The Monthly Recap: January

 january

I have decided that I quite enjoy reading monthly recaps on other blogs, and it might be nice to write my own. So, I present to you The Monthly Recap for January, which I shall divide into five different sections: Life, Reading, Writing, Blogging and Announcements.

LIFE

School was extremely hectic this month as it was the month of midterms. For the whole month of January I freaked out, studied until my brain cells were fried, and got extremely nervous on the test days. However, my midterms are finally over and my brain can relax. Well, not really; my teachers jumped right back into teaching full swing the day we after midterms, so yea… At least I don’t have to be staring at Scantrons with suspicious patterns for 4 hours a day anymore.

In other news, the snow has finally been coming down. I was a bit worried after a December and January mostly empty of snow, but when it really started snowing I was very happy. Snow is one of the prettiest things ever.

READING

I read seven books this month, and they were mostly fabulous. The only one that kind of disappointed me this month was Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I am such a black sheep when it comes to this one. Ugh.

Favorite Fiction Book: Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Favorite Non-Fiction Book: The Innovators by Walter Isaacson

Favorite Classic: Watership Down by Richard Adams

         All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven  Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch  Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell  Watership Down by Richard Adams  A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd  The Innovators by Walter Isaacson  

WRITING

I completed JaNoEdiMo with 30 hours of editing on the second draft of my novel. I still have a long way to go before I finish the second draft, but I’m finally getting there. I’ve found that editing is very slow and very difficult, but also very worth it. I also got a new idea for an epic fantasy novel, and I have begun the beginning stages of plotting. I am so excited about this one, and I can’t stop thinking about it, which I think is a good sign.

OH AND ONE MORE THING THAT I FORGOT TO ADD BEFORE: I GOT PUBLISHED IN A MAGAZINE, AND I WAS BEYOND EXCITED. HOW DID I FORGET THAT?!?

BLOGGING

The average amount of comments on my blog posts increased by A TON this month. You know why? I binge wrote and scheduled all my posts in a couple of days at the beginning of the month, leaving me time to focus on commenting on other blogs. Guys, commenting is the fastest way to get more comments on your blog, and it’s fun, too. Now, here are some of my favorite posts from the month that you may have missed:

ANNOUNCEMENTS

A lot of other bloggers tagged me for various awards and tags this month. I am so thankful for all the tags and awards, but unfortunately, I don’t quite have room in my blog schedule to post all of these tags and awards, so from now on this will be a tag/award free blog.

I also will not be doing Top Ten Tuesday. My blog schedule is pretty packed, and I’d like to focus more on original content. My new schedule will involve at least three posts a week. On Mondays I’ll post a feature (more info about that coming up tomorrow), on Wednesdays I’ll post a discussion, and on Fridays I’ll post a book review. I have lots of fun posts lined up already, so I’m excited for this month of blogging.

How was your month? What was one of your favorite books this month? What are you looking forward to reading next month?

signature

35 thoughts on “The Monthly Recap: January

  1. Monthly recaps are great! I do weekly wrap-ups, but I may start to do something monthly so I have more time for other content.
    My month has been crazy hectic because of Science Fair. I will be very happy when it’s over. Science isn’t really my thing…
    Are you going to review Fangirl? I’d like to hear why you didn’t like it.

    Like

    1. I tried to do weekly wrap-ups before, but I didn’t have enough content, and it’s a lot easier to keep up with monthly recaps than weekly recaps. I’d love to read your monthly recaps!
      Good luck with your science fair. Science is something I really enjoy, but it’s not for everyone.
      Yes, I will review Fangirl. I’m not sure when it will go live on the blog, but probably soon.

      Like

  2. Squee, you like Watership Down! It’s one of my favorites ❤ I think we disagree on the snow issue – I'm not a fan of cold wetness – but to each his own, I guess. It IS pretty to look at.
    I haven't read Fangirl, but it doesn't look like something I would enjoy either, so there you have it. I think I might give it a go anyway, though. Congrats on the editing achievements! I feel your pain…ugh. Anyway, great recap!

