It’s My First Blogoversary! (Not Even a Joke)

blogoversaryFirst of all, none of this is a joke, okay? LET ME REPEAT THAT FOR YOU. NONE OF THIS IS A JOKE. IT IS ACTUALLY MY BLOGOVERSARY! (I really chose the best day to start my blog, though. The first day of Camp NaNo AND April Fool’s Day?) And that means a week of special blogoversary posts including this post, what I learned from blogging, and the launch of a new feature that YOU can participate in. I know my blogging schedule has been quite rough on the edges lately, but after this week, everything will be all back to normal. Except now it’s time to party.

When I first started blogging, I didn’t really know what to expect. I just thought it would be a fun thing to do. Shortly after, a couple of my friends also started blogging, and we loved to comment on each other’s blog posts. None of them blog as often as I do anymore, but occasionally, they will blog, and I still love reading their posts. I was scared of commenting on anyone else’s blog besides the blogs of my friends at first. What would they think of me? What would I even do? Just show up and awkwardly post a comment? But soon, I began commenting on other blogs, and blogging immediately became a whole new experience.

As soon as I started commenting on other blogs, other bloggers commented on mine. Soon after, I switched to WordPress and kept on commenting on other blogs. I enjoyed their posts, and some people came to enjoy mine. Blogging became a way for me to share ideas with other people and to learn from other bloggers. I was encouraged by fellow writers, and without this encouragement and advice, I would never have finished my first novel. But I did have that encouragement and advice, and I did finish my first novel. And now I’m rewriting it. It’s frustrating, but hey, I still have the writing community behind me to give me some more motivation. My TBR pile also exploded because suddenly all the book recommendations were everywhere. And I also became attached to Goodreads.

Through reading other blogs, I was even able to narrow down my content to a specific niche, reading and writing books, but I also know that I can have the freedom to post about whatever I want-even if it means deviating from my schedule once in a while. I also discovered linkups and blog awards, another way to change up my posts and find new blogs in the process. Blogging has been such a fun experience you guys, and I can’t wait for more to come. Thank you to all of you who have encouraged me along this journey!

I would also like to say that Imogen @ Gossiping With Dragons has her blogoversary today, and Emily @ For the Bookish has her blogoversary in two days on April 3rd. UPDATE: And apparently Jillian @ Jillian’s Books also has her blogoversary on April 3rd. (Why does everyone have their blogoversary in April? ) Anyways, be sure to go shower them with happy blogoversary wishes.

When will you be celebrating your blogoversary? If you’re doing Camp NaNo, how is it going so far for you? I have about 5k already, so I’m off to a good start. Hopefully the rest of the month will be that way. What April Fool’s pranks did you pull off today?

signature

44 thoughts on “It’s My First Blogoversary! (Not Even a Joke)

  1. Happy blogoversary, Ana! I put some bananas in strange places around my house, but I wasn’t much motivated to do anything else. Blogging for a year is really an achievement, you should be proud. I’m not doing Camp NaNo, but I am writing a short story about the Taj Mahal
    -Shanti

    Like

  2. My teacher pulled a prank where she told us we had a pop quiz and we were like “yeah right, Miss.” and weren’t buying it but then she set tests in front of us and we were like WTF. basically, we had to do the test while she laughed as we struggled to answer questions we didn’t know the answers to.

    HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY <3333

    Like

  3. Congratulations on a year of blogging! Such fun, and all that.

    My blogoversery is July 24th … and twelve days later is my author anniversary. I had a pretty big bash last year, celebrating five and three years, though I don’t know if I’ll do anything this year. Haven’t decided yet.

    I’m not doing Camp NaNo this year – I honestly considered it, because I have a story that needs writing, but I need to focus on editing right now. Sigh. Someday I shall sucessfully do a Camp NaNo, but this is not that day. Good luck to you, though, and 5,000 IS a good start!

    Like

  4. That’s great, Ana! My anniversary is May 8 and I haven’t even thought about what I’m going to do for it yet (I’m really not that good at this blogging thing). That’s one thing I noticed about book blogging is that once you start interacting with other bloggers, you suddenly have more books on hand and on your TBR list that you know what to do with. My readers have tipped me off to lots of great stuff, but now, I have trouble deciding what to read next!

