Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions for 2016

1f54f-toptentuesday

Edit: So I kind of forgot to link up with The Broke and the Bookish for this. That’s how long it’s been since I’ve done a TTT post.

It’s been so long since I’ve done a Top Ten Twelve Tuesday post. However, in my blog survey, LOTS of readers indicated that they would like to see more feature posts like this. I was definitely surprised by that, but here you go. The theme of this week’s list is perfect since I wanted to do a blog post about resolutions anyway.

Do one fun and relaxing thing every week. This is the most important goal on my list, as well as calling my grandma. Especially towards the end of the year, I grew so stressed out with all of the responsibilities and expectations I set for myself. This year it’s time for me to step back, relax, and make time for myself every week.

Read 100 books, 12 classics, and 12 books on my physical TBR. For two years I have failed to read 100 books. Let’s see if I can do that this year. I would like to read more than 12 classics and books on my physical TBR, but this is just the minimum.

Read the Bible from front to back. I have a confession to make. I have never read the whole entire Bible. This is the year for doing that.

Write and/or revise one draft of a book. One draft seems like a reasonable amount, given everything else I know is coming up this year for me.

Submit one piece of writing somewhere. I didn’t send in very many submissions of my writing this year, so I’d like to get back into that. We’re starting small.

Blog and comment consistently. Blogging and commenting was strong in the beginning of the year and then not so much. I hope to blog at least about once a week and reply back to comments more often. Maybe I’ll even send out an ARC request this year. Who knows?

Tidy my room. And keep it that way.

Finish my coding side project. I’m really excited about how my current project is going to come out and depending on how long it takes me to do this one, I’d like to start and maybe even finish another one. I also want to completely work through one of my coding books.

Call my grandma and grandpa every week. It can be easy to forget to call my grandma often when life gets busy. I don’t want to forget this year.

Practice my violin more often. This is an eternal struggle. But it’s important.

Attend an event focused around something I love, whether it’s a coding, writing or bookish event. I see recaps of these types of events on other blogs and they seem so fun! Hopefully this year I’ll get to attend one myself.

SATs. AP tests. College. Scholarships. ‘Nuff said.

What are some of your resolutions for this year? What have you learned about making better resolutions and actually keeping them? Is one of your goals to spend more “me” time? Are you sick of New Years’ posts yet? (Mine are done for now.)

 

 

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Resolutions for 2016

  1. When I was in high school (or middle school) I read 100 books in a year, and it was so much fun! It can be tricky sometimes to fit them all in, but it’s definitely worth it in the end! Best of luck! 🙂

    Like

  2. You and I have some of the same resolutions, Ana! Read 100 books. (I think I can I think I can I think I can!) Practice instruments more. (I do SO hate practicing piano, but I neeeed to, sigh.) I definitely want to write a draft of a book, and I’m really hoping to go to Yallfest in Charleston, South Carolina. (Which is a huge book convention that I’ve been itching to go to!) Here’s to the new year! We can stick together on the 100 books thing right?? Because I am freaking out. 😉

    Like

    1. Great minds think alike…errr, set goals alike? I don’t hate practicing my violin as much as I used to, but I just have to choose to make the time for it more. I can’t wait to write my next book, which I think will be historical fiction. It’s definitely going to be a huge challenge because RESEARCH, but with historical fiction being my favorite genre I’ve got to write a historical fiction book someday. Ooh, Yallfest sounds so fun. Yes, we’ll both read 100 books. We WILL. (Because I’m freaking out, too.)

      Like

  3. These are some really awesome goals!! It is literally IMPOSSIBLE for me to keep a tidy room. I mean, I clean and tidy as often as I can, but it always gets messy so quickly. (I’m 90% sure tricksy pixies must come into my room at night and mess it up when I’m sleeping.) Good luck with your goals!

    Like

    1. Same! I used to be so good at keeping my room neat and tidy but now I’m in high school and when my homework/studying gets confusing I tend to leave my papers scattered all over the place because I feel like I don’t have the time to organize them. Of course this makes my mind even more cluttered. So it’s a problem. But hey, that pixie theory sounds pretty legitimate too. Good luck with your goals as well, Kara!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Ally! I am determined to keep all of my resolutions this year. Of course I say that every year, but you know…I actually think I’m getting better at this because each year I get better at creating goals that are more attainable for me while still making sure that these goals challenge me. I’m wishing you the best with any goals that you might have this year as well.

      Like

  4. I think relaxing is going to be a big one for me this year, as well – making the time to attend to my own needs, rather than the ones others place on me. Best of luck in 2016, Ana! ❤

    Like

    1. Making time for yourself is so so so so SO important. Especially if you’re a people pleaser like me, it’s not easy to step back and recognize that “me” time is more important than stressing over something that’s going to burn you out if you don’t relax. That’s a lesson I really learned this year. Good luck to you as well, Topaz.

      Like

  5. These are fabulous goals and I hope you will achieve them all, Ana! I like the do one fun and relaxing thing each week. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Mel! Doing one fun and relaxing thing each week is something I’m really excited about doing. I actually have been slacking on this one so I’m starting it a bit late (just started this weekend), but I’m determined to keep on doing it from now until the end of the year. Good luck with your goals this year!

      Like

  6. Ooh, reading the whole Bible is a good one. The two times I’ve done it I’ve read about five chapters a day, which allowed me to finish it in about nine months for each one. 🙂 Also, best of luck with all the college stuff! It is super stressful and crazy and chancey, so I hope it all works out for you and you end happy with the result. 😀

    Like

    1. Whoa, it’s amazing that you’ve already read the whole Bible two times. I’m following a plan that has me reading about three chapters a day, but I try to read more each day so I’ll finish earlier and also as a buffer for the days I might not get to my Bible. Thanks! I’ve seen how stressful college stuff is from the people around me, but I think starting early might help me destress about the whole thing a little bit more.

      Like

  7. Ha! Maybe you can transfer your violin practice to my son too – he’s pretty much given it up, which makes me sad. Oh, and there are lots of plans out there for reading the Bible in a year – I did one my freshman year of college and it really kept me on track! Good luck with all your goals!

    Like

    1. Making the time to practice is tough because practicing is hard, so I don’t blame your son. I have gotten better with practicing as I’ve gotten older too, so hopefully he just needs some time. 🙂 I’m doing a plan right now. It’s kind of overwhelming to look at how much I have to get through from now until the end of the year, but I’m excited. Good luck with your goals, too!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