    Like

    1. Watership Down is now one of my favorites, too. It wasn’t what I expected, but that turned out to be okay. I kind of expected it to be about cute rabbits…BUT IT WAS ABOUT RABBITS THAT WERE ANYTHING BUT CUTE. It’s a shame you don’t like snow. I love snow as long as it doesn’t cause really big problems. Fangirl didn’t seem like something I would like at first because it’s YA contemporary, but I can’t pass off a book about a fellow writer, so I read it. Thanks!

      Like

  3. Month recaps are so fun to read! I always plan on doing them, but I’m such an unorganized mess that I don’t even remember anything about it until it’s too late, hah. And ugh, Fangirl. I’m actually kind of glad you didn’t like this book as much, and it’s hopefully not because I’m evil. We need more people on this bandwagon!

    Also, congrats for completing JaNoEdiMo! I hope February will be a great month for you. ❤

    Like

    1. I also love reading monthly recaps. I remember to write them, but what I don’t remember is what to include. It seems after I post a monthly recap I think of a million new things to add that I forgot. *sighs* I’m so glad I’m not the only one that didn’t like Fangirl. Maybe I’m not losing my sanity, haha.

      Thanks. Hopefully February will be a good month for you, too.

      Like

  4. I read seven books this year as well!
    I’ve been wanting to read Snow Like Ashes… Gah. Actually, I’ve been wanting to read a lot of books. There’s just too many of them out there.

    Like

    1. Yay! Good job! I hope to reach 100 books this year, but I’m a teensy bit behind. At least I’ll have more time during the summer since I won’t have school. I’m sure you’ll love Snow Like Ashes. I totally understand your want to read all the books. There are way too many good books out there and way too little time. It’s an eternal bookworm problem.

      Like

  5. It’s been a great month, Ana! I’m looking forward to seeing all of your new original content. On a similar note, I’m having an internal debate with memes. Like you, I want to make more room for original content on my blog, however I have met a lot of people and receive the most feedback on my Top Ten Tuesday posts. I’m thinking I’ll let go soon, but I’m not sure yet. Aside, good luck with your fantasy novel, I enjoyed this post:)

    Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Like

    1. I actually get quite a bit of feedback on my Top Ten Tuesday posts, too, although my discussion posts are right up with there with the TTT posts as well. However, I don’t like having too many memes, so maybe I’ll just create my own original lists instead of doing TTT? I’m not sure…Thanks!

      Like

  6. I AM SO CRAZY EXCITED TO HEAR ABOUT YOUR NEW FEATURE. I’m sure it will be great. I’m so sad you didn’t enjoy Fangirl, though. What did you think of Seraphina?

    Like

    1. YAY I HOPE YOU ENJOY IT! Yea…I really wanted to enjoy Fangirl, but I didn’t…I absolutely LOVED Seraphina. I love how the suspense kept on increasing more and more throughout the book, and I definitely did not see that twist at the end. Also, the whole world was so well thought out, which I also loved. Have you read Seraphina yet?

      Like

  7. Monthly recaps are also how I do things. I think weekly is great for people who have exciting lives. Since I don’t, I’m going to drag things out as long as possible. i actually write six posts a week, so I definitely know what you mean about wanting original content. I filled them with a mix of memes and originality because it’s hard to do everything original.

    I actually haven’t read Fangirl but Steph at Cuddlebuggery didn’t like it either and I typically agree with her reviews. I might end up siting that one out 😦 My month has actually been the opposite in terms of reading. I’m terrible at the whole “love everything” concept and I’ve had more dislikes than likes. Hope the future is better for me lol

    Like

    1. Monthly recaps are the best. I like to think that my life is really exciting, but I still have way more content for monthly recaps than weekly recaps. It’s also a lot easier to keep up with monthly recaps than weekly recaps. SIX POSTS A WEEK?!? HOW DO YOU EVEN?!? If I did six posts a week I would probably need to do memes mixed in with the original posts, too.

      My review of Fangirl is coming up soon. I wouldn’t recommend it, but at the same time, I feel like a lot of it was an “It’s me-not you” kind of problem. Aw, that’s too bad. Hopefully next month will be better for reading.

