The Monthly Recap: February

 

 

february

And it’s time for another monthly recap on the blog. Enjoy, and be sure to tell me how your month went in the comments!

LIFE

My life this month was busy, hectic, chaotic and pretty stressful. I got pounded hard by school and I feel like the only thing I’ve been doing this month is studying, doing homework and worrying about my grades. It’s not that my grades are bad, but I’m kind of a perfectionist, so when I don’t get a 100 on something I get annoyed at myself. I know I shouldn’t because it makes everything stressful, but I can’t help it. I also have a standardized test coming up that’s new this year. I know almost nothing about it, and it’s much harder than most standardized tests. It doesn’t count for anything yet, but it’s still stress inducing.

I also went to my first robotics competition this month. It was a lot of fun, and our robot performed well. Our team is broken up into subteams (I’m in the programming subteam), and it was nice to see the work of all the subteams come together.

And now, for a most interesting story entitled THE FIRE DRILL THAT WASN’T A DRILL. It happened during school when I was calmly eating lunch with my friends. Baked mac and cheese with bacon and broccoli, if you were wondering. All of a sudden, the fire alarm began to ring, and at the sound of it, the whole cafeteria looked up as one. At first I thought that it was a fire drill, but that wouldn’t make sense because we just had one a couple days before, and we aren’t supposed to have drills during lunch. When I realized that this wasn’t drill, my first instinct was to finish up the two bites of lunch that I had left. I know, I know, so bad of me, but I can’t help loving food, okay? Instead, I quickly put on my coat and backpack and headed out with my friends and the rest of the students in the cafeteria. By that time, these huge metal fire containment doors that I didn’t even know existed were coming down all over the place, and it seemed like we were being trapped in the cafeteria. So people started screaming. Yea. Luckily some teachers came in and ushered us towards three doors that led outside. 400 students trying to go through three doors is not a smart idea because people can move INCREDIBLY SLOW.

Fortunately, all of us students in the cafeteria got outside fine, and so did the other students in the building.For the remainder of the time that we were waiting, we basically milled around and talked with out friends. Some kids even got in their cars and turned on music, which was interesting and also odd given the atmosphere of the whole event. When the firetrucks came, everyone started cheering. It was an hour before we finally got back inside and to our classes. The fire turned out to be a small gas leak from one of the food classes, but luckily no one got hurt. I would say that it was fun, but I probably shouldn’t, so I’ll just say it was adventurous. 🙂 But it was still fun.

READING

This was a pitiful reading month for me, you guys. Want to know how many books I read this month? Wait for it…wait for it…I read a grand total of THREE BOOKS! Sad, yes, but I told you I had a really busy month. At least they were all really good books.

                                                                   The Theory That Would Not Die by Sharon Bertsch McGrayne  Veiled Rose by Anne Elisabeth Stengl  Fairest by Marissa Meyer

WRITING

Lots of editing went down this month, you guys. I finished the second draft of ILLUSIONS, which basically consisted of me cleaning up minor issues in my novel. I thought that I would just do a basic second draft edit of this novel for practice, and then just shelve it to start a new one. But instead, going through the second draft made me so much more excited for this book. It needs a ton of work, but I’m excited about it. This month, I’ll be plotting and starting a complete rewrite for the third draft. I’m so excited!

BLOGGING

Today was a pretty good blogging month. I missed a few blog posts, but I also wrote some great ones that got a huge response. Here were some of the highlights:

ANNOUNCEMENTS

I have so many comments that I have to reply to, but don’t worry, I shall get to that soon. It also factors into tomorrow’s post, in which I’ll explain a hiatus of sorts. You’ll see.

So, how was your month? Hopefully you had a better month for reading than I did.

signature

31 thoughts on “The Monthly Recap: February

  1. Whoa whoa whoa. Hold on….

    Did you at least finish off the bacon? I hope so.

    And it wasn’t a pitiful reading month for two reasons. 1. Veiled Rose. 2. FAIREST. 🙂 At least you picked ’em good!

    Like

    1. Haha, yes, I did finish the bacon. We were able to finish our lunches later when we came back inside, so I was able to finish my mac and cheese. Yep, I really enjoyed my reads this month, but especially Veiled Rose. Fairest was good, too, but a little dark for my taste. And I loved the nonfiction book I read as well.

