A Message to Book Bloggers: You Should Try Creative Writing!

creative writing

Oh, book bloggers. We are a delightful bunch. We devour books, flipping pages late into the night. We stalk publisher catalogs, looking for the latest releases. We gaze at our shelves longingly and pick off old favorites, rereading them and reveling in their words. We scroll through our Goodreads feeds constantly. We write fangirly reviews and eloquent reviews, and sometimes, the occasional rant. In short, we constantly consume books. But how many of us write books, too?

I know that there are some book bloggers that love to write their own books. We writers love to write because we are inspired by the books we read. We want to write books that make readers’ hearts ache, just like authors have made our heart’s ache. We want to write books that makes readers fangirl, just like authors have made us fangirl. We want to write books that make smiles spread across our readers’ faces, just like authors have put smiles on our faces. We enjoy writing, and for a lot of us, publication is a serious dream. However, not all book bloggers write, and I think for a lot of those non-writers, fear stops them from writing. I’m here to tell you that even though as a book blogger you might not think you have the ability to write, you really do.

1) As a book blogger, you’ve probably written enough words in your total amount of blog posts to fill a novel. I have around 100 posts on my blog, and my posts usually range from 300-800 words, as I’m sure many other book blog posts do. That means that if you’ve written 100 posts on your blog and each is in the middle range, around 500 words, you’ve written 50k words. That’s a good length for an MG novel or the bare bones draft of what could be come a polished YA or adult novel. You have the words in you, so don’t be afraid to use them.

2) You review books, which will help you to infuse your knowledge of what makes a good book into your own writing.Β As a book blogger, you often post reviews of books. You share what you enjoyed about a book, and what you really didn’t enjoy. By reading and reviewing books, you learn how to craft believable and multidimensional characters, compelling plots, and stunning words. You learn what writing style you like best. When you write, the experience you’ve had in critiquing the writing of others will help you to make your own writing better.

3) You have a whole community of other encouraging writers around to help you.Β Like I said before, there are some book bloggers that also happen to be writers, and they are the friendliest group of people you’ll ever meet. Bloggers who are also writers form this wonderful community that rallies around other writers. We writers cheer each other along, give each other advice, critique each other’s work, celebrate the achievements of others, and occasionally (well, maybe more like EVERY DAY) bemoan the peskiness of our WIPs. The writing community is not a scary place, so don’t be afraid to jump right in.

I understand that no matter what, some book bloggers just want to read, and might not want to write. I am in no way trying to force you to start writing. However, if you’re one of those bloggers who have thought about writing, but are a little bit doubtful, I hope this post was encouraging. You can write for others or you can write for just you. Either way, know that you have the ability to write. Now, bloggers, pick up those pens, and leap into creative writing.

Are you a book blogger who is also a writer? Have you ever faced any doubts about your writing before? How has book blogging helped you to be brave with your writing?

signature

48 thoughts on “A Message to Book Bloggers: You Should Try Creative Writing!

  1. Ohhh, this was a really interesting post because I’m a writer and my blog is a cross between a writing blog and a personal blog, but this year I want to include more elements of book blogs. Probably not reviews, since I have an entire other site for that. Anyways, I think it’s amazing that you’re encouraging more people who may be on the brink that they CAN write, because writing is a wonderful experience and should definitely be shared.

    Like

    1. Writing really is a wonderful experience, and something that I think everyone can learn to treasure once they really try it. I also think that it’s one of those things that we all need to share, and I love how that habit of sharing is so prevalent in the writing community already.

      Like

  2. I’m also a (half-assed) writer. The only reason I’m writing now is because writing reviews on Goodreads has given me the confidence. People liked my reviews. Then I started blogging, and that helped too. Now I’ve finished one novel and am working on two more!

    Like

    1. I think writing reviews has given me a ton of confidence too, Inge. Writing reviews is just another form of writing practice that’s played a huge part in advancing my writing and developing my own voice. Congrats on finishing a novel, and good luck with your two other novels! I’m currently plotting a complete rewrite of my sci-fi novel because I’d like to pursue publication for it later this year.

      Like

  3. I am completely addicted to both reading and writing. Although my blog is more personal/writing and I don’t consider it at all a book blog, I do post reviews occasionally.

    This post really got me thinking! Book bloggers not only read a whole lot and absorb good writing, but they THINK CRITICALLY about what makes books enjoyable or just meh. So that would make you guys THE MOST QUALIFIED to write things that people like.

