The King’s Scrolls Blog Tour

Today I’m participating in The King’s Scrolls blog tour for The Ilyon Chronicles by Jaye L. Knight, a series that I’ve heard only good about, and really want to read. Stay tuned for an interview and  a giveaway!

Displaying BlogTour-TKS2.jpg

About the Book

Following the harrowing events that brought them to Landale Forest, Jace and Kyrin have settled comfortably into their new lives and the mission of protecting those under the emperor’s persecution. The fast approach of winter brings with it the anticipation of a quiet few months ahead. That is until the arrival of four mysterious, dragon-riding cretes who seek aid in a mission of great importance—not only to their own people, but to all followers of Elôm.

Hidden in the vast mining valley north of Valcré, a faithful crete has spent years sharing his knowledge with the destitute miners and their families and is known to possess what may be Arcacia’s last surviving copies of the King’s Scrolls—the Word of Elôm. Joining the cretes, those in Landale must find the crete teacher and bring him to safety, but it is a race against time. Should Daican’s men find him first, execution and the destruction of the Scrolls is certain.

When disaster strikes, all seems lost. Could Elôm have a plan even in the enemy’s triumph?

Available on Amazon!

Buy Now

Resistance Kindle Sale

Haven’t begun the adventure into Ilyon? From February 17th – 23rd, get Resistance , the award-winning first book of Ilyon Chronicles for your Kindle on sale for only 99 cents! Check it out on Amazon!

About the Author

Jaye L. Knight is a homeschool graduated indie author with a passion for writing Christian fantasy and clean new adult fiction. Armed with an active imagination and love for adventure, Jaye weaves stories of truth, faith, and courage with the message that even in the deepest darkness, God’s love shines as a light to offer hope. She has been penning stories since the age of eight and resides in the Northwoods of Wisconsin.

You can connect with Jaye on her website, blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter, and Etsy.

The Interview

1) What is your writing process like? 

I suppose that kind of depends on the book I’m working on. Each one is unique in certain ways, but I do sort of follow a standard process. As soon as I have an idea I know I want to work on, I pretty much just start writing. That is how I get to know the characters and get a feel for the story. I’m not much of an outliner, but I do take alot of notes. I try never to do much editing as I’m writing the first draft. I just get it written, no matter how cringe-worthy it might be. It’s better than frustrating myself trying to get it perfect and then getting sick of the story. And I actually enjoy editing. It’s a huge relief to me to finally have a story out of my head and down on paper/Word document. Once I let it sit for a bit, then I begin my intense editing phase. After I’m happy with it, it goes off to my beta readers. I then apply their changes and print it out for a final read through before the finished copy goes off to a proofreader. Once I apply those corrections, it’s ready for publication!

2) Who is your favorite character and why? 

Jace! Yeah, I adore him. He’s my favorite character of any I’ve written over the years. He and I share a lot in common as far as our personalities. He’s so easy to write because I understand and know him so completely. That makes writing really fun. I’ve just loved progressing through his story line and watching him grow.

3) Do you have any tips for writers who may be facing the daunting task of editing their novel?Definitely brush up on the writing craft. Skim over some of your favorite writing articles or books, especially if they’re about something you really want to improve on. When I started editing Resistance for publication, I knew I wanted to focus specifically on deep point-of-view since that was something I really noticed in my favorite novels. So I read a ton about deep POV and worked hard to apply what I learned. Also, one thing that really helps me is reading a couple of pages of one of my favorite books right before I sit down to edit. By reading the work of an author I really admire, I see what I’m striving for and it helps my brain pick out things that just don’t sound good in my own writing. I also suggest printing your book out at some point and reading it aloud. That really helps me find where sentences aren’t flowing the way I want them to.

4) What’s the best experience you’ve had as an author?

Well, last year Resistance won a bronze medal in the Readers’ Favorite International Book Award Contest. To come to the realization that I was an award-winning author was beyond incredible. I mean, you dream about such things when you start writing, but it’s a really, really hard job, and sometimes it just doesn’t feel like you’re getting anywhere. So to have that happen was amazing. But even more than that, I’m enjoying the growing fan base Ilyon Chronicles has. I have an Ilyon Chronicles group on Goodreads that has been very active, and it’s absolutely delightful to read and interact with everyone on there. Just like winning an award, you dream of dedicated readers, but actually achieving that is beyond awesome.

5) What is your go-to writing fuel?

Movies. And books. And music. 🙂 It depends. Great movies always inspire me and make me want to write. The visual aspect of it is really great for fueling my imagination. But I do get a lot of inspiration from books as well. However, I don’t have a lot of time for movies or reading, so music is what I turn to most often. I LOVE epic music. I listen to a lot of artists like Audiomachine and Future World Music.

Thanks for letting me interview you, Jaye! Now here’s a giveaway and the rest of the blog tour schedule.