      Like

  8. I love reading recaps too! (Still uncertain about posting them, though.) I actually pre-write most of my posts months in advance, leaving one or two gaps for unexpected posts (like tags. I love tags so much.) That lets me read all my blog posts that day — although Bloglovin’ has been a great help there!

    Like

  9. Recaps are soooo much FUN. I try not to do them too often because they’re usually my least viewed posts but HA. If I like them, then I do them. *nods* SQUEE AND YAY FOR GETTING PUBLISHED IN A MAGAZINE!!! You are clearly just amazing. x)
    I really want to read Snow Like Ashes…it’s on reserve at my library, but it’s been like that foreeever, so I hope they haven’t lost it. I would cry. I’m desperate to see what all the fuss is about.
    I should’ve edited more in January. -_- But I did not. 2 chapters. THAT IS ALL. In fact, I should be editing now but instead I’m procrastinating. *sigh*

    Like

    1. Honestly I haven’t been paying attention to my stats too much besides the comment numbers, so I’m not really sure which posts are my most viewed and which ones aren’t. I would think that monthly recaps wouldn’t be as popular as other posts, though. YAY, THANKS!
      The fuss isn’t there for nothing, Cait. I hope you enjoy Snow Like Ashes.
      Don’t worry. It is very easy to procrastinate anything to do with writing except for reading about writing, thinking about writing and talking about writing.

      Like

  10. “At least I don’t have to be staring at Scantrons with suspicious patterns for 4 hours a day anymore.”
    ^YOU UNDERSTAND MY SOUL. I swear, I always get so worried whenever there’s 3 C’s in a row or something, or an A and then a B and then a C and then a D. I’m ridiculously paranoid. 😛

    I already congratulated you about the magazine publication, but again: YOU ARE WONDERFUL AND I’M SO SO HAPPY FOR YOU. ❤ Do we get to see the magazine? I want to read your gorgeous writing!

    Like

    1. I am so paranoid about that, too. I get so nervous every time I look at a Scantron because patterns show up EVERYWHERE, and it makes me second guess myself so bad. It totally messes with my mind.

      Thanks so much, Topaz. You’re so sweet. Maybe I’ll share the magazine in a post…maybe…:)

      Like

  11. YESSSS Scheduling is definitely the best thing for your blog, because it means you stress less about the content and it leaves time for commenting! I’m so glad you’ve figured out what works for you Faith! Don’t worry, I know a few people didn’t like Fangirl either, and it seems like everyone raves about it. Have a lovely month ahead!

    Like

  12. I love recaps! 😛
    Snow is so pretty. We are having a LOT of snow and more is coming down right now. The first couple weeks I’m like, yay!! SNOW! Then I get tired of it and want to to melt. 😛
    You got published in a magazine?! NO WAY! Cool!!!
    I reaaally want to read Snow Like Ashes. It sounds amazing. I haven’t been to my library in awhile, so I’ll have to see if they have it. It’s a very small library though so I kind of doubt it. 😦

    ~Lydia~ ❤

    Like

    1. Me, too!
      Sometimes snow can get really tiring, but most of the time it’s simply pretty and fun, so I enjoy it.
      Thanks so much! I was so happy, and I still am happy about it!
      I’m sure you’ll love Snow Like Ashes. It’s such a wonderful book with an amazing main character and a really complex story world.

      Like

  13. I need to learn how to schedule, I sometimes get so tired after writing one post, I got screw scheduling and it’s like a vicious cycle over and over. I hope your mid terms went well! Don’t worry, I really didn’t enjoy Fangirl either, I think it speaks to certain readers/personality types but for me I found Cath to be too stupid to live.

    Like

    1. Writing posts can be rather tiring, but I try to push through it and schedule a ton of posts because in the long run, it makes me less stressed. Still, it’s not for everyone, and that’s okay. Thanks. My midterms went pretty well. I’m so glad I’m not the only one that didn’t quite like Fangirl. It’s definitely one of those books that can give readers an “It’s not you-it’s me,” kind of problem.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