    Keep it up!

    Like

    1. I’m totally addicted to reading and writing, as well. I would be the perfect candidate for Word Addict Anonymous, haha. πŸ™‚ I think book bloggers and readers in general are really qualified to write, and should try writing because critical thinking plays a huge role in writing a good book or short story or poem.

      Like

  4. This POST made a smile spread across my face. Seriously, Ana, you’ve hit the nail on the head(especially with the description of book bloggers–that made me laugh).

    We do have the ability to write. Together I read, review, and/or analyze at least 100 books a year. And yet I’ve never even completed a full manuscript. To be honest, I don’t have any huge aspirations to become an author. I love writing, and it’s a wonderful hobby, and maybe someday it will become more than that. I’ve actually been considering making my blog more than just a book blog. Maybe I’ll start to share my own writing; I don’t know. But if I do, it will largely be because this post was so inspiring.

    Write on, book bloggers!

    Like

    1. Aw, I’m so glad you enjoyed this post, Ally.

      Wow, 100 books a year? That’s amazing. I want to read 100 books this year, but I’ll see how that goes. I think it’s perfectly fine to just want to write as a casual hobby for now. It’s fine not to have major aspirations to become an author. I personally really want to become an author, but before I realized that was possible I just wrote for fun. I would definitely love to see some of your writing!

      Huzzah!

      Like

  5. I think it’s the actually thinking of things to write that daunts me. I enjoy writing, and I’m often tempted to write short stories, because they seem doable. But the idea of mapping out an entire book, with characters, and a plot, and other scary things seems impossible.

    Like

    1. Writing can be really daunting, and I know that when I started my first novel I was terrified. I had never written a story that long before, and I didn’t really know how to approach. My best advice is to take it slowly and in little chunks. And if you still don’t feel confident enough to start, don’t rush it. Start with smaller pieces and work your way up.

      Like

  6. oooh! Good thoughts. I’m a writer and also a bookworm. I don’t have a book blog, but I’m constantly eating my books whole.
    All my reading definitely helps when writing. It shows me what I like and it helps flesh out my novels and little pieces.
    Great post!

    Like

  7. Reading Lord of the Rings is what inspired me to begin writing! Six months after getting serious about writing, I had my own blog and was a part of the awesome writing community! Don’t be afraid to jump “write” in! (Hehe I had to put a pun there) πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. Being a book blogger has been beneficial to my writing. The first novel I wrote was in the midst of being a book blogger! Before then, I’d never written anything longer than a long short story, and 3/4 of the time I hardly finished stories. Like you said, book bloggers form a wonderful community and we are so supportive of each other.
    The book blogging community also introduced other online resources to help me and encourage my writing, like NaNoWriMo, and social media like Twitter. NaNo is a the best way, I think, to write a novel. Not only is it community of writers, but since it’s a month it really motivates you and helps you finish. Twitter, although quite addicting, is a fun way to connect with writers and share your daily struggles and victories.
    If you’re a book blogger, write. If you’re a writer, start a book blog!

    Like

    1. I love how truly supportive the book blogger community is. It’s such a safe place with little competition and lots of encouragement. I’m not allowed to have an account on Twitter, but it looks like a lot of writers have lots of really insightful chats there. It’s probably quite useful for learning how to cut the clutter from your writing, too. NaNo is such an amazing event, and I love the motivational atmosphere that always surrounds the blogosphere around the time of a NaNo event.

      Like

  9. Very true! I’m amazed every day by how lovely and supportive book bloggers are to fellow writers. Please don’t be afraid to join the community – no one I know has ever regretted it. ❀

    Like

  10. I definitely agree with this post entirely!

    I’ve been a writer since maybe 2012? It started with a HORRIBLE Twilight fanfiction. I actually cry when I read it. However, it needed to happen to get me where I am. Currently, I’m posting on Wattpad and I’ve managed to rack up 7k reads and counting, which is a huge accomplishment for me. never did I think that anyone would want to read what I write. Well, guess it isn’t garbage, right?

    Like

    1. Don’t worry. I cringe (and laugh) at all my old writing, and I’m sure everyone else does too. At the same time, though, it’s nice to see how much I’ve improved, and it really motivates me to see that improvement and growth in my writing. Wow, 7k reads? That’s amazing, Nova! Congrats!