Giveaway

Share in the excitement of the release and enter to win a themed Epic Winter giveaway! Prize pack includes an autographed copy of The King’s Scrolls, a CD by Future World Music (some of Jaye’s favorite writing music), a dragon bookmark, a stone hawk pendant (much like the ones mentioned in the book), and a few packages of Twining’s Winter Spice tea to sip while you read! (Giveaway is open to US residents only. Cannot be shipped internationally.)

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1f7330c114/)

The Schedule

 

Tuesday, February 17

Tour Introduction at Jaye L. Knight

Author Interview at Crafty Booksheeps

Review at Musings of a Middle Age Author

Author Interview at Seasons of Humility

Author Interview and Book Spotlight at A Brighter Destiny

Review and Author Interview at A Writer’s Heart

Wednesday, February 18

Review at To Be A Person

Author Interview at Leah’s Bookshelf

Review at The Destiny of One

Author Interview and Book Spotlight at Reflection

Author Interview and Character Spotlight (Liam) at Thilly Little Nothings

Author Interview at Dreams and Dragons

Book Spotlight at One Servant’s Heart

Book Spotlight at Venturing to Other Worlds

Thursday, February 19

Q&A Session at Ilyon Chronicles – Behind the Scenes

Review and Author Interview at Crumpets ‘n’ Cream

Character Interview (Marcus) at Morgan Elizabeth Huneke

Review and Author Interview at Spreading the Word

Character Spotlight (Marcus) at Reflection

Author Interview at Rivershore Books

Review and Author Interview at Red Lettering

Review at Written Rest

Friday, February 20

Q&A Session at Ilyon Chronicles – Behind the Scenes

Review at Melody Jackson, Author

Review at Anything, Everything

Author Interview at Guns and Roses

Character Interview (Talas) at The Writer’s Window

Review at O. Scarlett! Reviews

Review and Author Interview at Zerina Blossom

Review at Leah’s Bookshelf

Saturday, February 21

Q&A Session at Ilyon Chronicles – Behind the Scenes

Review at The American Anglophile

Review and Book Spotlight at Vic’s Media Room

Author Interview at Butterflies of the Imagination

Review and Author Interview at Tialla’s Tellings

Review and Character Interview (Liam) at Writings, Ramblings, and Reflections

Character Spotlight and Character Interview (Timothy) at Written Rest

Sunday, February 22

Review and Author Interview at Claire M. Banschbach– Thoughts and Rants

Character Spotlight (Aaron) at The Art of Storytelling

Book and Character Spotlight (General Veshiron) at Tell Tale Book Reviews

Review at Reality Calling

Character Spotlight (Leetra) at Zerina Blossom

Monday, February 23

Q&A Session at Ilyon Chronicles – Behind the Scenes

Character Interview (Captain Darq) at Knitted By God’s Plan

Review at Backing Books

Realm Explorers post at Letters from Annie Douglass Lima

Character Interview (Aaron) at However Improbable

Character Spotlight (Daniel) at Finding the True Fairy Tale

Author Interview at Pencils Can Change the World

Tuesday, February 24

Q&A Session at Ilyon Chronicles – Behind the Scenes

Review at Shire Reviews

Review and Author Interview at Elvish Pens, Fantastical Writings

Review and Author Interview at The Pen of a Ready Writer

Character Interview (Leetra) at A Writer’s Faith

Wednesday, February 25

Tour Conclusion at Jaye L. Knight

* * *

13 thoughts on “The King’s Scrolls Blog Tour

  1. Oooh, this series looks really interesting, I haven’t read much Christian fantasy, because its harder to find, but this series looks pretty cool. This was a great interview and post, Ana. Sadly I don’t live in the US, so no giveaway 😦

    Like

      1. Quality Christian fantasy is really difficult to find, but I’ve heard wonderful things about the Ilyon Chronicles. If you’re looking for another Christian fantasy series, I highly recommend the Tales of Goldstone Wood. It’s wonderful for both Christians and non Christians alike.

        Thanks for telling me about the odd formatting. This is why I should preview my posts before publishing them. 🙂 I fixed it, now.

        Like

  2. I usually don’t read Christian novels, but still, Resistance sounds absolutely amazing – I may have to give it a try one of these days. 😉 Awesome interview, Ana. And congratulations, Jaye – you’ve created something beautiful!

    Like

  3. OHHHH. EXCITING! And how cool to win awards. ^_^ That’ would be an epic dream come true, right?! I can’t even remember the last time I read a Christian fantasy….probably Wayne Thomas Batson’s books? (I totally grew up on them and was in love. haha!) Congrats to the author for her book’s release! *throws confetti*

    Like

  4. This book tour is HUGE! I’ve seen it on so many blogs. The book/series looks very interesting. I’ll have to check them out! I always love to support authors in my own age range, especially if those authors are homeschool grads writing clean fantasy! That has got to be my favorite genre.
    Thank you for commenting on Inklined, Ana.
    ~Sarah Faulkner

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

