Book Review: A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd

image2 (4)

 About the Book

Title: A Snicker of Magic

Author: Natalie Lloyd

Source: I won it from the library.

Publication Date: February 25th, 2014

Pages: 311

Blurb: Midnight Gulch used to be a magical place, a town where people could sing up thunderstorms and dance up sunflowers. But that was long ago, before a curse drove the magic away. Twelve-year-old Felicity knows all about things like that; her nomadic mother is cursed with a wandering heart.

But when she arrives in Midnight Gulch, Felicity thinks her luck’s about to change. A “word collector,” Felicity sees words everywhere—shining above strangers, tucked into church eves, and tangled up her dog’s floppy ears—but Midnight Gulch is the first place she’s ever seen the word “home.” And then there’s Jonah, a mysterious, spiky-haired do-gooder who shimmers with words Felicity’s never seen before, words that make Felicity’s heart beat a little faster.

Felicity wants to stay in Midnight Gulch more than anything, but first, she’ll need to figure out how to bring back the magic, breaking the spell that’s been cast over the town . . . and her mother’s broken heart.

My Review

You know what they say: one of the most important elements of a book is the author’s voice. This book has that. Natalie Lloyd’s voice is lyrical and beautiful. It makes Felicity, the sweet and cheerful main character’s voice unique and it also adds an extra flavor to the story in the form of fresh description. The language that the author uses to describe things in a fresh way. She describes things in a different way that you might have never thought of before, but makes sense. Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“Forgetting people you love is impossible. It’d be like forgetting how to breathe.”

“Home isn’t just a house or a city or a place; home is what happens when you’re brave enough to love people.”

“That’s a wonderful word: maybe. I watched maybe stretch out, long and starry. The letter y looked as fiery as the tail of a comet; it looped around our shoulders, connecting us all together.”

See what I mean? This book is full of notable quotables. I could go on and on.

This book also makes readers imagine, and that is honestly the most important thing that an MG book can do. Kids love to let their imagination go wild, and a book that makes that happen is a book that kids (and even teens!) will love. This book has that. It had ice cream with memories woven into it (I really want to try Blackberry Sunrise), people that could make storms dance, and so many other wonderful elements.

image5 (1)

 

The best part of this book? The characters. Natalie Lloyd introduces a vast range of characters, with a little bit of diversity thrown right in. First, we have Felicity Juniper Pickle. Felicity is a cheerful girl who wants to settle down instead of traveling restlessly from place to place because her mother can’t settle down. She loves to collect words and weave them together. And yet, she’s nervous about those words. She does not feel comfortable sharing her words with everyone. At the same time, she’s a strong girl, who takes things into her own hands and tries to make things better.

Then, there’s Jonah Pickett. Jonah Pickett befriends Felicity when she doesn’t have any friends in Midnight Gulch. He is also wheelchair bound. However, the author portrays Jonah in such a way that she shows his wheelchair does not define who he is, and it doesn’t make him any less a person. He, along with a slew of other quirky characters,  helps Felicity realize that her words matter and that they can make a difference.

image5 (2)

 

All in all, this book is a beautiful and imaginative, which equals the perfect MG book.

My Rating

fourbutterflies

37 thoughts on “Book Review: A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd

  1. My mom read this out loud to us last year and all of us loved it! Natale Loyd has a beautiful voice and her characters were equally beautiful, and each one different and unique in their own ways.

    Like

  2. I haven’t heard of this book before, but it sounds cool! I’ll have to see if our library has it. I normally read YA Fantasy, but it might be worth reading this book:)

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you enjoyed this! I absolutely loved it. I adore quirky characters, and this one had them in abundance. You’re definitely right about the lyrical writing as well! It was gorgeous. Lovely review!

    Like

  4. I remember seeing this book! It just sounds really unique. BUT ICE CREAM. What does ice cream have to do with the story? Ok moving on. I’m glad you loved the book! It’s great to see authors writing in characters with disabilities that don’t define who they really are 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This book sounds fantastic. Added it to my TBR straight away. I’ve been looking for a lighthearted MG fantasy to read for some time after I got hooked on The School For Good and Evil (AMAAAAZING book, I did a review of it) so I’m glad you posted this. I’ve been meaning to check this blog but I’ve just been so busy >.< Great post, and I hope to read more soon!

    Like

  6. This sounds so great! I agree with what you said about the voice of a book — and this one certainly seems like it has some really good quotes in it. Think this one if definitely going on my TBR list now. I don’t read that much MG but would like to read much more of it.

    Like

  7. I basically need zero encouragement to read books about ice cream. xD I really want to try this one! ALTHOUGH. Will it make me crave ice cream?! I might need to eat some beforehand… 😉

    Like

  8. This looks like such a cute and fun mg read! I mean, it has ice cream, so what more needs to be said right? Throw in great characters and writing, and that makes a good book, whether it be MG, YA, or adult.

    Like

  9. I really like hearing about good MG books! I used to think that I had “grown” out of those books, but now I realize that a well written book surpasses genre preferences and age! Also, ice cream.

    Like

    1. I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of a well written MG book. Some of them are cliche and very superficial, but ones like A Snicker of Magic that hold depth and are unique, are the books I’ll never grow out of. And then there’s the ice cream, of course. That makes the book infinitely better even though it was already infinitely good.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

