excited for A Court of Thorns and Roses. I would say Sarah J Maas is one of my top five favorite authors right now! If you haven’t read any of her other work (and you don’t mind dark characters) you should check out her novel Throne of Glass. Also, the cover for Listen, Slowly is beautiful!
    Thank you for commenting on Inklined!

    ~Sarah Faulkner

    Like

    1. I wouldn’t say that I particularly enjoy dark characters, but there are always exceptions to my reading preferences, and if a book is good enough, it makes up for the elements I might not usually like. I know, I just love the cover of Listen, Slowly. It has a similar style to the cover of Inside Out and Back Again, which is also gorgeous.

      Like

  8. I’m super excited for Fairest and Winter, especially that my sister has now gotten obsessively into the Lunar Chronicles, so I have a book discussion buddy!

    I’ve only read Code Name Verity out of Elizabeth Wein’s books, but I do own Rose Under Fire and it stares at me invitingly every time I sit down at my desk. Black Dove White Raven sounds spectacular and yes, the title is super intriguing!

    Like

    1. I can’t wait for Fairest and Winter, either. Book discussion buddies are the best. Luckily I have a couple of friends who love The Lunar Chronicles, so we have lots of bookish discussions.

      Why haven’t you read Rose Under Fire yet?!? I found it even better than Code Name Verity. The details in Code Name Verity are so real, but the details in Rose Under Fire are even more real, and I didn’t know that was possible.

      Like

  9. I am so excited for Winter & Fairest too Ana! 😀 Marissa Meyer is an absolute expert at binding science fiction with fairytales and I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!

    And I’d say I’m excited for Black Bird, White Raven but that would be a lie. I’m absolutely, positively terrified for it because both of Wein’s books that I’ve read, as brilliant as they both were, ripped my heart to pieces and I’m scared she’ll do that again – ha!

    Great choices!

    Like

    1. Marissa Meyer is amazing at writing science fiction. I think that it’s such a difficult thing to master, but somehow she does it seamlessly.

      I’m kind of terrified of all Elizabeth Wein’s books as well, but I’d say that’s a good thing. I love when books rip me to pieces. I never really cry over books, but if something sad happens I get mad at the author. And I got mad at Elizabeth Wein, which means she is an amazing author.

      Like

  10. I really need to catch up with the Lunar Chronicles. I’ve only read Cinder, but I want to continue so bad. I’m also anticipating A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I haven’t read any of the Throne of Glass books. I’m so ashamed.

    Like

  11. Great picks Ana, I’m definitely adding some of these to my TBR! A Court of Thorns and Roses looks so good, I can’t wait to read it 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

