Top Ten Tuesday: My Blogging Wishlist

1f54f-toptentuesday

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for their meme, Top Ten Tuesday. I got my inspiration from this post from Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer, who posted a writing wishlist here. I decided to do a book blogging wishlist.

1) Go to Book Expo America. Going to BEA seems like it would be an awesome experience and so much fun. I would be able to meet a bunch of authors, publicists and fellow bloggers, not to mention get a ton of books. However, this will definitely not be happening anytime soon because it occurs during the school year on schooldays.

2) Request a physical ARC. I’ve never actually done this because I wanted to get some more blogging experience and followers under my belt, but I think now is a suitable time to jump in, be brave and email some publishers requesting ARCs or review copies in exchange for my review.

3) Meet a blogger in real life. That would be so cool. It would probably happen at a big bookish event like BEA or a big author signing or writer’s conference. I would probably freak out and be shy, but excited at the same time.

4) Interview an author on the blog. I’ve never actually contacted an author for an interview before, but I would really like to do this and ask the author a ton of questions about his/her writing process, books, favorite characters and future projects.

5) Go to a writing conference. Okay, so maybe this belongs on my writer’s wishlist, but it’s kind of related to book blogging because a lot of book bloggers are also writers. I haven’t really fully edited anything yet, though, so I’m most certainly not ready to attend a writer’s conference yet. It would be a wonderful experience, I’m sure.

6) Participate in a blog tour. I’m actually going to participate in two blog tours in February in which I will possibly be interviewing two authors. I hope I am.

7) Create my own blog feature. I have a plan for a bookish blog feature in the works, and I’m pretty excited about it. This blog feature will require quite a bit of planning on my part but I think it will be fun for me to plan.

8) Host a bookish event or challenge on the blog. Ah yes, this one is in the works, too, although it is still a very vague idea in my head. I have so many ideas for posts that I could do for this event, including some author interviews. This bookish event may or may not have to do with students not being able to attend specific events because for some odd reason they coincide with school hours.

9) Write my “I Got an Agent” post. I won’t be querying agents for a long time as I’m still very deep in trying to learn the craft of writing, but when I do I won’t ever stop querying until I reach success. And it will be a proud moment when I can finally write a post about how I got my agent.

10) Write my “I Signed a Publishing Contract” post. For a book, because I’ve signed a contract for a magazine before. Again, this is not happening for a long time. Publishing is a very slow business, and I have to accomplish #9 before I can write about how I signed a publishing contract. It will forever be in my dreams, though.

signature

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Blogging Wishlist

  1. Wonderful list! Those are all things I would love to do as well. I hope many of your blogging dreams come true in 2015. I will be looking forward to your blog tour and potential blog feature.

    Like

  2. Ah, I’d love to do all of these…especially the writer’s conference thing. I’m just DYING to go to one…why aren’t they ever nearby? :/

    Like

    1. YES, I so need to attend a writer’s conference NOW. Luckily for me, there are quite a few that I think are close by, but my main problems are finding a time to go that does not interfere with school/cross country and getting a novel completely edited so that I’m ready when I attend the conference.

      Like

  3. I’ve done about half of the things on your wishlist but it’s such a great list! The last two really connected to me because DREAMSSSSS! Also, meeting bloggers?! That’s the best thing. The best place would be at signings. I met like three 🙂 I’ve done a author event on my blog and OH MY GOSH, it takes so much work! But it’s so worth it!!

    Hope you get to cross off things on this list soon!

    Like

  4. I. Want. To. Go. To. A. Writer’s. Conference. So. Badly.
    But if I did, I’d want all of my blogging buddies to be there with me. It is seriously something we should do in the future. xD

    Like

  5. YES! I want to go to BEA so badly. I’m hoping to go this year but at the moment it’s more of a “maybe…possibly…hopefully…”. Meeting other bloggers in real life would be absolutely amazing, and I think it would allow me to connect with the blogosphere more effectively, since I’m awkward when it comes to making that first introduction. I’m afraid to request an ARC because I have a low follower count, but I aim to once I build a readership. I wish you the best of luck on all your goals and I hope I’ll see a “I Signed a Publishing Contract” post from you soon!:D

    Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Like

    1. I don’t think I’ll be able to go to BEA for a while. *sighs* I’m kind of awkward with making first introductions, too, but at BEA I think the atmosphere is so friendly that you’re bound to meet some bloggers without it being too awkward. I want to build up my readership more before I get an ARC, too, because that’s the main thing that’s kind of holding me back right now. Thanks!

      Like

  6. Hahah I have half about these on my list as well! I’M GOING TO BEA THIS YEAR! Hopefully you will be able to go someday! And yes I’ve been meaning to email publishers to request an ARC, but I don’t know, I don’t have much courage haha! AWESOME TTT ANA

    Like

  7. Sorry I haven’t visited your blog recently!
    This is a wonderful post. I reaaaaaally want to go to BEA, but I have the same school issue. 😦 I have a lot of things I’d like to do on my blog that are on your list. I would really like to meet a blogger IRL, and, as you said, it would probably happen at a bookish event.