      Like

  2. THAT FIRE THING DOES SOUND FUN. Even if it…wasn’t. Haha. I know what you mean about school – I’m a bit of a perfectionist, too 😦 And since this is my last year of school, everything counts!!! Congrats on finishing your draft and have a lovely March 🙂

    Like

    1. It was really fun, even if though it was an emergency. Just don’t tell anyone I said that. 🙂 Good luck with school. For us American students junior year (11th grade) counts the most, but senior year is pretty important as well. Thanks, and you have a lovely March as well.

      Like

  3. THE FIRE DRILL THING IS CRAZY BECAUSE ALMOST THE EXACT THING HAPPENED AT OUR SCHOOL. It was the-fire-drill-that-wasn’t-a-fire-nor-a-drill. I was at lunch as well (crazy!) and it turned out that one of the special needs kids had pulled it, not realizing. But wow. What a crazy coincidence! Did you enjoy Fairest? I loved it 🙂

    Like

    1. What a coincidence! At first when I hadn’t finished reading all of your comment I got really weirded out for a minute because I thought we went to the same school. But alas, that is not the case. That would be kind of awesome if it was that coincidental, though. It’s still kind of cool, haha. Yes, I did enjoy Fairest. Even though it was a little bit too dark for my taste, it was so well written and I loved seeing the backstory of Levana.

      Like

      1. Haha! That would be really cool, though. 🙂 I thought the same until you said it actually was a fire, and then I was like ooooooh. It was an extremely dark book, wasn’t it? Nothing was really happy. But yeah, I feel we did get to know Levana better.

        Like

  4. *high-fives you because we’re both in the “I read three books in February” club*
    Ooh! I totally forgot to mention this in my Monthly Highlights posts, but our fire alarms went off, too! Except it was at our house. At 2 in the morning. It was a little freaky. But, a ‘fun’ adventure. There was no fire, so we think it was just a bad fire alarm.
    I’m glad your school fire was nothing serious!

    Like

  5. Yeah, I know what you mean on being unsatisfied with anything less than a 100. I used to do that until switching to the IB scale, where a 7 is a wider range and makes me just as happy. And kudos on the second draft! I’m experiencing rather the opposite problem; I was planning to edit this one a few more times, but the creative juices are just leaking out of me. We’ll see if it’s just the plot bunnies annoying me or if this really isn’t ready.

    Like

    1. I’m glad to hear from someone that understands that perfectionist feeling. I’ve never heard of the IB scale, but it sounds interesting. I don’t know how I would feel about it, though. It’s too bad editing isn’t working for you. Earlier in the month, I, too, was thinking that I would edit my novel a few times, but then I decided I was going to give up on it after the second draft. And then inspiration hit and now I want to continue editing it-hopefully towards publication. Hopefully the same will happen for you!

      Like

  6. The fire drill thing sounds very scary! Haha, I’m a perfectionist too. I hate doing worse on a test than I knew I could have. It’s totally okay for you to take a break from blogging (if that’s what your hint about a hiatus meant) to refresh, even though we’ll miss you. Alas. I hope you have an awesome March, though.

    Like

    1. It was scary at first, but then I realized that everyone was safe and it turned into a fun adventure. I hate that feeling as well-especially when I make a stupid mistake and I wish I could just go back and see my stupid mistake while I was taking the test. Ugh. I am taking a break from blogging for a little bit to refresh and recharge, because life is a getting pretty busy for me. You have an awesome March as well!

      Like

  7. I read very little this month, too: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson which was so touching and sweet and even made me cry a little. I’ve also been reading some manga; I read the first volume of Full Metal Alchemist and have started the first volume of Naruto. It’s fun to read something a little different. Oh, and I finaaaally started the Mazerunner and Plenilune. Plenilune is so long, but the writing is gorgeous so I’ve been enjoying it in small bits here and there. I also have a bookmark in Shadow Hand, but haven’t gotten back to it yet…

    Like

    1. Second Chance Summer sounds like such a beautiful book. I usually don’t cry over books, but I do come close to crying sometimes, and Second Chance Summer sounds like it would make me almost cry. I’ve never read manga, but a ton of my friends really enjoy it. I heard that Plenilune was kind of mature, so I’ll probably wait on that one, but I’m looking forward to the gorgeous writing. Yay for the Tales of Goldstone Wood. I’m slowly making my way through the series and I just finished Moonblood. The books just get better and better throughout the series, and the characters get so much more loveable.