    Like

  5. Congrats on having your first blogoversary! I love Butterflies of the Imagination and I’m so glad you’ve made it this far. 🙂 I can’t wait to see all the cool stuff you have lined up for us this week! Also, great work on Camp Nano and keep working! 🙂 Here’s to another awesome year on Butterflies of the Imagination!

    Like

  6. Congratulations on your first blogoversary! Seriously — that is a HUGE achievement. ❤ Here's to many more blogoversarys ahead of you 🙂 And wow! 5k already!? That is fantastic. I'm rewriting my epic fantasy this time, so I've only done about 1k of it so far (though I did set a lower goal this time around.:))

    Like

  7. Congratulations, Ana! Blogoversaries are always so nerve-wracking because it’s time to look back on your mistakes, as you say, and also realise that you’ve stuck to this longer than you’d ever thought you would. And that’s an AWESOME start to Camp NaNo!

    (Didn’t even consider it was an April Fools’ joke because it’s April 2nd here; timezone differences get you every time.)

    Like

  8. HAPPY BLOGVERSARY!!! *showers you with cake and confetti* And omg, so awesome that you have 5K already! I have basically abandoned the internet all of today, because the jokes were awful last year. >_< HAha. I just…gah, I get sucked in every. single. time. It's embarrassing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy blogoversary! Our blogoversary was in February, it was our first one as well, so I recognise myself in what you’ve written! We slowly grow our blog by commenting and people seem to enjoy what we write, which is just a great feeling. I love being part of the community.

    Also, I’ve also got 5k for Camp NaNo, huzzah!

    Like

  10. Woohoo! Happy blogoversary, Ana! And congratulations on your first novel and 5K! I honestly don’t know how you write that fast! 😛 Congratulations! See you back in the cabin! Maybe we’ll do another word war or two today? And procrastinate from the inevitable schoolwork war forever? 😛

    Like

  11. Happy blogoversary, Ana! I do believe this is the first time commenting on your blog, but I have been enjoying reading your blog for a few weeks now – it is seriously lovely! You are so bubbly and sweet – it is contagious :)). Congrats on a whole year of blogging – it is surely an amazing experience, and one that with a lit bit of nurturing can help you grow so much in your writing, reading and personal life with the people you meet online and the ideas, inspiration and encouragement one gets from others. IT IS SO INSPIRING!

    In over 3 and 1/2 years of blogging, I have definitely felt that. . . I mean, living in Australia I don’t meet a great many other book-lovers who write, but also are likeminded like I have found through blogging. It is a true blessing!

    I just wanted to say I totally love your blog – your reviews are lovely, and I wish you a fantastic new blogging year as well :).

    Many blessings,
    Joy @ joy-live4jesus.blogspot.com

    Like

  12. Congratulations!!! 😀 Happy first blogaversy!
    This year on August 28th will be my fourth blogaversy. I haven’t celebrated it before though, I might save celebrating it for next year. 🙂

    Like

  13. Happy Blogoversary! I only started reading you a few months ago but I really enjoy your posts. I hope you have a great day, good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo, and I’m excited to see what your blog has in store in the future! 😀

    ~Kaitlin @ Next Page Please!

    Like

  14. Happy Blogoversary a day late!! I love the story of how your blog got started and took flight 🙂

    I don’t think that I’ll be doing Camp NaNo this year. I wanted to, but life keeps getting crazier and crazier. Mayhaps I will do it unofficially. You never know with me.

    Unfortunately, I did not pull any April Fools pranks. Oh well. There’s always next year, I suppose.

    ~Emily

    Like

  15. Hi! I’ve only been blogging for two months and get what you mean about feeling awkward when first commenting on peoples’ blogs. Someone told me though that bloggers love getting comments, so no need to feel awkward. I find it easier to comment now.

    Happy Blogoversary! 🙂

    Like

  16. Happy Blogoversary! I didn’t play any pranks because I was too busy. XD I’m always surprised when it comes round to my blogoversary (August 1st) because the time flies so quickly O_O

    Like

  17. Happy blogoversary! I actually forgot it was April fool’s day, so no pranks from me :P. I used to be weird about commenting on blogs, too. But I soon learned that it gets better, and it’s a lot of fun once you get used to it.

