Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Mean’t To Read But Didn’t Get To

1f54f-toptentuesday

 

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their meme, Top Ten Tuesday.

          

1) A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd: This seemed like such a fun and whimsical MG book, but I never actually got around to reading it. I am reading it now as I schedule this post, though, and I can say that it is very fun and whimsical.

2) Five Glass Slippers by Elisabeth Brown, Emma Clifton, Rachel Heffington, Stephanie Ricker and Clara Diane Thompson: If you give me a fairytale retelling book, the probability that I will read it is 100%. If you give me five fairytale retellings in one book, the probability that I will read it is 500%. ‘Nuff said.

3) Lizzy and Jane by Katharine Reay: I loved reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, and Lizzy and Jane is a retelling of Pride and Prejudice. I don’t think I’ve ever read a retelling of a classic, but this one seems amazing.

          

4) Orphan’s Song by Gillian Bronte Adams: Gillian Bronte Adams is a new author, and I was actually following her blog before she got published, so I was really excited when she announced that she had signed a contract for her book. Orphan’s Song is a Christian fantasy book and I’ve read many positive reviews of it.

5) Plenilune by Jennifer Freitag: It’s not often that I see a book that is planetary fantasy. I love sci-fi ish books, but I haven’t read enough of them, so I guess I should start with Plenilune.

6) All Four Stars by Tara Dairman: This seems like a really fun MG book. Plus it’s about food!

          

7) Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch: Samantha @ Bookish Serendipity recommended this book to me a while back and her review was very positive. It seems like a great book, and the covers is simply stunning. Also, the author started writing it when she was 12 but didn’t publish it until now. How cool is that?

8) Searching for Sky by Jillian Cantor: This is a book about survival on an island and what it’s like for someone who has never really interacted with civilization to finally experience civilization. I think that it will be really interesting reading from the perspective of someone who has been living on an island for her whole life.

9) Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld: This book is about a teen author and I’ve heard that it has a lot to do with the writing and publishing life. I absolutely love books about writing and authors, so this sounds like just the book for me.

10) Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley: This is a historical fiction book even though it takes place in a historical time that wasn’t that long ago. Historical fiction is my favorite genre, so I’m excited to read this book.

What 2014 releases did you mean to read but not get to?

signature

34 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Mean’t To Read But Didn’t Get To

  1. I love seeing Top Ten Tuesday stuff – I’d totally do it if Tuesday wasn’t my writing post day, haha. But this is neat! I really meant to catch up on Lemony Snicket’s new series, but that just didn’t happen…sigh.

    Like

    1. I love reading everyone’s Top Ten Tuesday posts, but I might not do them anymore after this month, just because I also want to get back to writing some writing posts. I’ve never read a Lemony Snicket book, but I’ve heard so many good things about his books, and my little brother really likes The Series of Unfortunate Events books.

      Like

  2. The only ones of these books that I’ve read would be PLENILUNE (which was amazing, if a bit weird in parts), and FIVE GLASS SLIPPERS (except that I’ve only read the first three stories. I got distracted by another book between 3 and 4, and I’ve never gotten back to the story. But I quite enjoyed the first three. A delicious collection, to be sure.

    As for books that I meant to read but didn’t … um, there are quite a few … but for the life of me I cannot keep release dates straight in my head. I know CRESS was on the list, and ORPHAN’S SONG. So many good books being published. So little time to read them all.

    Like

    1. Hopefully I’ll enjoy Plenilune as much as you did. I’ve read a few snippets, and the prose is gorgeous. I’m glad you liked Five Glass Slippers, too. Somehow I will have to get my hands on that book, and maybe next year I’ll even be able to enter the contest.

      I totally get you. There are way too many good books out there but there will never be enough time to read them all.

      Like

  3. I have to confess I’ve only read three of these book! All the rest are actually on my TBR list… I just haven’t gotten around to them, yet. I adored Snow Like Ashes — it was one of my favourite reads of last year. Searching For Sky was also really, really good, so I would recommend that one as well. Afterworlds was certainly an interesting read but probably not my thing! Hope you get around to reading these this year! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m reading Snow Like Ashes right now, and it’s amazing. The constant tension makes it so suspenseful. Yay! Hopefully I’ll get to Searching for Sky soon. It’s too bad Afterworlds wasn’t quite your thing. Even if it ends up not being my thing I think I may still like all the writerly details involved in the story.