      Like

  8. My school started up again two weeks ago, and I have been busy too. Plus I have a chemistry quiz today, and a lot of AP homework and business, and I only read 2 books last week (to be clear I usually read 4 books every week) Good luck on school, Ana robotics sounds fun.
    I’m in one classroom opposite where all the cars are parked on the road, and every time the alarm goes off it sounds like the fire alarm, at leas tto me 😉
    -Shanti

    Like

    1. School really does take up a ton of time. I haven’t started taking AP classes yet, but I’ll be taking an AP class next year, and those will just keep on increasing in the years following. I’m sure I’ll be even more busy then. Robotics is really fun! Well, those car alarms must startle you every time, haha.

      Like

  9. My school’s firedrill is just walking outside and sitting on the field with teacher’s going “NO TALKING” the entire time. However, I have no idea what a real one would be like! At least it wasn’t a lockdown. Those get REAL intense, drill or not.

    HAHA the food thing? I would’ve done it too, just saying. YOU IS NOT ALONE.

    And Fairest was amazing. I LOVED it so much!

    My Stacking the Shelves + Montly Recap here.

    – Nova @ Out of Time

    Like

    1. Usually our fire drills entail no talking and lots of organization, but since it wasn’t a drill, everything descended into a loosely organized type of chaos. Lockdowns are also pretty intense. There was one particularly lockdown that we had once, and we all started freaking out because it was so long, and even my teacher thought that it was real.

      YAY I AM GLAD I IS NOT ALONE!

      Fairest was so well written, but honestly all of Marissa Meyer’s books are well written and enjoyable.

      Like

  10. Your fire drill story is hilarious! Also, congrats on your robotic success and I hope you take down that test with confidence and poise and can flaunt the awesome score—okay, maybe that’s a little much. I really liked your fangirl post, and your post about convincing book bloggers to write. And, of course, I look forward to tomorrow’s post!

    Like

  11. Ugh, sorry to hear you had so much work to do this month – February’s been a bit of a coasting month in school for me, what with Cebu and then Chinese New Year Break, but work is picking up now, so I can certainly relate! And on the fire drill: may I just echo the others in saying that I am so with you in that I would finish the last two bites? If there’s a fire at my school, I’d really rather go through it on a full stomach, thank you very much! 😉

    Like

    1. It’s so great that you had a relatively relaxing month. Good luck with your schoolwork in March. Hopefully your workload won’t be that much larger than February’s one. Ha, yep. It was a really difficult decision. Do I finish my lunch, or get out because all these scary looking metal doors that I didn’t know existed are coming down around me? Luckily
      I got to come back and finish my lunch.

      Like

  12. You are in a robotics team? That is coolness personified *nods* At least you picked quality with the books you read. I’m dying to get my hands on Fairest. If it’s any consolation, I only read about five books in February. Normally it’s nearer 12. It’s amazing when editing gets you all enthused for a book, isn’t it? There’s nothing quite like seeing something you wrote start to live up to its massive potential.

    Like

  13. Aw, thanks, Imogen. It’s a ton of fun, and it definitely has helped me mark my place as a girl in STEM. 12 books a month is a lot, Imogen, and five books is still good, but generally it sounds like a lot of people had a bad reading month in February. YES, it’s so exciting for me to be seeing this story get better and better. This is why I love writing!

    Like

  14. THE FIRE DRILL THING SOUNDS PERF. I had a sort of not so much fun adventure today. On second thoughts, it was terrible. It depends on how fun you find getting stuck outside during a full on hail in freezing temperatures with only an umbrella and your sister to keep you company XD

    Like

  15. I feel you on school; my spring school slump has hit. Hang in there, summer is almost near! 🙂 I’m so impressed that you’re writing a novel. I hope revisions continue to go well!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