    Like

  8. I would totally love to meet you at a bookish event! That would be so fun. I’ve never met a blogger IRL before, but it’s totally on my bucket list. Maybe I’ll get to meet a few when I go to BEA this year?

    Like

  9. Thanks for the mention. ❤

    This is a great idea for a post. I would LOVE to go to BEA, but it's a bit hard when you're on the other side of the world, aha. I always enjoy reading people's BEA blog posts though and seeing their book hauls — it's so much fun! Blog tours are so much fun. I've only done one so far, but would love to do another one soon. 🙂

    Like

  10. Those sound like awesome goals, especially being able to sign a publishing contract. Imagine that! I love how you’re taking little steps, like requesting your first physical review copy, which is not as daunting as it seems. I felt the same, but publishers (like our Aussie ones) are all really lovely and happy to have bloggers coming on board for reviews and promotions. Can wait to see you achieve some of these goals throughout the year and fingers crossed for that agent and contract! ❤

    Like

    1. Signing a publishing contract for a book is such a big dream of mine. I’m nowhere near it, but I can totally dream about it. I’m not too daunted, but I’m not quite sure that I have enough followers to request a physical ARC,and I’m not sure what my parents would feel about it. I keep putting off asking them. Thanks!

      Like

  11. I WANT TO DO #10 TOO. *sigh of longing* We shall both do it one day, right?! WE WILL. It’s just a matter of time and experience I’m sure. XD Omg, bea would be wonderful. We don’t even have anything like it in Australia. *sigh* I hope you do get the courage to ask for an ARC. The first time I did I was absolutely beside myself with excitement for being able to promo it. I don’t think I’ll EVER get rid of that book just because of what it means. 😉 Plus it was a seriously good story too. hehe.

    Like

    1. Well, Cait, you’ve already accomplished #9, which I’m sure means that #10 will happen for you soon. It definitely is a matter of time and experience. Still, when you announce your book I will squeal a lot because then I can brag that I “knew” an author before she was published. It’s too bad you don’t have a BEA like event near you. I feel bad because I live close enough that going to BEA would be no problem, but then there’s school. Firsts are always exciting, aren’t they? What book was it?

      Like

  12. Ahhh Ana I’d love to do all of these too 😀 I’d love to meet bloggers in real life (not just through the internet), go to BEA, request physical ARCs – technically almost everything you put here! You are really ambitious with these, and I hope you get to do this soon 🙂 It’d be uber awesome!!

    Like

  13. These are all amazing goals Ana, it’s the best thing going to a book event and meeting like-minded people! I remember the feeling of getting your first physical ARC too, it’s definitely really exciting. Hope you get to do at least a few of these things!

    Like

  14. I love all your goals! I’d LOVE to go to BEA but it’s halfway around the globe for me, lol. Meeting a blogger IRL would be so awesome, and at events meeting like-minded bookish and writerly people would be such a wonderful experience.

    Like

  15. Can’t wait to see what you come up with for a feature or event. I’ve always wanted to do an event or link-up myself, but my current blog hasn’t even been going a year and there’s always that worry that no one will join in. Looking forward to seeing yours. And #9 and #10. I wish I could write those posts too. *sigh* Hopefully they come quickly for both of us.

    Like

    1. I’m still thinking about the blog event and I have only a vague idea, but I hope everyone will enjoy it. I’m quite worried about no one participating, too. It’s really awkward when that happens. Hopefully #9 and #10 do come quickly for both of us. I kind of want it to come quickly, but at the same time, I don’t want to rush my writing. It’s a big dilemma.

      Like

  16. These are some fantastic goals! I wanna go to BEA as well and I have the same problem. That and I have to fly to America which is like so damn expensive wahhhhh.

    And oooh, good luck with requesting a physical ARC 🙂

    Like

  17. Amazing goals! I’m not sure how long you have been blogging, but I’m always happy to see new faces 🙂

    BEA is indeed amazing! This year will be my fourth time and it is hectic, but a lot of fun, I hope you get to do it soon. To meet other bloggers we have a Facebook group for book sellers, book lovers, bloggers and authors and that’s how we keep track of events in our area. I have met a lot of people that way. I’m not sure where you are from (I’m from the MD-DC-VA area), but if you do make it to BEA it will a pleasure to meet you 🙂

    Sign up for a few book tour hosts and you will get plenty of them!! Interviews are often part of these. I’m not an aspiring writer, but good luck with all your goals,

    Like

  18. I’m actually querying right now, and just waiting for the day where I get to make a post about finding an agent and nailing a publishing deal. Fingers crossed 🙂

    Like

  19. I’d love to go to a writing and/or a bloggers conference. Seriously, that would be awesome. And BookExpo America? YES PLEASE. Meeting a blogger in real life would be awesome as well, I’m totally with you there. These are all great and I have to say, I’d love to do more than one of them myself.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

