How Do You Prepare for Camp NaNo? : A Quiz

Participant 2015 - Web Banner

So…Camp NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow. *cue major freak out because WHERE IN THE WORLD DID MARCH GO?* Hopefully you’re not too panicked, but I’m pretty sure all of you are feeling a mix of nervousness and excitement right now. That said, here’s a fun little quiz to see how YOU prepare for NaNoWriMo. Please, please, PLEASE don’t let this quiz get you stressed out. It’s just a (hopefully) fun little thing, and there are no right or wrong results. Everyone works differently, and even if you think you haven’t planned as much as you wanted to, don’t stress out too much. Just have fun with NaNo and remember that you can always go back and revise your work. Also, every word you write brings you closer to being a better writer. YOU CAN DO THIS! And now I’m rambling, so here’s the quiz.

1) What have you done to flesh out your characters?

a. Dude, I have no need to flesh out my characters. I’m only allowed 140 characters for each tweet, so I need to minimize-NOT maximize. Wait-that’s what you’re talking about, right?

b. Well. I know their names and their eye colors. I’ll just let them grow on their own for the rest of the story.

c. Oh, you know. The basic stuff. I’ve figured out what each of my characters wants, internally and externally, as well as their basic personalities and character arcs.

d. LOTS OF THINGS. I’ve done detailed character profiles, interviewed all of them, done voice journals for all of them, and plotted out every detail of their character arcs.

2) How much do you know about your setting?

a. I live in a house in a town. And then there’s other houses. And plant things. And other stuff.

b. I kind of see a mental picture of my setting in my head, you know? I just haven’t written any of it down.

c. I wrote a few details down about the nature and different characteristics of the setting in my book.

d. I basically did the same thing as I did with my characters-at least when it comes to the profile part. Oh, yea, and I drew this huge map. Maps make me happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

3) How did you go about figuring out the plot of your novel?

a. Plot? The only plotting I’ve been doing is figuring out a whole list of April Fool’s Day pranks for each person in my life. *snickers*

b. Well, I kind of mapped out the story in my head a little bit. I’ve done it in bits and pieces when I’m doing mindless tasks.

c. I have some of the major plot points written down, but the rest is still stewing in my head.

d. I have a stack of 60 index cards with all of my scenes written on them sitting write next to me right now. Do you know how many beat sheets I had to reference? Do you know how long that took me? Do you know that now I can’t read a book without noticing all these plot points and what page number they fall on?

4) Tone and POV is something that is prevalent throughout a whole book. Do you know what your tone and POV are going to be?

a. You know what tone I’m speaking in right now? An angry tone, because WHAT EVEN IS THIS QUIZ?

b. I’ll use whatever tone and POV I naturally start writing with on the first day. And if it doesn’t work, then there’s this thing called revision.

c. I think I know, but I might end up changing my decision.

d. Of course. I’ve already tried out my opening scene in different POVs and tones, so I could pick the best one.

5) Finally, what is your advice for other Camp NaNoers like you?

a. Sit back, relax, and watch all of those NaNoers work themselves into a frenzy over their word counts. And laugh. Because I’m heartless like that.

b. Go with the flow, man. Just go with the flow. Don’t worry…beeeeeeeeeeeeee happy.

c. Remember all the basic plot points in your novel, but don’t be afraid to veer away from your outline. That way you’ll surprise yourself and your readers.

d. DOT EVERY I AND CROSS EVERY T BEFORE YOU START WRITING. OR ELSE YOU’LL FAIL. AND YOUR WHOLE NOVEL WILL BE WORD VOMIT.

How did you do?

Mostly As = The Non NaNoer:ย You’re not even doing Camp NaNo this year, or maybe you don’t even know what Camp NaNo is. Either way, you might want to check it out, because it’s a ton of fun.

Mostly Bs = The Pantser:ย You like to let your story run wild with minimal plotting. For you, that’s what results in the best type of story.

Mostly Cs = The Plantser:ย You’re a mix between a plotter and a pantser. You’ve done some plotting, but you also want to leave room to surprise yourself and chase after some of those plot bunnies.

Mostly Ds = The Plotter:ย You need to plot out every single thing about your story during the month or couple of months before Camp NaNo starts. Even as NaNo approaches, you still doubt that you’ve done enough plotting. In fact, if it weren’t for Camp NaNo, you would probably spend a whole year obsessively plotting this story.

So obviously, I exaggerated a little bit. I got the plotter, as I’ve spent all of March doing some plotting for my novel everyday. I’ve done character profiles, setting profiles, and I’ve written down the goal, conflict, outcome/disaster, reaction, dilemma and decision for each of my sixty scenes. I’m glad I did this, because otherwise I would be terrified to start writing. Pantsing works for some, but it really doesn’t work for me.ย ย Once again, remember that it doesn’t matter what your results were. What works for you is perfectly fine.