      Like

  4. OH MY GOODNESS! Lies We Tell Ourselves is AMAZING. It’s a beautiful, eyeopening book and I feel like everyone on the planet needs to read it <3333 SO GOOD. So GOOD.

    And just to counter that, I absolutely hated afterworlds. Too long, too bland, an instalove kiss on page 17. [no joke.] blehrgh. but to be fair, i am the black sheep sooooooo

    GREAT POST!

    Like

    1. I AM SO GLAD YOU LOVED LIES WE TELL OURSELVES! I’ve wanted to read it for so long because just from the blurb I can tell that it will be a beautiful book.

      It’s too bad you didn’t like Afterworlds. I’m usually the black sheep when it comes to contemporary novels, so I may not like this book, but I want to read it anyway if only for all the details about writers and the writing process.

      Like

  5. I kind of want to try Plenilune but it’s sooo huuuuuge. *gulps and dies*

    I’ve read 2 of these, so I’m not much better than you! I LOVED Searching for Sky though, so I totally recommend that one. x) Snicker of Magic looks adorable and I want to read Snow Like Ashes so so badly. x)

    Like

    1. *searches Plenilune on Goodreads* *faints* Wow! Plenilune is really long. I never really paid attention to the page length. I think I’ll still read it, though. Reading classics has trained me to make it through really long books.

      I’m glad you liked Searching for Sky. From the comments above it seems like the general consensus is that Searching for Sky is an awesome book. I just read A Snicker of Magic and it was so beautiful and sweet. Also, I’m reading Snow Like Ashes, and it is so suspenseful.

      Like

  6. I’ve only read Lies We Tell Ourselves and I highly recommend it! It’s definitely a good read! And I haven’t read anything else on your list, but I do want to try Snow Like Ashes!

    Like

  7. I’ve been itching to read Snow Like Ashes as well, even more since reading Red Queen. I was never much into fantasy really, but that one book changed it all. Both Afterworlds and Searching for Sky let me down unfortunately, but looking forward to seeing what you think of them both. Great list and thanks for sharing ❤

    Like

    1. I’ve never really been into modern fantasy, but just like you, one book, Heartless, completely changed that. It’s too bad Afterworlds and Searching for Sky let you down. I haven’t heard many good things about Afterworlds, but I’ve heard wonderful things about Searching for Sky, so hopefully I’ll enjoy at least one of them.

      Like

  8. Woah, it’s for the first time I’m hearing some of the titles you shared, like Lizzy & Jnae! I’ll have to check it out. I totally want to read Snow Like Ashes and Searching For Sky too! Hope we’ll get around to reading them this year! 😀

    Like

  9. Oh, these books are all epic! I loved A Snicker of Magic, and I really want to reread it soon. AND ANA YOU HAVE TO READ SNOW LIKE ASHES. It is amazing. I really want to read Searching For Sky soon!

    Like

  10. Ooh, yes. You really should read Five Glass Slippers. My favorite were the last two, but all were really good.
    I had been wanting to read Plenuline, but some Christian reviewers said there was a fair amount of language, so I’m going to wait to read that one for a little while…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you liked it. I generally don’t read story collections, but this one seems wonderful, and I hope to enter the contest this year. Hmmm…that’s good to know. Although I’d rather not read mature language, it doesn’t bother me that much, so it shouldn’t be too bad. What I don’t like is mature romance situations. I don’t think I need to go into detail.

      Like

  11. Wow, I haven’t read any of these, though I have at least heard of some of them, so that almost counts, right? I am so going to have to read Lizzy and Jane now. Pride and Prejudice is one of my favourite books and I would like to try a retelling of that. I so almost read Afterworlds. It was in my library and I think I borrowed it at one point. But then I ran out of time to read it and it had to go back. *cries*

    Like

    1. Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite books, too. I think what I need is a good ol’ Jane Austen-a-thon. I should just read all the Jane Austen books and Lizzy and Jane in a row. That happens to me all the time. I can’t control myself at the library and my parents have to reign me in.

      Like

  12. I absolutely loved Snow Like Ashes, Lies We Tell Ourselves and Searching for Sky, so I can’t wait to see your thoughts on them as well! I hope you end up loving them just as much as I did! 🙂 Thanks for sharing Ana, and fantastic choices!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

