Book Buying Habits

bookbuying

 

I’m not really much of a book buyer, unless it’s from a used book sale. Even then, I don’t often buy books. Books cost so much money that I don’t have, and I don’t want to spend a ton of money on a book that I might not like. Therefore, I choose wisely when I decide to buy books and I take good advantage of both my school library and my local library. Because libraries are glorious.

Honestly, when I’m in a library I feel a kid in a candy store. There are so many books on a wide variety of different subjects and genres and age groups, all collected in one place, and all for free! Sure, I can only borrow books for a limited amount of time, but I am not limited to how many times I borrow a book. Another perk to being a huge book borrower is I don’t have to clog up my bookshelves with books that I don’t necessarily like. I actually own enough books as it is from used book sales at my library.

But other times, I just really want to own a new, shiny book to keep forever and ever. And then, I buy books. Most of the books that I’ve bought have been few and far in between, and most of them have been nonfiction. These include memoirs, biographies, and writing craft books, books that I know I will return to again and again.

Lately, though, I’ve had this urge to own two series that I love, and I have a nice build up of Barnes and Noble gift cards with which to do this. The first series I think it would be really nice to own is a complete set of The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. I have some of the books in the series around the house, but not all of them. This series I’m not afraid to buy because I’ve read all of the books and I loved them all. I know that they will remain favorites forever, and are worth the investment. The other series I would like to own is The Tales of Goldstone Wood  by Anne Elisabeth Stengl. I’ve only read the first book in the series, Heartless, but I loved it so much and I feel as if I’ll love the whole series, so I think this is a good investment, too, and a great addition to my library.

What are your book buying habits? Do you like to buy most of your books, or borrow most of them? If you choose your books, how do you choose which books to buy?

signature

50 thoughts on “Book Buying Habits

  1. I love libraries. they are the best thing ever. I love how you can request from public libraries (at least in New Zealand), and get out digital books. And school libraries are wonderful because the librarians are so friendly. Sometimes if I really need to own a book, I’ll buy it. But books cost:( and shipping costs, and there aren’t really good bookshops near me. I have the complete chronicles of Narnia, and now my parents are reading it to my little sister which makes me happy.
    Thanks for this post;)

    Like

    1. Libraries are definitely the best thing that has ever happened to bookworms. Oh yes, I can get e-books from my library, too, which is nice when they don’t have a physical copy. However, I always prefer physical copies because I stare at a screen enough already. The Chronicles of Narnia is an amazing series, so I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

      Like

  2. I buy books all the time. But mostly at used book stores or library sales. I simply love to own books. In fact, I think it’s important to own books. The books I borrowed from my school library and my public library or from friends, I don’t always remember. But when I look at my bookshelf everyday, I remember all the wonderful books I’ve read, and I read them again and again. That, or I’m just a teeny bit of a book… hoarder. (It’s true!) 😉 But I hardly ever pay the full price for a book, unless it’s a book by one of my favorite authors that’s just come out. By the way, I actually just got the complete Chronicles of Narnia! I found a couple at a yard sale back in the summer, and then found the rest at a used book store last week. 🙂

    Like

    1. Used book stores and library sales are the best. My library book sale has a ton of great deals because most books only cost a quarter, but the selection is kind of limited. I used to have a used book store nearby as well, but unfortunately, that closed. 😦 I definitely agree that it’s really nice to own books, though. The whole Chronicles of Narnia used? Wow, well, someone knows how to strategically shop for books. 🙂

      Like

  3. I have really limited space in my room. It’s like a shoebox, actually. [There’s a piano, two shelves, a huge desk, a huge dresser and a small bed.] How I’m able to cram all that in, I have no idea. All I know is that it means books are very limited for space. Like you, I’m not much of a buyer but i am SO a library girl!

    Like

  4. I actually do buy most of the books I read, because I don’t get to the library often. They are mostly Kindle books from Amazon and I almost always have a gift card balance (I ask for gift cards for my birthday and I’m part of an online rewards program that gives me Amazon gift cards). My problem is actually impulsive book buying. I’ll see that a book I may have considered is on sale and I’ll have to talk myself out of it. (I don’t mean the book I’ve been wanting for five months, I mean the obscure title that I would not have otherwise bought if it weren’t on sale 😄 )

    Like

    1. E-books are good because they’re usually pretty cheep, but the problem for me with e-books is I look at a screen so much during the day that paper books become a refuge for my poor eyes and head. Oh yes, impulsive book buying is a toughie. It’s very difficult for me to restrain either impulsive book borrowing or buying.

