12 Days ‘Til Christmas and My Favorite Christmas Movies

So. I have decided that I will do a countdown to the 12 days of Christmas instead of doing 25 consecutive posts, mainly because school is majorly stressing me out right now. At least blogging is a stress reliever, right?

Also, look at that. If you read through my blog posts, we just jumped all the way from 25 days until Christmas to TWELVE days until Christmas. Isn’t that awesome? I sure think it is.

One of my family’s favorite Christmas traditions is watching all our favorite Christmas movies all over again. Without further ado, here are my top  five favorite Christmas movies. They are in no particular order except for the last one. I always save the best for last.

The Polar Express: I have wonderful memories of watching this in elementary school. As the winter break approached, our classes would hold a pajama day and we would all get popcorn and hot chocolate (with marshmallows!) while we watched this sweet film. When I was little I always loved movies or books where I could imagine I was going on the adventure, and I loved imagining what would happen if I traveled on a train to the North Pole. It is such a magical movie. If only we did that now in high school. We always had parties in elementary school but now I’m old and boring.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas: Just like the Polar Express, this movie is a heartwarming story. You can never go wrong with Dr. Seuss. Pair that with Christmas and you’ve got yourself a winner. Everything is charming about this movie, from the cartoons to Whoville itself to the songs generously interspersed throughout the film. But maybe the best thing is that since I’ve seen this movie before, part of me always loves some of the evil Grinch at the beginning because I know that eventually he will come to realize the power of both kindness and Christmas. Oh, and by the way there will be no watching of the new version. It must be the classic one. Always. I’m sure the new one is fabulous but I do not tolerate anything but tradition during the Christmas season.

A Charlie Brown Christmas: Charlie Brown is actually the best. I challenge you to show me someone who does not love every single character in the Charlie Brown movies. Party poopers. (Just kidding. Kind of. Not really.) I love how in this movie Linus takes a moment to recognize the true meaning of Christmas in the midst of all the fun Charlie Brown shenanigans. Oh, and the Charlie Brown tree is iconic. We have one of those and it plays the theme song too.

Andre Rieu: Christmas Around the World: We watch Andre Rieu pretty much every Christmas. My grandparents and a close family friend of theirs and ours love Andre Rieu and I’ve grown to love it as well. Except when I was little I totally fell asleep everytime we watched one of those videos. They are so long! Pleasant, but lengthy. What I really love is how they not only play music but also pair it with fancy dresses and scenery and all around gorgeousness.

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer: My family watches this every Christmas and it is by far my favorite Christmas movie. It’s short but sweet. As jerky as the animation is, I love it for its old timey simplicity and the sweet undercurrent of acceptance among us all no matter our differences. Besides that, old timey Christmas songs are absolutely packed into this movie and those are the best. I have come to love all the characters in this film and Christmas really doesn’t start in our house until we’ve watched this. If you haven’t seen it yet, go do that now. This post is over anyways.

What are your favorite Christmas movies? Have you seen any of these? ARE YOU EXCITED THAT THERE ARE ONLY TWELVE DAYS LEFT UNTIL CHRISTMAS?!?

17 thoughts on “12 Days ‘Til Christmas and My Favorite Christmas Movies

  1. I think I’ve seen most of these once or twice… not Rudolph or Andrew Rieu, though. Still! It’s nice to enjoy these movies every now and again. 🙂 When it comes to Christmas movies I watch? Eh. I did watch Fringe and Sherlock on Christmas last year. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You have got to watch Rudolph one year! I would watch it now but I get a little sad if I try to do something festive after Christmas has already ended. A lot of my friends watch Sherlock but I have yet to jump on the bandwagon. Maybe someday. Two years ago they kept on hinting at something with Sherlock and 2016 but I’m too lazy to look it up right now. Maybe a new season? At any rate, 2016 has arrived so yay for them.

      Like

  2. Oh, this post brought back so many memories for me – you’ve highlighted some of my absolute favourite Christmas films, especially The Polar Express. Lovely picks, Ana – I hope your Christmas cinematic shenanigans are just as wonderful this year as all the last! xx

    Like

    1. I loved watching The Polar Express when I was little. I forgot so much of what’s in it since it was so long ago, but now I want to watch it again. My Christmas cinematic shenanigans (:D), were great this year. I only watched one Christmas movie, but I also saw a TON of other movies during my break.

      Like

  3. Polar Express is definitely on my classic movie list next to It’s a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th Street! I actually really enjoy the live action version of the Grinch Who Stole Christmas. I like how the characters are expanded. ^ ^ Merry Christmas!

    storitorigrace.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. I just watched It’s a Wonderful Life this year and I loved it! I’ve never seen Miracle on 34th Street but I definitely want to at some point. I’m sure I would enjoy the live action version as well, but when it comes to Christmas I’m too stuck in traditions to watch anything but the cartoon version. Maybe I’ll try it someday.

      Like

  4. Rudolph and The Polar Express are two my favorites too. Another of my favorites is The Christmas Story my mom and I watch it together every year! I’m not as excited that much for Christmas this year, but I do adore our tree and lights! =)

    Like

    1. Yay for another person that also loves Rudolph. Now I want to watch it again even though it’s not Christmastime anymore. *sniffles* I had never heard of A Christmas Story before but I looked it up and it looks like it would be absolutely hilarious. I did have a wonderful Christmas, and I hope you had a great one as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Good picks! I still have yet to see A Charlie Brown Christmas, though…oops! As I kid, the movie I always loved was The Santa Claus. My new favorite, though, is A Christmas Story!

    Like

  6. Oh my gosh yes when I was younger I watched The Polar Express every year! I stopped about 4 years ago and now I can’t remember even the slightest thing about it – it’s time for a rewatch! Great recs, hun <33

    Like

    1. Wow, it’s awesome that you’ve seen all of these movies! I hope you enjoyed them. If it wasn’t for my parents and grandparents I don’t think I ever would have heard about Andre Rieu. It’s kind of like watching a really fancy classical music orchestra concert with a fun (and sometimes funny) host and really interesting sets. So I guess it isn’t really a movie, per say, but it’s still entertaining. Thanks for nominating me for the blog award. I have a huge backlog of awards that I’ve fallen behind on, but thanks anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