      Like

  11. This post spoke to me. Seriously, this is probably one of my favorite posts ever. As a reader and blogger, I’ve always thought about creating my own works. It usually just ends on one chapter, because I don’t have the motivation. Possibly due to what you’ve pointed out – doubt. I think I’ll get there some day, and once again, this was a wonderfully encouraging post. Kudos to you, Ana! πŸ˜€

    Like

  12. I don’t really consider myself a book blogger but I am a writer, and I think this is an awesome list simply because it is so specific, and we certainly don’t have enough writers out there. This is a great encouragement, and all your points are so true. We all have the words in us, especially if we’re accustomed to using themβ€”here’s to hoping more book bloggers enter the fray, eh?

    Like

    1. Oh, we book bloggers and just bloggers in general definitely have the words in us to write book length works. I think we often don’t see that because the posts themselves are short, but together the word count is bulky, and that’s basically what a novel is. It’s a ton of short chapters that make up one huge story.

      Like

  13. Like Naban above me, I’ve always considered it, but what worries me is the critics. Even though I review, my reviews are almost always respectful and I rarely HATE a book and always try to find the positive. But I’m not all that thick skinned to write myself. I have no doubt that the first review that hated it, I’d cry hysterically for days. That, and the fact that I have no talent. I’d love to read any drafts that book bloggers would offer me. Anyone?

    Anyone? *crickets chirping*
    Lovely post Ana, really enjoy seeing the other side of blogging / writing ❀

    Like

    1. Critics worry me so much, too, Kelly. I used to think that I would not read reviews for my writing, but in reality, I think that’s hard to avoid. The book blogosphere is so wide and there’s so many preferences, but I still think a negative review would set me back. Still, I try to push that out of my head and just write because it’s fun. I know a lot of bloggers post their drafts on Wattpad, so you might want to look into that. Some writers also put out general calls for beta readers.

      Thanks!

      Like

  14. I’m all for Number 3!! The Bookternet is THE BEST. Actually, the Internet in general. If you only know where to go. But, yeah, Book People (be they bloggers, writers, agents, publishers or straight-up readers) are the best people. I have a WIP and it’s nowhere near a decent draft but I’m enjoying the process (although it’s frustrating at times, too). Nice article!

    Like

  15. Yes! Definitely love reasons 2 and 3. I think book bloggers might really love writing. If they don’t want to come up with their own plot, then they could always try fanfiction or retellings (I adore retellings).

    Really liked this post, it got me thinking πŸ™‚

    ~Emily

    Like

    1. Fanfiction and retellings are both excellent options as well, Emily. Thanks for bringing that up. I am obsessed with fairytale retellings, and I think they’re a great exercise for writers. Retellings give you a basis for the plot, but also help you infuse your own plot elements into the mix to tell an even better story.

      I’m glad you enjoyed this post!

      Like

  16. I think trying to write your own pieces of creative writing definitely makes you appreciate the effort authors go to a lot more! I used to be a bit doubtful of myself in coming up with new ideas and transforming those into stories, but these days I find it nice to experiment once in a while. Love this post Ana πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Isn’t the amount of words we put on the Internet astounding? I had never looked at it that way before, but the other day I was trying to estimate how many words I’ve written through blog posts, and I was astounded by the amount because I haven’t even been blogging for that long.

      Like

  17. Book bloggers have a real advantage when it comes to writing actually. They’re always around books and immersed in the worlds of books. They know what works and what doesn’t. Book bloggers have real taste. And all that knowledge really stands them in good stead when it comes to writing. So I totally agree. Book bloggers, don’t be shy of writing! Even if you only do it for yourself, you have great capabilities when it comes to writing. Great post Ana!

    Like

  18. This is such a fabulous post. You’re right, with all the reviews I’ve written (most of them going as far as 1000 words! And even 2500!!! LOL) I might as well have written a book. I’ve written fanfics for years, but I’m just not confident in my writing, but you inspired me so much with this post. I should just go and do it especially since I know what I like in a book and what I don’t like in a book and there are so many people around me that would support me in everything, especially in this one. Thank you so much, Ana!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

    1. Wow, then you really have written a ton of words, Faye. I love reading long interviews because they are usually so thoughtful. You should definitely try creative writing because with both the amount of words you write and the amount of words you read, you have that ability to successfully critique your own writing. You can do it! I’m so glad I inspired you.

      Like

  19. Such an inspiring post Ana!It’s my dream to be a writer one day,but I’ve never thought it would be possible.But your post boosted my confidence:)

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