      Like

  5. I buy all the books. Which my parents don’t like. Although I have a fair amount of money in my bank account, they want me to save and not spend, which is becoming increasingly difficult as more books come out. My shelves are lovely and full. I just love having the books, shiny and new and perfect.
    I have a library near me, but libraries don’t get the new books! And I can only check them out for two weeks at a time, and I usually read one book per week so… >.<

    Like

    1. My parents don’t like me spending money, either, although I naturally kind of shy away from spending money. Still, that’s the only thing I actually would like to buy. What else is there in the world? (Well, fabric and yarn and CHOCOLATE are nice, too…) Also, I think books are very worthy of being bought, and totally worth the money.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. BUYING BOOKS? YES.
    ALL THE BOOKS, EVERY BOOK 😉

    Unfortunately I am a very poor person who can only afford to invest now and there, though sometimes I’ll get carried away. Once I was visiting a huuuge bookshop in another city, but ended up getting over 36 books, hehe. But usually my reader friends and I lend books to each other…and of course: LIBRARIES ❤

    Usually I buy books from authors whom I've read books by before, or have heard ravings from a particular friend 🙂

    Like

  7. Unfortunately, my local library is very small and does not offer a wide range of books, so when I want to read something I have to buy it. I either have to travel out an hour to find a bookstore, since my community doesn’t have one nearby, or I have to order online. At my old house,there was a huge library only two blocks away, and I went once every week. I’m moving again soon, though, so hopefully there’s a better stocked library there. Now, I mostly by books in huge hauls, and then have to wait another six months before buying any more books. I wish I could own all my favorites. I’ve always imagine having my own gigantic personal library one day, but I’ll just have to wait, start stocking up, and see. Great post:D

    Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Like

    1. Aw, it’s too bad that your local library is so small. I’m so lucky to have a pretty big local library, so it’s nice to go there. I would love to own a gigantic personal library one day. Maybe as big as the one in the Beast’s palace from The Beauty and the Beast Disney movie? *sighs* I can only dream.

      Like

  8. Used book sales are the best!!

    I love libraries too but I don’t go to town often enough to get many books often… plus I’m a slow reader so I don’t like to get too many out at at a time. BUT AGREE. That feeling of being in the library is absolutely the best ever!!! 😀

    I have very limited funds as well but I go to a couple really big booksales each year which is awesome because they are cheap and there’s usually a good selection. 🙂 I LOVE owning books, but yes, I’m beginning to run out of space. 😉 My three bookcases are overflowing… >.> Heehee.

    I also will buy new books ONLY if I’m certain I will like them. BUT NARNIA! 😀 And I’ve only read the first Goldstone Wood as well, but they seem worthwhile. 😉

    Like

    1. Aren’t they awesome? My library has the best used book sale, and even though the selection is relatively small, the bargains are so good.

      Luckily for me I live less than five minutes away from my local library, so I go there all the time.

      Hehe, yes, space is a huge problem for me. As much as my parents love books and love the fact that I’m reading, they don’t want a ton of books to cram the whole house.

      The Tales of Goldstone Wood does seem worthwhile. I also have only read the first book, Heartless, but I absolutely loved it.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I understand completely! I mostly tend to buy books with giftcards (I have a lot of bookstore giftcards leftover from Christmas still!) but even then, my bookshelves are overflowing. There is a huge used book sale every year near me, and I love going. I got the entire Shiver trilogy in hardcover for $8 last year, which was AMAZING.

    When I go to the bookstore, I tend to go with a specific book in mind. I don’t really browse and buy a book merely because of a cover or decent blurb anymore. I tend to buy books that a) I have ARCs of and LOVED or b) were recommended by a friend/ fellow book lover or c) was written by an author I’m a huge fan of, or a friendly with. That’s my thoughts at least!

    Like

    1. I always seem to have B&N giftcards. They are everywhere! A trilogy for $8? *does the math* That’s under three dollars for each book! Ahhh, I love used book sales.

      I tend to buy with specific books in mind, too. Like you, I only buy books that I’ve already read and loved or that have been written by an author I love. It’s a lot more reassuring to me that way.

      Like

  10. I live in Belgium and the pain is real – I only read in English, but the libraries don’t hold an awful lot of English books (unless you want to read classics, and I’m not a fan of classics). So I’m kind of forced to buy books. Now that I bought myself an ereader, it’s a lot cheaper. This year, I am trying to not spend any money (apart from birthday & Christmas) on books, so that I can tackle my existing TBR pile!

