Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 Releases I Meant to Get To, But Didn’t

Today I’m linking up with The Broke and the Bookish for Top Ten Tuesday.

1f54f-toptentuesday

A lot.

^^That right there could be my whole post. There were a lot of 2015 releases that I wanted to read, but then I just didn’t. I’m okay with that, really. I love making time for older books as well. But still. New releases are exciting! Here are just some of the 2015 releases that I didn’t quite make it to this year.

Winter by Marissa Meyer: Do you know what’s so painful about the fact that I couldn’t read Winter this year? I actually got this book from my library the day it was released. And then life got busier just then and I had to return it before I could finish it. And now there are a million holds. Sadness. At least I can look forward to what I’ve heard pretty much everybody say is a fantastic series finale to The Lunar Chronicles.

Listen, Slowly by Thanha Lai: I read Inside Out and Back Again, also by Thanha Lai, and loved it. It was a breathtaking and touching story, and I loved getting another glimpse of Vietnamese culture and the struggle of Vietnamese immigrants. I’m sure Listen, Slowly will be just as impressive.

Draven’s Light by Anne Elisabeth Stengl: The main reason I haven’t read this book yet is because I’m not entirely caught up with the Tales of Goldstone Wood series.  You don’t really have to read the series in order, but I want to. I have two more books (Shadow Hand and Golden Daughter) and a novella (Goddess Tithe) left before I can read Draven’s Light. In any case, Stengl is a masterful storyteller and I can’t wait to read this latest installment.

 

Black Dove White Raven by Elizabeth Wein: I got this one from the library and then had to return it before I could read it as well. Maybe that should be the theme of this post. Anyways, I loved reading Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire, also by Elizabeth Wein, and I love historical fiction so when I heard this book was coming out, I couldn’t wait to read it. Besides, that the title is the fabuloustest.

 

Ain’t We Got Fun by Emily Ann Putzke and Emily Chapman: I’ve heard nothing but good reviews about this one. It’s told in letter format, which could either not work at all or work excellently. I’m confident it will be the latter. It seems like such a sweet historical fiction story.

Pendragon’s Heir by Suzannah Rowntree: Like many of the books on this list, I have heard great reviews of this one. It is a thick tome featuring an epic adventure with very heavy influences from Arthurian Legend. In fact, I believe it is a King Arthur retelling. I think. I have been so impressed by the depth of Rowntree’s writing on her blog and I can’t wait to see it featured in story format.

A Time to Speak by Nadine Brandes: I read the first book, A Time to Die, and loved it. It’s actually a dystopian book (which makes it surprising that I enjoyed it since I almost never read/enjoy dystopian) about a society where people know the exact time when they will die. The story was thought provoking and asked a ton of tough questions. I can’t wait until I get my hands on the sequel!

A Wish Made of Glass by Ashlee Willis: This book is a short novella retelling of Cinderella and it sounds fabulous. I’ve heard great things about it. It’s fantasy, which is not something that I usually read (besides the works of Tolkien and Lewis), but reading Anne Elisabeth Stengl’s books made me a lot more open towards trying to read more fantasy.

A Sparrow in Terezin by Kristy Cambron: The Butterfly and the Violin, the first book, was such a beautiful story about World War II. One of my favorite types of formats for a book is multiple narrators and I loved how the first book weaved together stories from the past and the present in such a satisfying way. I definitely need to get on with reading the sequel.

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley: So apparently this was the Wall Street Journal’s Best Children’s Book of 2015. I picked an ARC copy of this book at the library (though it was after the release date) as a summer reading prize because a) it has a fabulous cover, b)it’s historical fiction, and c)I don’t know if I’ll ever grow out of MG. I can’t wait to read this one, especially since so many people have enjoyed it.

Have you read any of the books I mentioned? What 2015 releases did you not get to this year? What releases did you get to?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 Releases I Meant to Get To, But Didn’t

  1. Aside from Winter, I haven’t read any of these either. A Time to Die and A Time to Speak both look rather interesting. I haven’t read any of Elizabeth Wein’s books yet, although I really want to, so maybe I should tackle those this year. *nods* Good luck with all your reading! 🙂

    Like

  2. I have Pendragon’s Heir and look forward to reading it as well! I am sooo behind on the Tales of Goldstone Wood series, though! I need to read Starflower next. I’ve read Winter (it was amazing, as you might have guessed). I hope you get to read it soon!

    Like

  3. The only one on this list that I’ve read is Draven’s Light, but it was really good! Good luck with your reading this year :).

    Like

  4. WINTER. Definitely read it Ana – it is such a wonderfully written and satisfying conclusion to the Lunar Chronicles series. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you think of it when you read it!

    Like

  5. I’ve read Winter, and YES IT IS FANTASTIC. I love that book so much. ❤

    I bought A Time To Die right before Christmas and I still haven't gotten a chance to read it. :/ But I've heard nothing but good things about that book, so I can't wait until I do have time. 🙂

    Thanks for commenting on my blog!

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbositybookreviews.wordpress.com

    Like

  6. I need to read Winter too! I feel really bad about not reading it sooner, but like you, life got in the way. I’ve been ranting and raving about that series to everyone who will listen, so I need to get to it pronto!

    Hope you get to some of these books in the new year!

    Like

  7. I haven’t heard of most of the books on this list, but Listen, Slowly and A Time to Die sound great! Winter was hard to get to because of its release date, but hopefully you’ll get the chance to read it soon! And ooh, all things Elizabeth Wein is amazing. Great list 😀

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say about this post, but please keep all comments G-rated. I reply back to all comments, and if you have a blog, I might even check it out!