What did you get on the quiz? How have you spent March in regards to your NaNo novel? And finally, ARE YOU EXCITED FOR NANO, OR WHAT? NaNo really is a wonderful event, and no matter your word count, I know you’ll have fun and make progress with your novels.ย 

signature

49 thoughts on “How Do You Prepare for Camp NaNo? : A Quiz

  1. Haha. This is a great quiz! I’m not participating in Camp Nano, but I would have gotten b’s all around. I’m a pantser. A lot of what I write IS word vomit! And that’s ok! Because there’s this thing you’ve mentioned called revision. It works magic.

    Good luck at camp! And write lots of words and things!

    Like

    1. I tried to be a pantser for the first draft of my Camp NaNo novel, but it ended up in a bunch of word vomit that caused me to have to completely rewrite the whole story, which is what I’m doing for Camp NaNo. It’ so frustrating, which is why I think planning is for me. However, if pantsing works for you, that’s completely fine. Everyone works differently.

      Thanks!

      Like

  2. From the quiz, I got plotter/pantser, but I think that if I had heard about Camp NaNo /before/ half-way into march, I would have been a plotter. (Except for the map. I have NO idea what to do for that!) But cool quiz, Ana! I enjoyed it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Oh, yea. Half a month would be way too short for me to plot my book thoroughly-unless writing was a full time job and I didn’t have to go to school. I don’t really know how to draw a map, either, but apparently lots of writers do draw maps. Maps annoy me in general, and I don’t understand them, so I just avoid them. I’m glad you enjoyed the quiz, and good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo. I’m so glad we’re in the same cabin!

      Like

      1. Well, I had had this novel brewing for a little while, and when Faith Song emailed me about it, I took a few days to think about it, but I was outlining all the while. ๐Ÿ˜› And getting to write full-time /is/ the plan isn’t it? It’s just doing something in the meantime until we can do that! And I’m really glad we’re in the same cabin too, even if we do end up staying up a bit too late. XD

        As for drawing the map… I’ve given up on that. At least for the time being. ๐Ÿ˜›

        Like

  3. The only question I’d answer is number five, and I pick option “a” for that. XD I’m not doing Camp NaNo this coming month, but I am planning to do it in July. However I did decide sort of last-minute to do NaPoWriMo next month, so we’ll see how that goes.
    Good luck with your novel!

    Like

    1. Haha. So you’re just going to laugh at me as I struggle through NaNo. WELL THEN. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. THAT REALLY BOOSTED MY SELF ESTEEM. ๐Ÿ˜€ I really want to do Camp NaNo in July as well since I’ll be free from school. Ooh, and NaNoPoWriMo sounds really awesome, too.
      Thanks, and good luck to you with your poetry!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m actually not doing Camp NaNo this month, but I may try it for July if I don’t have summer school — so I may as well take a look at the quiz ๐Ÿ˜€ Albeit from a planning-for-planning perspective. I think I’d only figure out arcs for my characters, and maybe decide on which tropes to spin. Whereas it’s set in the same place as another shelved project, so the setting will be more in-depth. As for plot and tone, well, yes, that’s what revision is for. XD

    Like

    1. I think I’ll also do Camp NaNo in July since I won’t have school. Revision is really useful, but I’ve figured out that if I don’t plot enough, my story comes out as a total mess and revisions basically mean rewriting the whole novel all over again. But what works for you works for you.

      Like

  5. I got a planster.
    Yup. No surprise on that.
    I’ve been doing quite a bit of planning, but still have a lot of unanswered questions that will come up in April. It makes me excited (and NERVOUS) to see where my story will go. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  6. Turns out I’m a Planster. ;D Though most of my friends call me a panster because I don’t plan nearly as much as they do. ;D I’ve barely done any planning for Camp this month, I’m writing a comedy though, that doesn’t need much. =) I’m super excited to do Camp. =D

    Like

  7. Ahaha, I’m a pantser. No surprise there! (I mean, I did change novels completely one year. So, you know. :P)
    Some of the options had me cracking up! I’m rather excited for Camp now.

    Like

  8. I’m too young to do Camp NaNo. Perhaps I’ll do it un-officially. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I’m totally un-prepared for this month, so I’m a Non-NaNoer. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll have to try it in July.

    ~Lydia~ โค

    Like

  9. Plantser here. (I could see that coming.) Although I did make a map or two, and I’ve written a lot of backstory for my characters that no one will ever see. I’ve never participated in a NaNo event before, so basically I’m all excited and jittery. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  10. I got two B’s, two C’s, and a D. I’m gonna call myself a Planster, ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve already started my NaNo novel a bit (I can’t help myself) because I know I’m going to be VERY busy during April. I am so PUMPED AND SCARED.

    Like

  11. Ooh, I’m the Plantser this month. I’m usually the hugest pantser I know, so this is interesting. xD But I decided to do a fantasy novel for once this April, so a little more planning was involved. *heavy breathing*

    Like

  12. Surprisingly enough, I’m a total pantster. I know the names of my characters, their main goals, and sometimes I may even write a short character Q&A or a map of their town, but other than that, I plan maybe a few days ahead.