    Like

  18. HAPPY BELATED BLOGOVERSERY ANA! Sorry I’m a bit late! Your blog is always one of my favorites to visit because I love how eloquent your reviews are and how original your posts are. 🙂 Thank you for always being such a kind and supportive fellow blogger – you never fail to cheer me up with your lovely comments or tweets. You are amazing, and I am so glad we “met” each other! Here’s to many more blogoverseries in the future! ❤

    Like

  19. AHHH HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY ANA!!!!!!

    I’m sorry I only saw this now! It’s amazing how you’ve been through a year with book blogging! And plus, our blogoversaries are a few days apart. I’d have to agree, though, that it’s strange that a lot of people (including myself) created blogs on April most of all. Again, I’m so happy for that awesome year you had in this book blogging community! I’ll always be looking out for more of your posts because I truly love reading your blog ❤

    Stay awesome! And I'm sorry I only saw this now (I'm a little late huhu).

    Like

  20. Happy blogoversary!! You’ve only been blogging for a year?! I thought it had to be much longer than that. You’ve come really far. I hope I do half as well 🙂 Congrats, Ana!

    Like

  21. Haha, my blogoversary is also in April! Apparently you guys aren’t the only ones. Congratulations on your blogoversary though! Your blog is one of my favorites (even if I am not fantastic at commenting–oops) and I can’t wait to see what the next year will bring!

    Like

  22. Happy Blogoversary! My 2nd Blogoversary is August 14th. Still a baby blog, and boy do I have a lot left to learn. You mentioned link-ups, I still need to figure those out. Even though I’m relatively new in the blogging world I took a huge step and just started working on creating a group blog! That is in the works and I’m still looking for more people to blog weekly for it. I’m excited but need a few more people on board if it will work how I imagine it! I’ve just found your site and really enjoy your style. Congrats again on the anniversary, hope you have a fabulous time reaching your second!

    Have a super, fantastic, awesome, splendid, amazing day!
    ~Eliza McFarlish @ elizamcfarlish.weebly.com

    Like

  23. HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY, ANNA! I recently discovered your blog, but I love everything you post (even though I may not comment at times)! This is such a huge milestone.

    My blogoversary is actually coming up soon too. May 4th, haha, almost April 😉

    I totally get what you mean when you say that you used to feel awkward commenting on other people’s blogs. I felt the same at first and I still do sometimes.

    WOAH! 5K IS AMAZING!! KEEP UP THE FANASTIC WORK 😀

    And again, congrats! I can’t wait to see what you’ve got planned 😉

    Like

  24. Wow! Have you only been blogging a year? It seems so much longer than that. You’re such a professional blogger, and I don’t normally think of first year bloggers as having your level of professionalism. Happy blogoversary! (It seems I’m the only blogger who didn’t start blogging in April. I started in January.)
    ~Sarah Faulkner

    Inklined

    Like

  25. I’m laaaate to the party but I still would love to tell you HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY!!! Such a big, big, big milestone and I’m glad you’ve made it this far and that you continue to go beyond! 🙂 I remember my first blogoversary… I didn’t even post about it because it felt like any other ordinary day 😛 In hindsight, that was moronic of me. The first year is always the sweetest!

    Faye at The Social Potato

    Like

  26. Happy Blogoversary Ana, that is super exciting that you’ve reached a year! It’s always exciting receiving comments on your blog and I’m so glad the WordPress switch has worked for you. Here’s to many more years to come!

    Like

  27. I don’t know when my blogoversary is, actually, since I’ve always used this site–on and off–for a few years now. I know it’s the blog I’ve managed to keep longest. Congrats!

    Like

  28. You only have your Blogoversary now? I would have thought that you already blog a lot longer!
    My first one was already in January… but I’d expected, that you already blog longer than me 😀 I don’t know why.
    Ha, I totally forgot that there was even an April Fool’s day. I’m always much too busy for something like that…

    But, what I forgot: Congratulations! 🙂

    Like

  29. Congratulations! The first year is definitely the hardest, because you have to break into the community. I remember sharing your fears of commenting on other blogs, but now I can’t imagine NOT commenting:)

    All the best for another year!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