    Like

  11. I tend to buy more books than I borrow. I used to go to the library all the time in high school and college, then I moved to areas that either didn’t have libraries, or had them so far away from me I couldn’t easily get to them and got out of the habit.

    I prefer owning books I love anyhow. I am a book hoarder, and have a ton of books. 9 nearly floor to ceiling bookcases stacked full, and I still have a number of boxes of books I haven’t unpacked because I ran out of space for them. This doesn’t include the books on my Kindle, I have around 1,800 or so of those. Most of which I got for free, or as gifts.

    Books cost a lot yes, but I feel they’re worth it as long as I’m not trading something vital to get them. So I won’t use grocery/bill money to buy them until all bills are paid and I have food in the house. But after that? If I have a little left over that wasn’t stuffed into savings, I buy books. Usually from the local used bookstore, but also new on Amazon.

    Like

  12. I am a huge huge fan of the library. I generally don’t buy a book unless it is on my tip top favorite list and on sale. Once in a while I walk into B&B and feel the urge though. Even though I don’t buy books often, I’ve still managed to fill one whole bookshelf to overflowing…how did that happen?

    Like

  13. I BUY ABSOLUTELY NOTHING UNLESS IT IS ON SALE. Though this year, I’m going to be buying one new release per month, which I think is good for me because I own basically no books. Because I go to the library as well, a lot. 🙂

    Like

  14. Ooh Ana awesome post 🙂 I usually buy books I’m certain I’ll uber love and re-read over again, but if I don’t, I just turn the library or borrow from a friend (hopefully, if they have a copy I like). I DO feel like a kid in a candy store when I visit the library. Just seeing all those good books makes me want to get them all 😀 Great post Ana! I love reading your posts!

    Like

  15. I tend to buy them when I have to, which is rarely. I don’t really like places like Barnes & Noble because it always feels like I have to make a commitment, whereas I really like the library because if I throw a book out, then no harm no foul and I still have all my dollars. But, if it is a necessity then I will buy what I need immediately, from Amazon, because I need it. *nods*

    Like

  16. I almost always borrow. *nods* The books I own I’m usually given as review-copies, sooo…while that is AWESOME and the best thing in the universe, it does love me with shelves of books I don’t necessarily like and postage in Australia is ridiculous so giveaways aren’t so possible. *sigh* BUT LIBRARIES ARE LIFE. I try to be calm about borrowing because I haaaate sending back books unread. And when I do buy books it’s always one I’m sure I’ll like, so it’s a sequel in a series I love or from an author I trust. But this does lead me to have a lot of series with the first book missing. 😉 Like I own Scarlet and Cress but not Cinder. And I own all the Throne of Glass books except…well…Throne of Glass. 😄

    Like

    1. Libraries really are life. I kind of go crazy in them because my bookish heart just can’t resist all those books. Oh yes, I’m sure review copies really do take up a lot of shelves, but I think that’s quite awesome. Like you, I don’t buy a fiction book unless I’m sure I’ll like it.

      Like

  17. YES to this. I’m not much of a book buyer either. I LOVE libraries, I get so happy when I go there. I go to get one book and end up leaving with at least 5. Libraries are wonderful but some books I just NEED for my collection, you know?! I probably have around 100 books now? Some I bought, some won, some ARCs. When I “grow up” and get a job and such I’ll probably start buying more books 🙂

    Like

  18. Owning a Kindle is so bad for my buying habits . . . and my wallet. It is so easy to buy a book and have it instantly on my Kindle. I am such a hoarder when it comes to books. 🙂

    Like

  19. I really want to go to my local library because, get this, I NEVER HAVE. Like, never ever. I have no idea what kind of books it has or anything. I’ve made a resolution to go this weekend and just browse until my heart is content

    Like

  20. I definitely borrow a lot more books than I buy. Which is great because then I get to try out all sorts of books without worrying too much whether I’m absolutely sure I’m going to like them. I’d hate to waste my money on a book I don’t end up liking, especially as I don’t have a lot of money for books. Gotta love libraries!

    Like

  21. I almost always buy books. I can’t now because I spent a ridiculous amount last year. e_e So at the moment I’m borrowing from my sister and from the library. Which is good because my TBR is huge. Still, I love owning the books. I enjoyed this post! c:

    Like

  22. Luckily, my family knows I’m a book lover, so for holidays half of my family buys me gift cards to Barnes & Nobel or local books stores. Like this Christmas, I received about $175 worth of gift cards. I’m set for ages! Well…just until my birthday in July. I might buy the odd book with my own cash, but it’s usually a spur of the moment decision. Otherwise, it’s the library for me.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