    With that said, I don’t do very well to create a word-count goal for myself in such short periods of time. I’ve tried NaNo and Camp NaNo year after year (since 2011), but it’s never worked for me. I think I won one year? And I was ten. My word count was like 25k. Sooo… I don’t know. I guess Nanowrimo isn’t for me. I want to do it, but I know I’m just going to stress myself out and feel like a horrible writer. :-/

    Like

    1. Sometimes I wish I could be a pantser, but I would be way too terrified to write a novel if I began planning only a few days before writing.

      NaNoWriMo definitely isn’t for everyone, so if it’s going to discourage you, then you don’t have to do it. I’m not a very fast drafter, either, but I’m actually going for 50k this month, which I’ve never done before. I hope I can do it all in one month.

      Like

  13. I’m not doing the April Session, instead I’m plotting to write a book in May. I’ll be doing July’s nano session instead. So I’ll have to make sure to come back to this!

    Like

  14. I’m doing Camp Nano this year–it’s the motivation I need to get my novel from last Nano revised and pared down to a decent second draught. I’m probably a plantser though I’d be a plotter if the stress over getting everything perfect didn’t kill me. I can’t have fun writing if I let my OCD kick in. ๐Ÿ˜›
    See ya on the forums!

    Like

      1. Your kidding, right?! You couldn’t write anything?!??!! I can’t write with a plot, I only write notes of what I want to happen and such..seriously, it’s no fun at all that way! What if you have an awesome idea???! I have no problem being a plantser, of course, everyone is different.. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve found it’s more fun to write this way..I’m doing Camp NaNo, and I have 12,060 words so far…aiming for 20,000 just in April for a total of around 30,000! I’m really excited! How about you? Only a few more hours… ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

      1. lol That’s because they are the best kind of writers. ๐Ÿ˜‰
        btw, Ana, I tagged you in a post that is not scheduled to post until Friday! I thought I would let you know now so I wouldn’t forget about it later. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  15. Very cool quiz! To be honest, I didn’t get much planning done this month as I wanted to. I made a list of characters and the basic plot points of the novel down, but I didn’t outline any scenes (like I was supposed to). So, I’ll be pretty much pantsing it this time around… which will not be good, but fun all the same. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  16. I’m a plantser who isn’t doing camp this month. All the same, I hope everybody does well and reaches their goals, and here’s to hearing about the awesome updates as they continue this month. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  17. I’m a plantser. I’m not doing NaNoWriMo because I’m not sure I can commit to writing 50,000 words in a month, but I’m definitely going to try and start my novel again. Great quiz, though! Admittedly, I used to be a complete pantser, but I found knowing at least a little bit about where the story is going helps a lot.

    Like

    1. For Camp NaNo you actually don’t have to write 50k in one month because you can choose your own word count goal. I’m aiming for 50k, but it’s my first time writing that much in one month, so I’ll see how that goes. I used to be a pantser, too, but that just resulted in a mess for me, so now I need to plot everything.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I’M NOT EVEN DOING NANO! I think I would rather work on a project for more than a month ahha, especially since I DON’T LIKE WRITING MUCH. I mean I like it but it’s hard for me ๐Ÿ˜› ALSO I definitely plan out April Fool’s Day Pranks for everyone. Yeahhh….I already have a plan for tomorrow, which hopefully goes smoothly, for me

    Like

  19. I signed up for Camp NaNo this year but I think I’m taking it slow because of everything else that is going on in my life. I do, however, want to finish that novel though. i love the idea and would be really upset at the idea of not finishing it!

    Like

  20. I’m not doing NaNo, but I am plotting a novel (I think I’ll write it in June) and I’m c. I know some scenes really well, and the basic plot and who the characters are, but its not fleshed out yet. It’l be my first time, so we’ll see. Hilarious post though. Happy April Fools, and good luck on your novel
    Shanti@weavingwaveswords

    Like

  21. I’m actually really pleased with the results because I ended up being a Plantser, and honestly that literally describes me as a writer ๐Ÿ™‚ This is such an awesome quiz! lol. It’s my first time doing NaNo this month! โค I hope all things go well because I'm kind of eager to write hehe

    Like

  22. I love this! I’m doing Camp NaNo, but my word count goal is only 10K because school gets really busy this month! Still, I’m excited to get back in to writing, and make some progress on my book. Awesome quiz, and good luck with your writing!

    Like

  23. I’m around the B area at the moment, though it really depends on the book for me. My first book, I wrote down each scene on flashcards so I knew what to write, and I knew exactly where I wanted to go with the story (because it’d been in my head for years). This Camp NaNo, I have more of a general idea of where the story is going, and as for the rest, we’ll see. I did write 2k yesterday and I had a 3k head start, so I’m happy!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

